We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Hills Resort
Nearby Hotels
$829
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Victoria Falls Hotel(Victoria Falls)
$375
$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$238
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elephant Camp(Victoria Falls)
$1,001
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cresta Sprayview Hotel(Victoria Falls)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$170
$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$255
$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$439
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Batonka Guest Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$275
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$58
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveler rating
265
302
103
25
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
302
103
25
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtszambezi riverevery hourmonkeys and baboonshotel is situatedenjoyed my stayshuttle servicethe air conditioningfree shuttlesunset cruisehelicopter ridemosquito netnational parkconferencegroundstownbalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 702 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were on a 20 day overland tour and this was were it finished, so if your looking for a bit of luxury at a reasonable price in Vic Falls after a long trip or a short stay this is a great hotel.
The staff & management was extremely friendly and very helpful always greeting you with a smile. Our room on the 6th floor was comfortable and spacious with a view of the golf course & the falls, was stunning. With wildlife (we saw Impala, Vevet monkeys, Baboons & Warthog ) wandering the grounds & a beautiful pool area made for a very relaxing finish to a big tour. The breakfast included was very good having a great variety of both hot and cold food.
We booked 2 extra nights here even though some reviews said that it is a bit out of town (which it is) but they have a free shuttle on the hour from about 9am - 5pm so this was no problem if you need to go into town which was only 5 - 10 mins away. It has complementary Wi fi that worked well in most areas but not that well in the rooms.
The only minor thing I could suggest was that on check-in they did not emphasise enough about leaving the balcony door open, as the monkeys will certainly pay you a visit whether you are in there or not, luckily I had read this on reviewing the hotel and was aware of the problem.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Graham B

On behalf of the Elephant Hills Resort staff and management, I want to extend our appreciation for the positive review you shared after your stay with us.

In our rooms we have a sticker on the glass door that warns about monkeys should the balcony doors be left open, however; we will continue to take protective measures on this issue. The hotel is located within a National Park, having vast grasslands that make it possible for guests to see plenty of animals and we are glad you saw such a variety of animals on our property.

Again thank you for your valuable review and your kind words of encouragement. It certainly was a pleasure to host you and we are glad that our services and staff attitude met your expectations.

Kind regards,

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The service provided by the very courteous staff at this establishment cannot make up for what is a very old, very tired building that is in desperate need of a substantial renovation. Our air-con made a terrible noise (we were moved to another room), the rooms are extremely tired, there wasn't a safe in the room (you could see where it once was located in the cupboard). No mini-bar. Only one restaurant open at night.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the falls!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Ross ZA

Thank you very much for your valuable review; it is because of these contributions that we as management will improve on services that we offer our valued guests.

We would like to assure you that a program has been put in place for renovating the hotel as indeed there is that need. We have also purchased safes for all our rooms which we should take delivery of in the next couple of weeks. It is our hope that with the availability of the required resources we will be replacing our air conditioners at the earliest possible time.

With regards to the one restaurant open at night, we are in our low season where the activities are not as many however we do offer a variety of menus to our guests for their convenience.

It is our hope that we will have another opportunity of hosting you again in future.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The resort is located on a hill overlooking the Zambezi valley. The structure of the resort is integrated with the hill thereby giving spectacular views of the valley below. From my room I could see the rising sprays and rainbow of the mighty Victoria Falls. Above all else, I was exceedingly impressed with the courteous behavior of all classes of staff at the resort. The staff were evidently well trained to take care of guests. I felt I was in the company of trusted people and as such I had the much needed serenity of mind during the one-week intense workshop.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Mr Joseph M

Thank you very much for the valuable review, we truly appreciate your kind words of encouragement.
It is heartening to hear you found our services, staff attitude and behavior impressive which are what every leader would like to have in their team. Once again thank you for allowing us to be your host, we look forward to welcoming you back to Elephant Hills Resort in future.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Elephant Hills Resort has an exceptional location and my room looked out on the golf course and in the distance was the Zambezi River and also Victoria Falls with a view of the mist. From my balcony, we could watch the animals roaming the property. Signs on the balcony door warn not to leave the door open as baboons will enter and this actually happened to a friend who never heard the animal enter. Clean rooms, quiet and dark at night. Breakfast was great and so were the dinners. Unlike South Africa, things were more expensive in Victoria Falls, including wine, drinks, and curios. Victoria Falls is nearby and our visit there was fabulous with rainbows and mist. One of my highlights.

Room Tip: Facing the Zambezi, we saw the sunset, but the other side of the hotel had its own beauty.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvltee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Trvltee

We at the Elephant Hills Resort are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the valuable information you have shared. It is a pleasure that you found our service and food presentation meeting with your expectations.

We have taken note of your concern with regards to our pricing and this has been directed to the relevant people who will address this for the benefit of our guests.

We look forward to hosting you again in future.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our stay at Elephant Hills hotel was very memorable. The staff were courteous, friendly and very professional. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The service at the dining room was splendid. We ate some of the most scrumptious dishes at a very affordable price.

Room Tip: our room was north eastern and was quite large and we enjoyed beautiful views from the balcony
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trythings M, General Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Alice640

On behalf of the management and staff of the Elephant Hills resort, I would like to thank you for the valuable review of your stay with us.

We are delighted that you found our hotel facilities and service staff to your liking. It is always a pleasure to provide the best service to our valued guests.

We look forward to another chance of hosting you in future.

Kind regards

Trythings Mutyandasvika
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews