We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massage for my tired soul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elephant Hills Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Massage for my tired soul”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Seated on the banks of the Zambezi, the hotel's architects knew how to respect nature and let you enjoy outdoors even while inside. Buck, wild pig and birds play on the golf course; my husband woke up to find a monkey visiting in our room when we left our screen open.
We came through in quiet season so we had the pool to ourselves and lots of attention from the staff. Some niggles with a faulty faucet in my bathroom on day one was my one gripe the whole four days we were here.
I recommend the Boma restaurant; touristy but the food is authentically local. The sunset cruise is also two-thumbs-up. We saw crocodile, hippo and elephant before we took pictures of the sun disappearing into the river.
Overall- rural with comfort and no pressure. We 'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandanga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    237
    87
    22
    6
See reviews for
114
147
33
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Can't praise this place enough. Great accommodations, food, welcome, everything. Stayed 3nights whilst we explored the surrounding area including Victoria Falls of course. A little expensive but worth it. Would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Loved it, want to go back!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
219 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you plan on staying on the Zimbabwe side of Victoria Falls - where the views of the falls are absolutely incredible - you can't go wrong by staying at Elephant Hills.

The grounds themselves are teeming with African wildlife - in walks and drives around the resort area we saw antelope, baboons, monkeys, cape buffalo, warthogs, some kind of wild canine that we decided not to identify more closely, and tons of elephant poop (but no actual elephants). The grounds are also absolutely gorgeous and well maintained. We spent one entire day just lounging around the resort area and had a great time doing so.

The staff are very attentive, the hotel is kept very clean, and the views are unparalleled. As annoying as it is to wake up at sunrise when you're on vacation, seeing a curious monkey open your sliding door shutters and peek in is a truly hilarious and African experience.

On the other hand... Elephant Hills is truly showing both its age and the issues being experienced in Zimbabwe. Our bathroom shower/tub leaked water from the wall near the faucet. The pillows were practically ironed flat, and there weren't enough of them (2 total). If you ask for an extra bed in the room, you get a mattress on the floor. If you looked, and not even closely, you could see tears and air pockets in the bathroom wall paper. The lock on one of our doors kept going on the fritz and not accepting our key card. These were certainly not the only small issues that cropped up, but they are representative.

We considered them a very small price to pay for the experience, however. And certainly staying on the Zimbabwe side of the falls is much cheaper than staying on Zambia.

A few things to consider: We reached Victoria Falls after dark and had a difficult time finding the resort. It's actually very easy to find, but if you have no directions (and we were given none) there are no signs that one can see in the dark and you have no idea where to turn. We asked someone at a gas station, who told us to turn at the Wimpy.... which had closed. Make sure you know where you are going if you get there after the sun sets!

Also - guard your drinks! The monkeys love the taste of alcohol and as soon as you turn your back they will try to steal the beverage you aren't watching.

Room Tip: Make sure you keep your doors locked - monkeys DO come inside! They are very naughty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

hotel resort is sited on a mold hill encapsulated in a lush surroundings, could spot some wild life outside of one's glass door that opens up to the large lawn and beyond, so the ground level is recommended. Room is spacious however, the one we stayed in was a tad old - decorated in African theme. The drive is not far to the Falls. Service was friendly. Breakfast buffet was good.
The 5 star hotel did not match up with the price for 3 nights.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PAUL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stunning view over the endless bushland and the mighty Zambezi River with "smoking" Victoria Falls. Saturated with an African feel and welcoming climate. We truly enjoyed our stay there! Rooms are comfortable and spacious, and have big beds with extra cushions and pillows. One of the things we enjoyed the most was sitting on the shaded balcony while "inhaling" Africa's beauty!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaSmaNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Elephant Hills Resort is a paradise in the wilderness that constitutes a variety of well -setup resturants with great views to the flora and fauna not forgeting the view to the ever steaming victoria falls, an 18 hole golf course for golf lovers that is graced with a variety of game.
The hotel suites are tidy and refreshed with clean air from the savannah vegatation.
10 minute drive from the hotel to Victoria falls - Victoria falls is agreat scenery that will always spur a smile on your face every time you reflect it. It is just a wonder.
100 years bridge that connects Victoria falls to Livingstone town cannot be missed.
It's ideal for vacation, honey moon and reuniting couples.
Just an amazing place.

Room Tip: Rooms that provide a view to Victoria falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked a short family holiday at the Elephant Hills and had a good time. The property is excellently appointed and gels immaculately with the natural habitat. The staff are very friendly and the general environment is very clean and well maintained. The hotel is well integrated with the activity network which enables one to get around seamlessly. The 19-hole Elephant Hills Golf course is well maintained too, and with some luck to will also see some game as you swing around the challenging but interesting course. From the majority of the rooms you will also be able to see monkeys and warthog, and the former can be too friendly to nick some stuff from your room if you leave your windows open. The food could be a lot tastier, otherwise a great hotel with excellent service.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Agrippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
829 reviews
1.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Resort

Property: Elephant Hills Resort
Address: 300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hills Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic hotel, aptly named after the gentle giant of the bush (the elephant) merges seamlessly into its natural environment. Elephant Hills Resort has 276 rooms ranging from the impressive presidential suite to cool and spacious standard rooms. All rooms are ethnically decorated creating a combination of African ambiance with comfort and elegance. Each bedroom has modern amenities including air-conditioning, digital satellite television, bar fridge and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Hotel
Elephant Hills Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing