We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elephant Hills Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

It was a really great getaway. A new experience for us to visit Zimbabwe. Knowing the country's history and financial situation, I thought we got a great deal! The hotel itself wasn't bad at all considering. The service was one of the best we have EVER experienced - from our waitress at dinner, to our tour guide at the falls - (independent from the hotel). I think the locals in general are just very friendly and welcoming people! It was really such a pleasure!

We live in South Africa so we are used to the big 5 and wild animals, but seeing the baboons and elephants roaming free on the streets was just an incredible experience! Baboons sitting on the tops of cars minding their own business! The room in the hotel was very basic, but like I said, for a country that isn't doing so well financially, there was nothing wrong!

The falls are a spectacular sight - I heard it is safer to go to the Zambia side, but personally I would say go to the Zimbabwe side to view the falls - you see so much more of it and we had no problems with feeling unsafe at any time of our stay. We even caught a cab back to our hotel and I'm still here ;) The hotel offers bicycle excursions where you can take the bike onto the golf course and that was also really great! We saw a variety of buck on the course.

We also had a lovely few of the mist of the falls from the hotel - "The smoke that thunders". I must say though, the helicopter flip outside of the hotel (independent from the hotel I think) was quite pricy... But it was SOOOOO worth it to see a view like that!

We also went on the sunset cruise everyday which was great, the bar men on board with us were very friendly and entertaining! We also saw hippo and elephant alongside the Zambezi River :)

The food was also amazing and the local beers and cocktails were a treat too!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2016
Dear Tamara T

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We are so pleased to know that our staff and facilities met your expectations.We are happy to receive such inspiring comments and observations about us. This feedback will serve to push the team to perform even better.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    227
    83
    22
    5
See reviews for
109
141
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Out of date rooms and everything is badly in need of repair. They charge top dollar for all things from laundry to drinks and food - sadly the quality isn't comparable to what they are charging. I must say the grounds are amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gopacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2016
Dear Gopacks

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Your feedback is valuable to us and is well appreciated. However we receive with regret your comments concerning our rooms, laundry,meals and value for money. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We would like to assure you that we are working hard to refurbish the rooms and facilities among other improvement projects and look forward to refreshing and updating the resort until all set standards and goals have been achieved. We have also put the issue of pricing under close scrutiny for a more improved competitive and conclusive outcome.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

As per previous reviews, I agree, the rooms are outdated and require refurbishment. They contained everything you'd expect from quality accommodation - a tv, safe, kettle etc. but the shower leaked, the balcony doors were hard to open and the air-conditioning had a mind of its own and turned on and off as it pleased. But what EHH lacked in their room facilities, they made up for in their service. The staff were amazingly friendly and were very informative. When we were experiencing difficulties with our air-con, the maintenance guys were on it straight away and had it up and running in no time. Housekeeping came around in the morning and evening to make up your rooms! The resort is quite a distance from the main town, but the shuttle bus was very convenient and took you to your desired drop off point in town or at the falls themselves, the driver even agreed to come back for us even after his final trip for the day. Bornface and Shepherd, the guys at reception always greeted us with a 'hello' and 'how are you?' ensuring we were keeping well and if there was anything we required. Bornface also went out of his way to show us around the hotel upon our initial arrival. Breakfast had a wide selection to choose from and the wait staff were courteous and helpful. The view from the balcony was calming, you could see the spray from the falls during the day, and the lights from Livingstone at night. The setting was peaceful and relaxing, with game including Baboons, Impalas and Warthogs were easy to spot within the boundaries of the resort. I definitely recommend staying at EHH during your visit to Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sirius88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2016
Dear sirius88

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are pleased to know that our staff met your satisfaction. Your feedback is valuable to us and si well appreciated as it serves to motivate us to improve our service. We would like to take this opportunity to announce that we are working hard to refurbish the rooms and facilities among other improvement projects and look forward to refreshing and updating the resort until all set standards and goals have been achieved.

We look forward to hosting you i the near future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtenay
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our last night on our safari and we were booked into Elephant Hills-- Room s -- Staff -- Restaurant all wre amazing and the setting is perfect. Everything you need right there; the perfect end to an amazing trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CourtenayBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2016
Dear CourtenayBurke

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us. We are so delighted to know that our rooms,staff and meals met your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

if you want to enjoy nature but at the same time being in a good luxurious hotel, then take a trip to Vic Falls and be booked at the elephant hills hotel.
My experience
- sitting on the balcony watching the wathogs, bush bucks grazing
- if you leave the balcony doors open, some monkeys will eat some left overs in your room.
- walk up early in the morning and watch the sun rising.
- few minutes drive to the majestic victoria falls
- a helcopter nearby for a arieal tour of the victoria rainforest.

Room Tip: be sure to be booked on the Eastside....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chitombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2016
Dear chitombo

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We appreciate the positive feedback that you have shared and are glad that our facilities met your satisfaction.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Absolutely lovely,beautiful layout and people as friendly and as helpful as can be. In fact they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable as we were travelling with 2 babies. We spent the New Years there. I would definitely recommend it as a must see or stay at while in Victorial Falls. The food was good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifi92Bermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2016
Dear fifi92Bermuda

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are so delighted to know that our staff met you expectations. Thank you again for recommending our hotel to everyone.

We look forward to hosting you and your family in the near future.

Regards

NKO M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending New Years Eve at that hotel. I must say I was happy with what I got. The people there were lovely and the General Manager was most attentive to my family. The New Years Eve Celebration was great and family friendly.
I was with my family (my parents and Uncle, in their mid fifties, my nephew - teenager and myself, a 35 year old woman). I must stay it was a good time. The food was good, the drinks even better. Easy to get to and from the hotel.
The hotel rooms were a bit older and maybe need some updating but I didnt have any problems for the price we paid. You can see the Zambezi River and also fell the spray of the falls which is lovely on a hot hot day (and man, it was HOT when we were there). The Pool was nice, the food was OK. nothing to hate.. it was OK.. hotel food...
Besides the hotel which we didnt spend too much time, make sure you go on the Elephant Rides (right across from the hotel). Enjoy the Falls!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MzYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2016
Dear MzYYZ

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.Your feedback is valuable and well appreciated as it serves to improve the performance of the staff by motivating them to do even better.We are happy to let you know that we are working hard to refurbish the rooms and facilities among other improvement projects and look forward to refreshing and updating the resort until all set standards and goals have been achieved.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Resort

Property: Elephant Hills Resort
Address: 300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#10 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hills Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic hotel, aptly named after the gentle giant of the bush (the elephant) merges seamlessly into its natural environment. Elephant Hills Resort has 276 rooms ranging from the impressive presidential suite to cool and spacious standard rooms. All rooms are ethnically decorated creating a combination of African ambiance with comfort and elegance. Each bedroom has modern amenities including air-conditioning, digital satellite television, bar fridge and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Hotel
Elephant Hills Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing