We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Close to the Wild” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elephant Hills Resort
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Close to the Wild”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just arrived home after 7 delightful nights at this resort. The Old World Charm and colonial ambiance supplemented by the friendly, helpful and numerous!staff, added to its charms. Although the monkeys don't think twice about stealing fruit from your room, their proximity was delightful - as babies were in abundance and the mothering process charming to watch from close quarters. Warthog, also with babies, impala, and bushbuck grazed just below our verandah and while walking on the gholf course one can see more of the above plus waterbuck, kudu AND crocodiles! the pool area is beautiful and the air conditioning in the rooms worked 99 % of the time (when there is a power failure, the generator cant include the a/c).
the rooms are extremely well appointed and serviced twice a day! the breakfast was superb and the a la carte menu good - though pricey on a South African budget BUT that was the case with all the tourist expenses in Zimbabwe...
We would highly reccommend this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from Victoria Falls dont have that excellent view, but is in the shade in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suejeanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear suejeanne1

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and for recommending our hotel.Your positive comments have been well received. Thank you for sharing the review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you had a great experience during your stay. Thank you again for your positive feedback regarding our staff,facilities and food this serves as a motivation to continue delivering good service to our valuable guests.We would like to reassure you that as a service team, we continue to work hard to ensure that all our facilities and services are fully functional and in the best possible state of presentation for complete guest satisfaction.
It is in this light that we have since put the issues of pricing under close scrutiny for a more improved competitive and conclusive outcome.

We do hope that this will not keep you from visiting us again.

Regards

NKO M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    209
    78
    20
    5
See reviews for
91
128
30
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a grand old hotel that makes a great venue for a conference. The lovely vistas from the restaurant make sure one does not forget where one actually is, and make up for being away from town and the Falls. The golf course makes for enjoyable morning walks as there are always antelope, warthogs and birds to look at. The rooms are comfortable but could certainly benefit from refurbishment. One suggestion to guests is to take an early morning taxi ride ($10 each way) to see the Falls - they are stunning in the early morning, it is still cool, and there are not many people around; the park opens a 6am. For South African visitors, the only plug socket in the room that does not require an adapter is the one for the A/C, and the hotel does not have adapters, so bring your own, or a double adapter so you can still keep the A/C on; having said that, the rooms are cool enough that the ceiling fan was sufficient for me at night.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IanDogless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear IanDogless

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We appreciate the positive feedback that you have shared and are glad that our facilities met your satisfaction. We are pleased to announce that the hotel has a complimentary shuttle bus to and from the falls from 9am to 5pm daily. We also provide adapters at our guest services desk for a returnable security deposit of $5.We are also working hard to refurbish the rooms and facilities among other improvement projects and look forward to refreshing and updating the resort until all set standards and goals have been achieved.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Regards

NKO M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We attended a conference at the Elephant Hills resort in Victoria Falls last June, 2012, spending 4 nights. The accomodations were excellent, fully up to Western comfort. My double room on the 3rd floor included an outdoor patio overlooking the golf course with roaming warthogs, monkeys and gazelles. The grounds are fabulous, with a full golf course (good for a morning jog among the wild-life). Service also was top notch, including concierge arrangements for local attractions. We enjoyed helicopter flight over the falls, sunset boat cruise on the Zambezi river complete with hippo sightings, a day excursion to Chobe in nearby Botswana, and a walking tour of the falls, all arranged by the Elephant Hills staff.
Meals at the restaurant were good, although after a few days, we were ready to branch out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear WMKMD

Thank you for sharing the review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you had a great experience during your stay. Thank you again for your positive feedback regarding our service, food and facilities this serves as a motivation to continue delivering good service to our valuable guests.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you want a view of the Zambezi and Zambia this is the hotel for you. Great grounds and some game can be seen and the pool is lovely. The hotel is large and grey and better to look out of than look at!

Insist on a room with a view. Hotel is large and it is easy to get disorientated. Rooms are dark but comfortable enough for a short stay. Dining room is fine and the breakfast is good but there is no atmosphere in the public areas and I certainly wouldn't bother to have dinner there.

The courtesy bus takes you to Vic Falls town, it is still a long walk to the Falls itself.

Staff were friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: Insist on a view of the Zambezi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matilda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear matilda48

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.We are delighted that you had a great experience during your stay. Thank you again for your positive feedback regarding our staff and breakfast this serves as a motivation to continue delivering good service to our valuable guests.However please accept apology regarding our dinning atmosphere and room lighting. We are pleased to let you know that we are working hard to refurbish the rooms and facilities among other improvement projects and look forward to refreshing and updating the resort until all set standards and goals have been achieved.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Regards

NKO M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

After our enjoyable time on the Flight of Angels we thought we'd go up the road to Elephant Hills for a drink. Making our way to the bar we sat at the panoramic window and had a different pespective of things seen from the air. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and the guy who served us our drinks was friendly & welcoming. I was very struck by the reflexions off the roofs of Livingstone, across the Zambesi, couldn't they be painted green or brown to more fit in with the amazing landscape? A very pleasant footnote to our helicopter ride.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexTraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear EssexTraveller49

Thank you for the review of your stay with us.We are delighted that you had a great experience during your stay. Thank you again for your positive feedback regarding our staff and facilities this serves as a motivation to continue delivering good service to our valuable guests.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed there in august as i went to run the victoria falls marathon.

the hotel is huge, and to go to the room from reception it can take forever. the rooms are dated... it need a big refurbishment!!! Also the A/C don't work very well and Tv selection is very limited (although this is not a place to watch TV). wifi is also limited.
they do many conferences so perhaps you don't feel very warm if you are alone.. not a problem on the other hand if you want to be left alone.
The food is ok, the breakfast have a good selection and the quality is ok. The problem was one night having dinner the manager asked the waiter to give me the bill while i was eating!!!... (hello!?!?!?!) i gave the bill back to the manager (it was not the waitress fault) and it is true that he apologized and aftert hat he was very helpfull)
The best part are the suroundings... huge and beautifull. You can see some wild animals.. but be aware of the monkeys.. as i was lying by hte pool i saw two ladies being taken their lunch
away from hte monkeys)
Over all, it was an ok stay. nothing amazing but ok
would i go back?... i'll see next year

Room Tip: Be aware of the taxis outside. they will rip you off!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear J L

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.Your feedback is valuable us and well appreciatedwe are glad that your enjoyed our breakfast. Please accept our apologies again for the inconvenience caused during your dinner. We would like to assure you that we have started refresher training for all our service staff.We are pleased to let you know that we are working hard to refurbish the rooms(including installing new air conditioner units) and facilities among other improvement projects and look forward to refreshing and updating the resort until all set standards and goals have been achieved. We would like to also announce that we have up graded WiFi with the aim of having unlimited and efficient WiFi.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Elephant Hills Resort is on top of a hill with hugh sprawing ground, wild animals
and a golf course!! It has a very relaxing ambience coming back from day
excursion to the Victoria Falls or the Chobe National Wildlife Park which is very
good in Botswana. The only drawback: it is quite a distance from town and you
don't have arranged transport.
The resort is a bit dated but offers good value. The breakfast and dinner are good
with fairly wide selection of Western and local fares. The services are excellent
with pleasant and helpful staff.
We always bring along lots of ballpoint pens, pencils and erasers when travelling
to Africa and give them to young people and children instead of money. They really
appreciate them.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better view but more expensive and may not be worth the extra cost as the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yungtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKO M, Manager at Elephant Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear yungtf

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.We are delighted that you had a great experience during your stay. Thank you again for your positive feedback regarding our staff and food this serves as a motivation to continue delivering good service to our valuable guests. We are pleased to announce that we have a complimentary shuttle bus that moves to and from town up to the falls daily from 9am to 5pm. We are also working hard to refurbish the rooms and facilities among other improvement projects and look forward to refreshing and updating the resort until all set standards and goals have been achieved.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards

NKO M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Resort

Property: Elephant Hills Resort
Address: 300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#10 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hills Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic hotel, aptly named after the gentle giant of the bush (the elephant) merges seamlessly into its natural environment. Elephant Hills Resort has 276 rooms ranging from the impressive presidential suite to cool and spacious standard rooms. All rooms are ethnically decorated creating a combination of African ambiance with comfort and elegance. Each bedroom has modern amenities including air-conditioning, digital satellite television, bar fridge and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Elephant Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Hotel
Elephant Hills Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing