We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Close to the Wild” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Hills Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Close to the Wild”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just arrived home after 7 delightful nights at this resort. The Old World Charm and colonial ambiance supplemented by the friendly, helpful and numerous!staff, added to its charms. Although the monkeys don't think twice about stealing fruit from your room, their proximity was delightful - as babies were in abundance and the mothering process charming to watch from close quarters. Warthog, also with babies, impala, and bushbuck grazed just below our verandah and while walking on the gholf course one can see more of the above plus waterbuck, kudu AND crocodiles! the pool area is beautiful and the air conditioning in the rooms worked 99 % of the time (when there is a power failure, the generator cant include the a/c).
the rooms are extremely well appointed and serviced twice a day! the breakfast was superb and the a la carte menu good - though pricey on a South African budget BUT that was the case with all the tourist expenses in Zimbabwe...
We would highly reccommend this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from Victoria Falls dont have that excellent view, but is in the shade in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suejeanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    198
    73
    17
    5
See reviews for
86
124
29
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a grand old hotel that makes a great venue for a conference. The lovely vistas from the restaurant make sure one does not forget where one actually is, and make up for being away from town and the Falls. The golf course makes for enjoyable morning walks as there are always antelope, warthogs and birds to look at. The rooms are comfortable but could certainly benefit from refurbishment. One suggestion to guests is to take an early morning taxi ride ($10 each way) to see the Falls - they are stunning in the early morning, it is still cool, and there are not many people around; the park opens a 6am. For South African visitors, the only plug socket in the room that does not require an adapter is the one for the A/C, and the hotel does not have adapters, so bring your own, or a double adapter so you can still keep the A/C on; having said that, the rooms are cool enough that the ceiling fan was sufficient for me at night.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IanDogless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We attended a conference at the Elephant Hills resort in Victoria Falls last June, 2012, spending 4 nights. The accomodations were excellent, fully up to Western comfort. My double room on the 3rd floor included an outdoor patio overlooking the golf course with roaming warthogs, monkeys and gazelles. The grounds are fabulous, with a full golf course (good for a morning jog among the wild-life). Service also was top notch, including concierge arrangements for local attractions. We enjoyed helicopter flight over the falls, sunset boat cruise on the Zambezi river complete with hippo sightings, a day excursion to Chobe in nearby Botswana, and a walking tour of the falls, all arranged by the Elephant Hills staff.
Meals at the restaurant were good, although after a few days, we were ready to branch out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you want a view of the Zambezi and Zambia this is the hotel for you. Great grounds and some game can be seen and the pool is lovely. The hotel is large and grey and better to look out of than look at!

Insist on a room with a view. Hotel is large and it is easy to get disorientated. Rooms are dark but comfortable enough for a short stay. Dining room is fine and the breakfast is good but there is no atmosphere in the public areas and I certainly wouldn't bother to have dinner there.

The courtesy bus takes you to Vic Falls town, it is still a long walk to the Falls itself.

Staff were friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: Insist on a view of the Zambezi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matilda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After our enjoyable time on the Flight of Angels we thought we'd go up the road to Elephant Hills for a drink. Making our way to the bar we sat at the panoramic window and had a different pespective of things seen from the air. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and the guy who served us our drinks was friendly & welcoming. I was very struck by the reflexions off the roofs of Livingstone, across the Zambesi, couldn't they be painted green or brown to more fit in with the amazing landscape? A very pleasant footnote to our helicopter ride.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexTraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed there in august as i went to run the victoria falls marathon.

the hotel is huge, and to go to the room from reception it can take forever. the rooms are dated... it need a big refurbishment!!! Also the A/C don't work very well and Tv selection is very limited (although this is not a place to watch TV). wifi is also limited.
they do many conferences so perhaps you don't feel very warm if you are alone.. not a problem on the other hand if you want to be left alone.
The food is ok, the breakfast have a good selection and the quality is ok. The problem was one night having dinner the manager asked the waiter to give me the bill while i was eating!!!... (hello!?!?!?!) i gave the bill back to the manager (it was not the waitress fault) and it is true that he apologized and aftert hat he was very helpfull)
The best part are the suroundings... huge and beautifull. You can see some wild animals.. but be aware of the monkeys.. as i was lying by hte pool i saw two ladies being taken their lunch
away from hte monkeys)
Over all, it was an ok stay. nothing amazing but ok
would i go back?... i'll see next year

Room Tip: Be aware of the taxis outside. they will rip you off!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Elephant Hills Resort is on top of a hill with hugh sprawing ground, wild animals
and a golf course!! It has a very relaxing ambience coming back from day
excursion to the Victoria Falls or the Chobe National Wildlife Park which is very
good in Botswana. The only drawback: it is quite a distance from town and you
don't have arranged transport.
The resort is a bit dated but offers good value. The breakfast and dinner are good
with fairly wide selection of Western and local fares. The services are excellent
with pleasant and helpful staff.
We always bring along lots of ballpoint pens, pencils and erasers when travelling
to Africa and give them to young people and children instead of money. They really
appreciate them.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better view but more expensive and may not be worth the extra cost as the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yungtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria Falls
0.8 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#8 of 15 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#5 of 15 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,855 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 15 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#3 of 15 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#6 of 15 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
1.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Resort

Property: Elephant Hills Resort
Address: 300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hills Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic hotel, aptly named after the gentle giant of the bush (the elephant) merges seamlessly into its natural environment. Elephant Hills Resort has 276 rooms ranging from the impressive presidential suite to cool and spacious standard rooms. All rooms are ethnically decorated creating a combination of African ambiance with comfort and elegance. Each bedroom has modern amenities including air-conditioning, digital satellite television, bar fridge and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HRS, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Elephant Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Hotel
Elephant Hills Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing