We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant

Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: African, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Centuries past, we’re told, an inimitable Royal Drum disenchanted with its owner was lost forever when it ‘jumped’ into the Zambezi River. In honour of this legend, the award-winning Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant celebrates the richness of Africa’s heritage with fine fare and unmatched hospitality. The MaKuwa-Kuwa drumbeat is a call to partake of a royal feast.Located in the award-winning Victoria Falls Safari Lodge's central hub is the Makuwa-Kuwa Resaurant - split level and with a 270º view of the unfenced Zambezi National Park, and focusing on a central waterhole attracting year-round wildlife, the a la carte restaurant offers a wide variety of internationally styled cuisine, with a hint of African and game dishes thrown in. Diners are tempted by gourmet dishes made from the choicest selection of local and imported ingredients, and Zimbabwe’s finest winelist. Little wonder then, that this restaurant lays unchallenged claim to Zimbabwe’s top eatery title year after year…
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Set over a watering hole, we watched as about 100 buffalo and 4 elephant came down to drink just before dark, their reflections clear off the water. The food is excellent (with an appropriate price-tag) and the service was very friendly. Also had some lovely singers entertain us.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Management at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review of MaKuwa-Kuwa on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and got to watch the game at the waterhole.

Your compliments and feedback are greatly appreciated and have been passed on to the team who wish to be associated with my thanks.

We hope you return soon.

Regards,
Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    53
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great View and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The restuarant overlooks the watering hole and we had a great sunset. I had the "Pumba" filet and it was delicious. The staff was very attentive and made for a great dining experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank KathyR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Management at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of MaKuwa Kuwa on Trip Advisor following your dinner with us.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your 'Pumba' fillet and the view of the water hole.

Please follow us on facebook for our latest news and updates. Come back and visit again soon.

Regards,

Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fajardo, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food...awesome views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We visited the restaurant during our last night at Zimbabwe. Food was very good...although the service is low. The views from the restaurant are awesome.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Management at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your meal at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, Victoria Falls Safari Lodge.
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your food and your feedback regarding the service has been passed on to the team who’d like to be associated with my apologies.
We do hope you choose to return soon when we will provide the service you so rightly expect.
Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirboo North, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A restaurant with a great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Having spent a few days here it was great to see that the menu changed everey night. The food was great and the staff very pleasant. The entertainment was provided by a local "AmaZulu". Can't complain about the food or service we had. Its a split level restaurant open to the air so that if you get a balcony seat you can look out to the floodlit waterhole. Will strive to get back there again

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Garlick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Management at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and service.
We do hope you can come back again soon.

Claire Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing