We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A hidden gem, very pleasant and relaxing'”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gerties Lodge Victoria Falls
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Gerties Lodge is a great little place to stay very tranquil and relaxing. The gardens that immediately surround the lodge are beautiful. This is the perfect place to stay in Victoria Falls if you don't like the large busy touristy type lodges. Lilian and her staff were very welcoming and friendly. Lilian took time to help my and friends and I with our activities in Victoria Falls. The evening meals served to us were superb much better tasting than Mama Africa and Boma. The chef is an excellent cook.
I would fully recommend staying at Gerties Lodge if you are planning to go to Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan_Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2011

This lodge is more like staying at a guesthouse than a hotel. It has very nice garden that is surrounded by the guest rooms. The rooms in the front are a little nicer than the ones in the back. Rooms are basic, but comfortable. Rooms also include a very nice breakfast, served in the open air dining area at the front of the lodge. The lodge is located in a quiet residential area of town, and expect about a 25-30min walk into town, 30-40 min walk to the falls and about 1 hour walk to the Zambian side of the falls. The staff are friendly (in the evening we talked and watched TV together) and were very helpful with tips and information about visiting the falls. They also have on site laundry service. No internet. TV only available in common area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Expected a little less dated experiance.... The family room did not live up to my expectations, the matresses on the bed were terrible; leaving me with an excrutiating 'bad back' for 3 week and the lowered ceilings and dated soft furnishing left us feeling claustrophobic. On a positive note, the staff were friendly and provided us with a good breakfast and cheerful smiles.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mormad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

15-18 April 2011 -
Lillian has this place running smoothly. We had a 2-level 6-bed thatched rondaval with a small lounge for the two of us. Bedrooms were large but basic with a double and 2 singles in one and 2 singles in another. The bathroom and shower were average. Very rustic surrounds with a swimming pool. Our first night we saw a herd of Elephant at 3AM walking down the road - Lillian said this is unusual. Brighton is an excellent cook and the staff were wonderful. Our driver James (afrolove@yoafrica[dot]com) was wonderful and very helpful. Slow dial Up Internet access available although not tried. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave_duncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamers zijn allemaal goed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
1.5 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
639 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,247 reviews
1.3 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
902 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerties Lodge Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerties Lodge Victoria Falls

Address: 597 Nguhwuma Cresent, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $63 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing