We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Old Ursula Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Ursula Camp
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I echo the previous review - Stay here!! Old Ursula is a hidden gem. We also had the whole campsite to ourselves and stayed in the Master chalet. The Master chalet is a great deal nicer than the other chalets and only about 20 usd more expensive so i would just go for it! Incredible having your own chef - he will rustle up meals with whatever ingredients you bring and is included in the price, remember to take plenty food and bottled water as there are no shops near by. There is also an option to have three meals provided -dinner is 18 USD per person. We did that one night - it was pretty standard. You can also eat at the Stanley and Livingstone hotel next door but this is 35 USD for evening meal.
The Master chalet is beautifully decorated in old world style and has good air cond, huge bath and shower.
The only let down is probably the pool - it is small and not very clean when we went! We went to the next door hotel S one day to use there pool, it is much bigger but once again was pretty dirty and immersed with bugs.
The bird life is incredible at old ursula. Most of the mammals are seen from the water hole at the hotel and we saw lots in the evening there.
Fantastic few days, you are really able to get away from it all and just relax - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jane-ewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed here and had the whole camp to ourselves. I am pretty sure that this is because most of the large tour operators use the big hotels that are closer to the falls (Old Ursulas is about 7km from the centre of town on the gravel road next to the Stanley and Livingstone) and well known. Old Ursulas is owned by the Rani group and so you get all the same things that are used in the main hotel next door. While it is true that the rooms may not be up to the five star standard, it is in the reserve and we saw quite a bit of game walking past our room. The camp is small and we had the whole place to ourselves! What an experience we had the staff including a chef and housekeeper to ourselves! So what Old Ursulas doesnt have in glamour and star rating it made up for in other ways!

Room Tip: Buy your own wine in town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loup33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank BeatriceFrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloHammamet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank pierre-6978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
Thank RiadAnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at Old Ursula Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
906 reviews
0 mi away
The Elephant Camp
The Elephant Camp
#2 of 16 in Victoria Falls
920 reviews
0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,957 reviews
0 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
488 reviews
0 mi away
Bayete Guest Lodge
Bayete Guest Lodge
#2 of 38 in Victoria Falls
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ursula Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ursula Camp

Address: Old Ursula Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $150 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Ursula Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Ursula Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing