We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views”
Review of Stanley's Terrace

Stanley's Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Had dinner and lunch here - great food! Also after dinner, we sat and had late nights drinks. The staff was terrific about not rushing us out. Seafood and all dinner selections were delicious!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoriLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    166
    58
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Did this as it is a bit of a given if you come here and we were staying at the hotel. Ordered the High tea, along with being very average and very expensive the service was atrocious. We ended up getting up and going to the bar to buy additional drinks and the staff member actually dropped a scone on the floor, looked at it and walked off!! Not recommended

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank perthguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had lunch here on our last day as the Vic Falls Hotel was one of the places I wanted to visit. We had planned for the afternoon tea but had to settle for the lunch due to circumstances. Anyway, we met up with another couple for lunch. I had the Chicken ceaser salad and my partner had the Pork belly Thai salad. Mine was very medicore, the chicken was dry and tough, a couple of cherry tomatoesand bocan bits I need to hunt for. At $17 it was a let down. My partners Pork dish wasn't much better, he described it as pub grub. Not what I would have expected from such a highly rated hotel as the Vic Falls.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank possum60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Buffet!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The food is excellent, with a very wide selection. Fresh ingredients, salad bars, cold cuts and hot plates, made to orders requests, and desserts are to die for. Live entertainment and friendly staff made this to be the best value offer in the town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank youngcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
296 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A lovely walk through the gardens sets the stage”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A lovely walk through the garden property of the Victoria Falls Hotel sets the tone for a delightful breakfast buffet in the open air. You can see the mist of Victoria Falls in the distance. Manicured lawn and statuary add the short walk. Warthogs can be seen in other areas of the hotel property, but I did not see any walking to the Stanley's Terrace.
Service was prompt and friendly. The food was wonderful, especially the fresh ripe mango picked from trees on the hotel property. All the fruit was fresh, fully ripe and delicious. Lots of interesting fruit juices from which to choose as well. The buffet had many choices along with freshly prepared to order egg dishes. Game sausages were on the menu as well.
There were no insects or bugs that I saw despite being outdoors. There were some birds in the open central patio area. Most of the dining was under roof, but open air.
Others in our group dined in the evening and enjoyed live entertainment. They also spoke highly of their experience as well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank WireWrapGems2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley's Terrace also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Stanley's Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing