We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money...”
Review of Stanley's Terrace

Stanley's Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Value for money...”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A trip to the Falls is not complete without a meal, drink or high tea on the terrace at the Vic Falls Hotel.

The service here is both professional and friendly, the waiters cannot to enough for you. I have eaten here several times and on my most recent trip to the Falls with some family visiting from Ireland, I had High Tea and an evening meal. The food and drink menu is exceptionally well priced. This is probably the best meal I have had in the Falls, if not in the whole of Zimbabwe. I had the bream which was beautifully cooked and nicely presented, our table of 6 had no complaints and left empty plates. The cocktails are also not to be missed - yummy!

Let's not forget the stunning view of the bridge which you can enjoy from the terrace, not lit up at night.

This place is not to be missed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emsmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    172
    60
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boca raton
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We ate here 3 times”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The view is great from the Victoria Falls hotel. The food was excellent and the drinks were spot on. Expensive but well worth it. The atmosphere takes you bake to the Victorian age.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peaks8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cocktails on the terrace after a busy day - perfect!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

It doesn't matter if you don't stay at the Vic Falls Hotel, the staff welcome you "home" and you can walk straight through, out the other side to the amazing views of the canyon and vic falls bridge. It is a beautiful way to end a busy day of touring with a very tasty cocktail as the sun goes down!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This would be a perfect spot for lunch for the view alone. Add in a beautiful hotel setting, proximity to the Falls perfect, and then a very good menu and you've got a must do. We would have liked to have done High Tea here but that wasn't in the cards. We settled for lunch and were pleasantly surprised to find lunch item favorites on the menu that we hadn't seen anywhere else on the southern part of the continent. On a hot day, the bright green basil lemonade was delicious and perfect. We enjoyed this place greatly and could have sat there all day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Dinner was OK. High tea was lovely Lovely view from the restaurant. Service very slow. Menu interesting and good for a light lunch or dinner. Sandwiches, and some small plates.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vegasgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley's Terrace also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Stanley's Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing