We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Stanley's Terrace

Stanley's Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
West Hempstead, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Dinner was OK. High tea was lovely Lovely view from the restaurant. Service very slow. Menu interesting and good for a light lunch or dinner. Sandwiches, and some small plates.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vegasgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    172
    60
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“High Tea”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The guys went rafting, and the girls went for High Tea at the Victoria Falls Hotel. It is just like stepping back in time. Absolutely beautiful hotel, with a stunning view of the Vic Falls Bridge. The high tea was lovely and indulgent. Then, we noticed the cocktail menu and how affordable they are! A definite must to end a lovely afternoon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoiraVandoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark, england
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very slow service”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went for lunch one day, arrived about 11.45 and chose our own table as there was no-one around to seat us. Perhaps because of this we seemed to be invisible to the waiters. After half an hour I was losing my temper and had just got up to go when a waiter magically appeared. We just had toasted sandwiches but they were delicious. The salad with them was nicely dressed and very pretty with it's floral ingredients. With a couple of beers each I think it was just under $50 for an unparralled view and setting of old colonial splendour. Well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank newarkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely high tea with a great view”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had the high tea after slogging through the art market. The tea service was lovely with the expected sandwiches, teas and scones. I loved the view - in particular the warthog munching on the grass. A lovely, picture-worthy afternoon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisambuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delightful meal”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

A near perfect evening in Victoria Falls. The Terrace provides an amazing view of the Victoria Falls bridge. I would recommend the restaurant for the atmosphere alone.

A table of four, we managed to try a variety of starters and mains, with no complaints. One main was late to the table and the waiter stated, "good food takes time"... The portions were generous, everything was prepared and cooked well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tennismomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley's Terrace also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Stanley's Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing