We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable stay in the Vic Falls area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This lodge was very centrally located and the pool was a very nice addition. I stayed in a single chalet which was very roomy, but there was no fan or ac and the window screens were in need of repair so mosquitoes could get in. I asked for the room to be sprayed and they said they only did that once a month..
There were bamboos playing outside in the morning - very funny!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robincpcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our property, we are pleased to learn that you found our accommodation affordable and our chalets very roomy. It is very unfortunate that you stayed a little early as we have just completed installing ceiling fans in all our chalets. We hope you will be back in future and be able to stay in the chalet with the ceiling fan. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 249 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our stay at the Vic Falls Rest Camp was very dissapointing. There was no cleaning services, no warm water and no airconditioning (as promised on the website). Everything on their website is misleading and not there. The chalets are in a bad condition!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jaco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our property, we appreciate your feedback and regret that your stay was not pleasant. I am however not too sure which website you looked at before booking as there is no mention of air-conditioned rooms on our website. We continously work on improving our facilities and will look into the areas you highlighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We checked in on September 17 -18, 2013 at the Safari Luxury tent, it was amazing. The luxury tent is awesome and what a nice place to come rest after a day of excursions?
The staff were helpful especially Oscar who made sure we were informed about the stuff we wanted to do, thanks. Reception staff and cleaners were also amazing.
I will be coming back soon and cant think of any other place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you Maggie for taking time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the Luxury tent and found our staff helpful and friendly. We value your feedback and will do our best to ensure all our guest have a stay as pleasant as yours was. We hope you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Location: Easily found. Right on the street with all the shops and tour companies. 15-20min easy walk to the falls.

Stay: I stayed 2nights in the dome tent. The tents are set on top of a concrete base that rises 1/2' from the ground, with a few pad locks at the zippers for added assurance of security. Simple bed & bedding, with a side table and a hanging lamp. Does the job for just a nt's stay and sleep when in Victoria Falls, and looking to reserve $$ to spend on the jumps/swing/raftings or other activities. Although I had a bad bug bite on the 2nd night, giving me a swollen eye for the day, it wasn't something to really complain about when you are sleeping semi-outdoor. I went during their winter times, so it does get quite chilly at night, so make sure you bring enough or you'll be sitting up cold all night. Washroom & shower is communal, with male/female separated. I almost always had all the slot choices to myself, which was quite liberating, as I can take as long as I wanted. Facilities are reasonably well maintained, washroom/shower/tent. I didn't feel too out of place for the 2nt's stay. Do bring your own toiletries & towel, just like at a real campsite. Although they probably lend or sell at location.

Service: Staffs are very helpful, you just need to ask. Going there, I thought I read somewhere that they had outlets to charge my electronics but they didn't. So I asked if there were anywhere I can charge my toys. Ended up, they were able to charged all my batteries in the manager's office which was locked. I felt relieved and genuinely appreciative of their efforts.

Food: In house restaurant has very good food at a good price. I remembered having a crocodile meat salad, warthog dish, and some local beers. All were very satisfying, adding the restaurant is an outdoor hut just made it even more enjoyable.

Overall: Great deal. Don't expect too much. You are in Africa after all. It's really quite reasonable what they offer for the price you pay. If you are visiting Victoria Falls, you shouldn't be sitting in the room all day anyway.

Room Tip: Lodges & chalets are available if you prefer more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed your meals and beers at our restaurant. We have noted your comment about the tents getting chilly and will ensure our guests have extra blankets next winter. With us being in the park we gets lots of small animals and bugs running around and it is quite a challenge keeping them out but we will do our best to ensure regular fumigation of our facilities. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Thought this was a good place to stay, considering the price. Clean if tired rooms. Good location. Ok restaurant. Lovely swimming pool area. I stayed 2 nights in lodge 6 and 1 night in lodge 1 - the former had 4 single beds and a shower, the latter a double bed but no shower.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you Ed for taking time to review our property. We appreciate your valued feedback and are especially happy to hear that you found our facilities good, reasonably priced and our location convenient. We hope you will be back to stay with us again in the near future and you will recommend us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed in the Safari Luxury tent and it was excellent!
You hear the thunder of Vic Falls and in the morning you see the sunrise with the mist of the Vic Falls really amazing.
The location is in the middle of town near by al the shops and restaurants and a good start of your excursions.

Room Tip: Safari tent has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 615Minie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are pleased to hear you had an excellent stay and loved the Safari tent. We hope you will return to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights as part of an overlanding group. As such I can't comment on the costs of accommodation as I dont know. We were camping but there were rooms available. We did hear that the rooms were bad for mosquitos though. The site is very well positioned. It's not particularly quiet but then where is in Victoria Falls? There is a good bar and pool area and the prices here were reasonable. You are also very close to the shops and bars outside the complex too. We were only there a couple of days and in that time I didn't have a hot shower. Other people did though and it's a good tip to 'shop around' the different shower blocks before committing. There was a good supply of power for the everso important task of recharging various batteries. The reality is you don't come here for the facilities, you come for the proximity to the falls. It's fine for both.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John554455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We value your feedback and will definitely use it to improve our facilities. We are happy to hear that you found our bar good, prices reasonable and our location convenient. Unfortunately most trucks arrive over the weekend and almost all clients camp in one area so our ablutions get overwhelmed. We will do our best to ensure clients are advised on the available options when they check in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
907 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victoria Falls Backpackers
Victoria Falls Backpackers
#6 of 38 in Victoria Falls
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges

Address: Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $37 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Falls Self Catering and Camping Accommodation at the Vic Falls Restcamp is the best budget accommodation available in the Victoria Falls, ZIMBABWE. The Rest Camp is situated right in the middle of Victoria Falls town in Zimbabwe making it a perfect place to be based with all amenities within walking distance. The Restcamp is only 2km’s from the falls making it the closest campsite to the Victoria Falls. The security around the camp is a top priority with high stainless steel fences and electric fences making it first-class. The rest camp boasts numerous well maintained grass areas and an abundance of different varieties of trees making the surroundings in the camp very enjoyable. It makes this restcamp very popular for families as children have a safe and secure scenic environment to play in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Rest Camp Hotel Victoria Falls
Victoria Falls Rest Camp And Lodges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing