We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“walking distance to the falls” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“walking distance to the falls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

About the only positive is that it is located within walking distance of the falls. This campsite is located right beside a noisy bar/disco. In fact, there is an open gate leading from the campsite right onto the property of the bar - so don't get any ideas that this campsite is secure as anyone could wander onto the property. The ablution blocks are old and tired looking, but at least there is hot water. Did not sample the restaurant, but see my review of Lola's Tapas bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Arete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    105
    66
    22
    12
See reviews for
40
51
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights before we started a safari, we upgraded to a "Chalet" which was two single beds and a fridge. We hired a fan for the room as it was very got but with only one socket we had to unplug the fridge, our room was right next to the bathroom which was handy, the bathrooms were not in the best state - they had mesh shower curtains so no privacy at all and it was full of Mosquitos- here's a big tip, turn the shower on full hot two minutes before you get in to get them out and also flush the toliet before you go as a good hundred live in the Loo. We walked down to the Victoria fall hotel for dinner and it was amazing ($35usd ) and well worth it as there isn't a lot to do in the falls but the falls. Also there will be men waiting for you outside the gates trying to sell you Zim money and such, my advice would be to buy some Zim money, ask the persons name and have a chat them and then everytime someone else comes up to you to sell you something so you have brought it off "..." Already and they will leave you alone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlakieeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We rented a cottage at the vic falls rest camp, which sleeps four people. The cottage was basic, and had no shower, although it did have a bath and hot water. When we checked in the receptionist had no record of the deposit we had paid to reserve the rooms, so ensure you keep a copy of any payments with you to avoid any confusion.

There were showers available at the pool area, but the hot water was not that forthcoming.

The beds were comfy, but the cottage itself was basic at best and the furniture was pretty tired.

It's a pretty good budget place if there is a group of you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have stayed in the chalets a couple of times now. Very basic, but adequate for our needs - just a place to sleep at night. Restaurant OK, service a bit slow and vegetarian options very limited, but adequate. Wifi connection available at the restaurant but was too slow to support even the opening of emails. Ablution facilities are again basic, but generally clean. Not so keen on the translucent shower curtains. Location is good for access to shops on foot.You get what you pay for here - lower prices for fewer facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJMUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg&Shanghai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

During our trip to Sambia and Zimbabwe we stayed several times at the camping site, we rented our car in Vic Falls town.

It offers all you need as a camper: The location is good, you can walk to the town and shops, the price is reasonable, there are showers, toilets, electricity at the places, dish- and clothes washing places, WLAN at the restaurant (needs to be paid for, but works), a restaurant and pool as well as guards and a fence around the place. You share the ground with baboons and wildhogs - so keep you food stored well! We lost or last banana ;o) For firewood you have to pay, but they provide.

Everything there - but not always working. If more people take a shower the water is cold soon, one time the electricity didn't work at our place and one abolution was closed due to repair workes (which caused cold water at the left ones...).

Food at the restaurant is good and the prices are in the middle range. The staff is friendly and helpful. It's nothing special, but a good basic, reasonable camping site at a good location. If that's all you need - it's perfect. During the night you can hear the falls - amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank in2motion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed in one of the dorms. The beds were comfortable not saggy in the middle or anything. Not much privacy but ok if you take the whole dorm. For $11 a night can't complain. You may be lucky like I was and have the whole dorm to yourself and still only pay $11. There is a nice restaurant and bar at the camp. At night it was very noisy - as in very loud music from some bar nearby. I never figured out if the bar was in the camp or next door. I had to use ear plugs. No plugs or lamps in the dorm which is frustrating. The bathrooms were communal and utterly filthy and disgusting. I kept hoping I didn't drop the soap. Next time I will take a chalet with its own bathroom and toilet. Excellent location - walking distance from most things you would want in the Falls. Lots of food and restaurant options too. Wonderful stay in Vic Falls, I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: take a room with its own ablutions so you don't have to share with strangers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frieda6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Before we started our Intrepid trip of Botswana, we stayed one night in a tent but opted for a chalet after a very wet night. It didn't cost much more and although basic it had more room than the tent and was waterproof! The bathroom facilities were near by and ok. The restaurant meals were good, as was the entertainment. A short walk down the road are some shops and tourist information centre where day tours can be booked. There is a bar across the road that was quite noisy but our chalet was far enough away not to be too bothered by the music.

Room Tip: choose a chalet away from the main road to avoid the music from the local bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
2.0 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges

Property: Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges
Address: No 411 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Falls Self Catering and Camping Accommodation at the Vic Falls Restcamp is the best budget accommodation available in the Victoria Falls, ZIMBABWE. The Rest Camp is situated right in the middle of Victoria Falls town in Zimbabwe making it a perfect place to be based with all amenities within walking distance. The Restcamp is only 2km’s from the falls making it the closest campsite to the Victoria Falls. The security around the camp is a top priority with high stainless steel fences and electric fences making it first-class. The rest camp boasts numerous well maintained grass areas and an abundance of different varieties of trees making the surroundings in the camp very enjoyable. It makes this restcamp very popular for families as children have a safe and secure scenic environment to play in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Rest Camp Hotel Victoria Falls
Victoria Falls Rest Camp And Lodges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing