We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely but loud”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We camped here for two nights on our tour. It is a nice camp ground, with good facilties however be aware at night it is very loud. There is a few pubs that play loud music to 2 - 3in the morning or later. Very loud. When it stops you can hear the Falls from the camp site which is amazing. Not the cheapest place for the internet. The resturant is nice. You will see Pumba and baboons walking around the camp site all teh time. You couldnt get closer to the township. I wouldnt stay again due to the music though. We looked at upgrading to a cabin but the one we looked at wasnt nice.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room (Or photos) before booking. The room we looked at (Slept 4 - 6) looked very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    108
    68
    22
    13
See reviews for
41
52
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our family really enjoyed the restaurant "In-Da-Belly." The food was inexpensive and good. You can't beat this place for location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool is small and mostly good for children but everything is very clean and we felt safe here. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage with a kitchen, bathroom and small dining/living area. Highly recommend to those on a budget and even if I could afford better I might stay here again just because we liked it so much!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Effala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

While the location of the Victoria Falls Rest Camp is a big advantage and the In-Da-Belly Restaurant serves quite decent food, the lodges are unacceptable. There is basically nothing in the rooms and instead of a shower one is confronted with a bathtub that cannot be used for having a shower. The plastic toilet seat is just another example that the management should invest in this place since the cost of accommodation is remarkably high. However, the place is clean and being at the pool after a visit of the falls is quite nice.

The menu of the restaurant could be a little bit longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heinz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria Falls hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges has a advantage location to the Fall where you can hear the massive water pouring down when you were lying inside you camp. But its total area of this camp is to big to be maintained soundly.
If you are particular about the cleanness and hygienic condition, I won't recommend this camp to you. Better off to stay in a inn or hotel at Victoria Falls

Room Tip: camp basis N/A for room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QiongWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

What you expect from a campsite chalet in south east Africa...basic, clean, good shower and toilet facilities not to far from the room.

Great little restaurant and pool...best pool seem out of lots of campsites in Africa!!

Next to the shops and 5/10 mins walk from the falls...You can hear the falls (not too loud :-) ) and see the spray from the site.

Defo try a copter ride, Boma Restaurent and sunset cruise

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sometimeswithrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We visited the Victoria Falls Rest Camp during May 2012. The accommodation is basic and the service very friendly. However the loud music continued until after 2h the Sonday morning and then other campers started with their loud music the Sonday morning at 7:30. Be carefull for the vultures (traders) on the outside of the camp - they just do not take no for an answer.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinrich_Hellmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The main street is noisy at night because one of the businesses on the main road plays music until 3am. I prefer to hear the falls. The rest camp is kept clean. It is convenient and roomy. Good value. Very central.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#13 of 16 in Victoria Falls
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,116 reviews
2.0 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#11 of 16 in Victoria Falls
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges

Property: Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges
Address: Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Falls Self Catering and Camping Accommodation at the Vic Falls Restcamp is the best budget accommodation available in the Victoria Falls, ZIMBABWE. The Rest Camp is situated right in the middle of Victoria Falls town in Zimbabwe making it a perfect place to be based with all amenities within walking distance. The Restcamp is only 2km’s from the falls making it the closest campsite to the Victoria Falls. The security around the camp is a top priority with high stainless steel fences and electric fences making it first-class. The rest camp boasts numerous well maintained grass areas and an abundance of different varieties of trees making the surroundings in the camp very enjoyable. It makes this restcamp very popular for families as children have a safe and secure scenic environment to play in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Jovago.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Rest Camp Hotel Victoria Falls
Victoria Falls Rest Camp And Lodges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing