We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lorries Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lorries Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Terrible...toilet didn't flush ,tap in the shower fell off, dirty,mildew,smelts. Drains overflowing.
Towels so thin, no soap.very noisy as the owner and her friends had a party.
Not enjoyable no maintenance on property wholes in the ceiling.
Pool green great for the birds not humans.

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marisad406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    25
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
26
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

What a joy to have had the opportunity to live as part of the Lorrie's crowd for five wonderful days over the Vic Falls Marathon. We arrived to a cosy, chatty (NOT rowdy or unruly!) evening in the pub, and were welcomed straight away by Lorrie, Clive, Michael, George, some local visitors and the two delightful dogs (who were great fun - we played with them a lot). Lorrie was phenomenally helpful in accommodating my special dietary requirements, in spite of the fact that product supply of certain more specialised foods in Zimbabwe more often than not proves a challenge. The food was innovative, abundant, simple and delicious. We stayed in the cottage at the bottom of the garden, where the beds were clean and the water hot.

The Lorrie's guys helped with hints, tips and advice whenever we had any questions. A few people have already mentioned this in their reviews, but one truly does get the feeling of being part of the family, without ever feeling crowded. An uncomplicated, happy stay. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Runner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day excursion to Victoria Falls! Had a pleasant time staying at Lorrie's, situated very close to the falls (a $3 taxi ride) in a quiet part of town. If you want to see the falls on a bit more of a budget, Lorrie's is the way to go. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the company of Lorrie, Clive, and George, and were very thankful for the warm hospitality and excellent advice we received while staying there. Lorrie will be eager to assist you in planning any activities in the area and will surely make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alecisgood09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esigodini, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you are seeking to avoid the sterile, corporate anonymity of a hotel, you can do no better than come to Lorries. I would pretty much endorse all the positive comments other people have made and am most surprised at some of the negative ones.

I really feel that Lorries is unique. The closest I can describe it is that it is like staying at home. You really are treated as much like a family member as a guest. Informality is the order of the day but that does not mean things are tatty or slovenly. I was delighted with my room which had an excellent shower which is very important to me, the meals are excellent and i would recommend signing up for the very reasonably priced evening meals, and the service is great in a very understated way.

Lorrie and George, who helps to run the place, are both very concerned that everything is in order and are very willing to help out. They are genuinely friendly and accommodating. The facilities are really all you need : a pool to cool off in, a well stocked bar to refresh yourself and socialise with satellite TV, books available to borrow, a snooker table, dart board, a beautiful garden to sit in. I stayed here in 2005 and have just returned. I definitely hope it will not be so long until I can visit again.

The only negative point I would mention, just to be fair (!), is that it is a little distance from the town centre and Falls themselves. If you don't have a vehicle, you would either need to hire a taxi or make a walk of 25-30 minutes. Not the end of the world.

All in all : Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Spent 4 nights at Lorrie's. The food is excellent, the people friendly and accommodating and the surroundings flamboyant. Rooms are clean and well equipped. Only thing that spoilt it was a light fingered staff member, make sure you lock money and goods away.Otherwise, 5 star, no better place to stay in the Falls.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Lorrie's is a very comfortable B and B close to Victoria Falls centre. We had the air-conditioned room which was clean and comfortable. Lorrie does a nice breakfast and her evening dinner is very good if you don't want to venture out. George mans the bar (he is part of the furniture and has plenty of tales to tell from his 82 year life-span) and Clive is there to help out. Inexpensive and friendly is the key.

Room Tip: Ask for the air-con room if it is hot and humid
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I chose Lorries as it is reasonably priced and it has air-conditioned room. The alternative would have been at the Elephants. However, I can vouch that Lorries room has no musty smell. The air-con worked just fine and there was no problem with mosquitoes even without mosquito net.

We arrived in Livingstone (from JNB); took a cab to the border. Took another cab from Zambian border to Zimbabwe border - no way my family nor I will walk with my luggage on that hot and dusty road. After a similar quick and easy clearance on the Zimbabwe side, took a cab to Lorries. On the way, stopped at Shearwater to confirm and book for our adventure package.

Lorrie herself greeted us and Clive showed us to our rooms. That afternoon, we went for the helicopter spectacular and the river cruise before returning to Lorries. Luckily, Lorrie had anticipated and cooked us dinner. We have to pay, of course - LOL. My wife reminded me to commend that Lorrie is a good cook. we loved the mushrooms. You must ask her to make tiramisu pudding, which I had the following night.

Lorrie then helped me to confirm my booking at Chobe with the Botswana organiser. Note there is no wifi available. Also, she got a driver, Peter, to see me. Incidentally, we had Peter to help us on our remaining two days when we returned from Chobe. She kept our luggage for us during our absence. She got up early the following morning to make breakfast for us so that we can be off at 7.30am.

On the day of our departure, we left the place at 6 am for the Lion encounter. We did not have breakfast at Lorries.

Note that accommodation and food is not cheap. I sincerely hope that there will be places for tourists just to lay their heads for the night without frills. However, with good bargaining skills, the curios are cheaper here than in Mpumalanga, South Africa where it is near impossible to bargain.

Room Tip: get the air-conditioned room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank francis_61jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.8 mi away
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria Falls
The N1 Hotel & Campsite Victoria...
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
Cresta Sprayview Hotel
#14 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 16 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorries Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorries Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lorries Bed and Breakfast
Address: 397 Reynard Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Lorries Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing