We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Victoria Falls
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,366)
Filter reviews
1,366 results
Traveler rating
1,236
104
18
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,236
104
18
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant interaction plunge pool cheetah ambassador main tent outdoor shower wildlife trust orphaned elephants morning walk wild horizons canopy tour private deck local village luxury tents batoka gorge zip lining amazing experience once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,366 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is so much to love about Elephant Camp. We were welcomed by a staff member who sat down with us to work out what activities we would like to experience during our stay. (Most of these activities were included in our tariff) We chose the early morning Victoria Falls Tour, zip-lining, village tour, Sundowners at the gorge & of course the Elephant Encounter...(who knew there were 3 different ways to feed food pellets to elephants - The toss, drop & hoover methods) All the activities at Elephant Camp were amazing. This was our favourite accommodation on our African holiday. The rooms were roomy & really beautiful ...we loved our private deck with our own plunge pool. It was very convenient having the free laundry service. Loved the little family of mongooses that came to visit us every evening. All staff were so welcoming & very efficient & we really enjoyed the bar staff who were such good fun to hang with. The dining experience here was great. The menu was amazing & the food & service was of a very high standard. It was nice having the chef come out to meet us every night.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

Having visited Victoria Falls previously and thinking i had experienced much of what the city had to offer, i can say confidently that my stay at The Elephant Camp absolutely opened my eyes to how much of the area i had previously missed. The tours and experiences on offer from The Elephant camp were outstanding and the knowledge the guides had of the area, animals and history of Zimbabwe and Victoria Falls was immersive.

On top of The Elephant Camp's ability to guide a person through the sights and sounds of Victoria Falls, the environment created around the camp itself is second to none. The staff were unbelievably welcoming and greeted us with smiling faces and waving hands every single time we returned to the camp after a day of adventures. There was never a moment in which the staff were unable or unwilling to assist us and did everything they could to make sure we were comfortable and cared for, whether that was first thing in the morning or late at night. The rooms were immaculate and the views of the surrounding landscape from each private deck were like something out of a story book. On a holiday that was heavily directed towards adventure and experiencing Zimbabwe, it would be easy to overlook the food and drinks. However, the quality of the meals prepared at the camp were fantastic, and everyone's needs were catered for.

I can say with confidence that The Elephant Camp was central to our stay and our desire to experience Victoria Falls on another level. i am certain i will be back one day, and i would urge anyone who is visiting Zimbabwe to visit Victoria Falls and stay at The Elephant Camp.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

Everything was amazing! We had the best stay - views were amazing from the room, overlooking park with elephants walking through below your room. The air con in the rooms gave us relief from the heat and wifi was available which enabled us to speak to family and friends during any downtime we had between the huge number of activities on offer. Between zip lining through the canopy, white water rafting down the Zambezi, enjoying a sunset drink at the Gorge and lunch at the Lookout, days were filled very easily.

We were there for Christmas Dinner where they put on a buffet dinner in a special area outside, complete with a traditional entertainer - what an experience!! All the staff was amazing - very knowledgable and ready to help. Wonder was a fantastic guide and George who drove us, always did so with a smile, no matter how long he had to wait. Service by all staff was top notch and management were very accomodating! and helpful Menu had great choices and food quality was excellent - we looked forward to every meal! Love how sustainable and eco friendly the camp is too. Couldn't recommend Elephant Camp enough!

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mandy20202020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

The all-10 report might suggest that I'm blowing off this evaluation. Not so. I was thoroughly impressed with everything about the Elephant Camp. You exceeded my expectations. I thought we'd be roughing it. This was luxury.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ellawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Marketing at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Ellawson

Thank you kindly for taking the time to give us such an awesome review and for the full marks all round – we truly do appreciate your feedback!

It is so gratifying to read how much you enjoyed the rooms and the smaller things which we feel make a huge difference to our guest experience, but as you know the hero on this property is the spectacular wilderness we are fortunate to operate in.

Have a wonderful weekend, and I do hope we get to host you again.

Kind Regards,
The Elephant Camp team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

To John and Sarah and all your beautiful staff, we loved our experience with your elephant camp. Your care of us as a family of four adults was exceptional, our sons and I are still talking about our stay with you . To Nicholas and his staff thank you for all your delicious food and for making Kris’s birthday a memorable one. Your lodges and accommodation is fantastic and I can’t recommend you guys enough . If anyone wants a wonderful experience and to get spoilt by these amazing staff you must go here ! Again hopefully we will get back one day with our daughter who missed out ! Thanks to you all .

Room tip: All wonderful, but if your older ask for one closer to the lodges .
Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AnneJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Marketing at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear AnneJ61

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and review on TripAdvisor – we are always so appreciative when our guests take the time to post a review on their experiences with us at The Elephant Camp. Reading your comments gives us such pleasure and helps us continue to do our best at delivering tailor-made experiences for our guests.

We whole heartedly agree with your comment that a return trip is definitely worth your while and we hope your daughter can jin us next time! We will pass your kind words of to Chef Nicholas and the rest of the team, who will all be thrilled to hear that you made such amazing memories in our little haven.

We look forward to having you visit us again in the not so distant future, I hope.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,
The Elephant Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews