We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,126)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveler rating
1,008
93
18
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,008
93
18
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool elephant interaction cheetah ambassador main tent outdoor shower morning walk resident elephants wild horizons luxurious tents bush walk private deck batoka gorge zip lining amazing experience once in a lifetime sitting area two nights
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

Nice property just outside of Victoria Falls. A bit more private than other safari camps i.e. no common meals. The tents are large with private plunge pools, air conditioning and fairly secluded. They rehab elephants here and you have the opportunity to visit and feed them. Highlight of visit was our afternoon walk with Sylvester, which is a must.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank STALF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2017

Dear Stalf

Thank you for your lovely and informative review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the The Elephant Camp so much. We are very pleased that you managed to meet Sylvester, our beautiful cheetah ambassador, and our resident elephant herd. It sounds as though you had a wonderful time! Thank you for your very high recommendation.

With warm regards
Management and Staff
The Elephant Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017

I absolutely love this camp and what Wild Horizons are doing for conservation. So impressed. The managers and staff went above and beyond every single day to provide a truly memorable and completely unique experience.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bethd588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2017

Dear Beth

Thank you so much for your fabulous review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that your stay with us was so special and that you were able to observe our conservation practices first hand. Thank you for your high recommendation. We would love to welcome you back one day.

With warm regards
Management and Staff
The Elephant Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017

Excellent time. Elephants and cheetah were wonderful. Staff was was warm and helpful. Watch out for mosquitoes in the evening. Falls were great but in dry season they are not as spectacular as they are just after the rainy season. The tents offered great privacy and the small number of guests provided an intimacy that you cannot get in a larger setting. The baboons were a riot!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stanleyk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

The Elephant Camp is set in a private reserve close enough to Victoria Falls that you can see the spray from the falls in the distance, and it is accessible within about 15 minutes drive....but far enough that you really do feel away from it all.
On arrival we were greeted by Leslie, who showed us around and helped us to plan our stay. There is certainly a wow-factor to the beautiful accommodation, and it is hard at first to believe that the rooms are really tents. This became easier to believe at night when the insects found their way inside, but this was really the only draw-back!
Staff were exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable, we were made to feel very welcome and that everyone wanted us to have an enjoyable time. The difference with other camps was that we didn't have a dedicated guide, there were different guides for the different activities, but this seemed to work perfectly with the set-up. Kosmos took us for sundowners at the gorge, we had an early morning walking safari with Khule, who knew all the sounds and tracks, and then Wonder gave us a fantastic tour of the falls themselves. We followed the tour with lunch at the Lookout Cafe and then finished the afternoon with a helicopter ride over the falls. From a distance the helicopters looked like they were too high to get a good view, but on experiencing the so-called Flight of Angels, it proved to be perfect and a really amazing experience.
The food at the Elephant Camp was of really good quality, and head chef Dean frequently checked up on us and asked for feedback on the menu.
Finally, we finished our stay with a tour of the laboratory, which was quite fascinating, and also highly encouraging to hear what the camp, together with Wild Horizons, are doing to contribute to and even lead the way in conservation efforts.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Dear Ruth

Thank you for your lovely and informative review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the The Elephant Camp so much. We are very pleased that you managed to meet Sylvester, our beautiful cheetah ambassador, and our resident elephant herd. It sounds as though you had a wonderful time and fitted so much into your stay. We are also delighted that you visited the laboratory and could see first hand the work that we are committed to doing towards conservation. Thank you for your very high recommendation.

With warm regards
Management and Staff
The Elephant Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

A great experience! Elephant Camp has great animal interactions with Elephants and I love the morning walk with Sylvester - one of my most memorable experience.

It is very close to the airport and to VF - 15 mins. U can easily go back and forth for exciting activities eg rafting.

Camp is abit tired but the advantages above over weight. Staffs are friendly and professional.

May come again to visit Sylvester and try the activities in VF. Pls take good care of him!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Sing Hee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Dear Sing Hee

Thank you so much for your review. We love to hear how much guests have enjoyed every aspect of their stay with us. Our staff take great pride in ensuring that our guests have a wonderful time! It is a truly memorable experience to meet Sylvester and we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards
Management and Staff
The Elephant Camp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews