We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Stay at Elephant Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Johns Creek, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay at Elephant Camp”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were thrilled with the accommodations -- the outdoor shower, the private "splash pool" and the view from the deck. Basil and Petra were very gracious hosts. We loved riding Jock, the biggest elephant of them all. We were blown away by the up close and personal photo op with Sylvester, the semi-domesticated full-grown rescue Cheetah.

Room Tip: The rooms are individual cabin tents that are extremely spacious and beautifully appointed. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    64
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
191
376
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

What a welcome when suddenly a cheetah joins you for sundowners on the lodge deck! Sylvester really makes the stay at elephant camp so special. Appart from him, i loved the relaxed athmosphere, the big private sundeck with the pool, and the wonderfully furnished luxury tents.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank c_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were delighted with the luxurious, spacious accommodations at Elephant Camp! The service was excellent, fulfilling all expectations. Our guides were knowledgeable and provided many opportunities to be with Sylvester, an orphaned cheetah. The atmosphere at meals was perfect, private yet open to interacting with other guests around the fire it at night. The managers could not have been more helpful and attentive!

Room Tip: Spacious private lodge room with beautifully appointed furnishings. Bathrooms were spacious with fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank LindaTrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful luxurious tented “camp”. Our primary purpose was to visit Victoria Falls.
The camp has 12 huge tents and was comfortably appointed. A large bedroom with a comfortable bed and pillows protected by an effective mosquito net in the evening. It has a large lounge, large bathroom with a bath tub and a bonus outside shower. A huge balcony and a plunge pool completed this most luxurious tented accommodation. We saw baboons and various animals walk by from our balcony!
Together with a well-stocked mini bar (all inclusive of the price) made this a wonderful retreat after a day’s activity.
Meals were inclusive of the price and provided in the main lodge, also a huge tent. As there were 12 tents only, a table was set up for each party. We could attend breakfast and lunch at leisure within the dining hours however dinner was served at a set time. It was possible for guests to mingle at the bar prior to dinner to discuss the day’s activity however there was no compulsion made to have a communal dinner which allowed us plenty of privacy. No complaints about the meals here. Delicious and plentiful. Compliments to the Chef!
One of the highlights were the staff. They were welcoming and friendly and catered to all our requests where possible. I appreciated the fact that although we handed in our laundry late, they made sure everything was done before we left the next morning.
One of the highlights was interacting with Sylvester the “house” Cheetah. You could also go with him on a bush walk for a small donation. A nearby elephant shelter also allowed interaction with elephants. Another bonus was that we could see the mist from Victoria Falls from the main balcony deck where all our meals were taken.
The management staff efficiently booked our local tours for us with a guide and organized for transfers with a minimum of fuss.
Overall a wonderful stay at this terrific “Camp”. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BunburyTim61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chobe National Park, Botswana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were lucky to stay at The Elephant Camp during the weekend of the Victoria Falls Marathon. What a great place to stay and chill between some awesome active living. It’s hard to choose the highlights from such a fun filled weekend interspersed with tranquil sundowners from the deck overlooking the spray of the falls but here is what I think makes this place a must stay in Victoria Falls.
- Its close enough to the places you need to be around Victoria Falls (less than 15 mins drive from the falls) and far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle that the town can create.
Anytime anywhere you want to go the guides and drivers from the camp are ready to take you – at no charge (I assume this is within reason but everywhere we needed to go in and around the sites they were happy to take us). So much so that we were strolling through town getting registered for the marathon when we bumped into an Elephant Camp guide on his way with some other guests. After chatting for a minute he asked when we would be coming back to the camp. We weren’t sure but we figured it would be within the hour. Unbeknown to us, when we notified the camp we were ready to go to the camp, they had sent someone to standby for us and he was with us in 30 seconds. That is luxury service!

The company that own The Elephant Camp run transfers and all kinds of activities in the region – Wild Horizons. Because running a marathon wasn’t enough adrenalin for us in one day we decided to do the gorge swing near the camp. What a blast. Way better than bunjee jumping (tip: if you’re combined weight is less than 140kg…do a tandem jump with your partner! Its faster and more fun than going solo)
Elephant camps is an exceptional camp. If you’re looking for a chilled place, attentive and fun staff and luxury touches…look no further! Thanks to everyone there. See you next year I hope!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Elephant Camp borders a nature preserve, and each wonderful "tent" (roomy, comfy, suite) looks out on it. You can see the animals walking by, the mist from Victoria Falls; and have elephants and their resident cheetah to hang out with. We loved our walk with Slyvester, and he let us pet him and enjoy being with him. The walk to the gorge was fantastic, and Slyvester was a great companion. Camp is terrific, the accommodations, the excellent meals and the staff. I highly recommend Elephant Camp, it is close enough to Victoria Falls, but you are away from all the town life.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbr89460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Brilliant camp by any standard. Lovely staff: helpful, friendly...and where else would get to feed African elephants by hand and take a Cheetah for a walk? It was a great way to complete our Botswana/Zimbabwe safari.
We will return to spend more time here!

Room Tip: It's a good hike to the end rooms but worth it as you feel more part of the bush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CeeDee1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,178 reviews
4.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
362 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
418 reviews
4.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
529 reviews
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Property: The Elephant Camp
Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing