We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Elephant Camp
Nearby Hotels
Ilala Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$255
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$397
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$467
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pamusha Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$128
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$231
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A'Zambezi River Lodge(Victoria Falls)
$200
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elephant Hills Resort(Victoria Falls)
$184
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
N1 Hotel Victoria Falls(Victoria Falls)(Great Value!)
$58
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
The Victoria Falls Hotel(Victoria Falls)
$360
$343
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$1,017
$987
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,010)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveler rating
908
82
14
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
908
82
14
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolelephant interactioncheetah ambassadormain tentoutdoor showermorning walkwild horizonsluxurious tentsopportunity to meetbush walkprivate decklocal villagezambezi gorgean amazing experienceonce in a lifetimesitting areaour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved Elephant camp. From the superb luxurious accommodation, to the fresh healthy but sumptuous food, to the welcome from Jonathon and his team, and of course the fabulous Sylvester and Ed, his keeper, this was the highlight of my holiday. This tented luxury accommodation has its own plunge pool and great views towards the falls. Any activity you wish to do at or around the falls is no problem and can be arranged by the team with amazing efficiency - not always the situation in Africa. We enjoyed a river cruise, an elephant safari, a walk along Victoria Falls, and a canopy zip line tour with the kids. Our highlight was a 2 hour walk in the park with Sylvester, the cheetah and his keeper, Ed. We loved learning about the human - wildlife conflict, the life in zimbabwe, the history of the region and what a great job the team at Elephant camp and in the Park are doing. I would go back, given the opportunity, in a flash. I can only say thank you to the team, we just loved it. We had a couple of days after this stay at Victoria Falls hotel. What a disappointment, in comparison.

Room Tip: all great. some rooms require a slightly longer walk, but none are too far away.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dizzydi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Elephant Camp is the ultimate solution for those demanding nothing but the best. From the moment you set foot in the camp, you'll notice it's well managed, secluded and luxurious.
Your tent, yes tent, has all the trimmings you'd expect from a luxury home. There's a plunge pool, comfortable seating area, fully stocked bar (included of course!), fabulous home made cookies and a huge magazine quality bathroom.
Now the view also warrants a comment. The tents are designed in a way that the view is visible from almost every angle, even from the toilet! We saw passing game without the need of leaving our sanctuary.
The food is of fantastic quality. They'll cater to your dietary requirements and serve up a brilliant breakfast, lunch and dinner spread each day.
This camp is oozing with character and must be experienced to be believed - so don't make a mistake when in Zimm.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatDane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our stay in Elephant Camp was one of the best experiences of our Africa-holidays. It was great being met at Elephant Camp by Jonathan, Bernie and the staff with a warm welcome. We stayed there for 2 nights and everything was just perfect. Also the acquaintanceship with Sylvester, the lovely cheetah was a highlight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here with a family member earlier in the year before starting a 20+ day camping safari down to Cape Town. Jonathan was not there during our two night stay, however Bernie and Hilda did an excellent job whilst we were there. We were collected from the airport and when we arrived, our luggage was taken care of whilst Bernie went through everything (She is very good).
Food and drinks were very good. Tent #1 was a bit of a walk from the main area, but this was not an issue at all. To get WiFi, we would walk up to the lounge area because our tent was too far away. There was always someone on hand to take us back to the tent at night, no matter what the hour. The view from the tent was just amazing. Radios in the tent make communication easy. I did not use the outside shower, but I heard that many guests do because of guaranteed privacy in between the tents. A complimentary laundry service is provided. Drinks, tea, coffee and biscuits are provided in the room and drinks are available at the bar anytime.
Didn't pay to walk with Sylvester, but met him and one of his handlers, Gift, on two occasions down at the elephant ride place. While waiting for the elephants, I asked if I could ride the biggest one, Jumbo. We did end up on Jumbo for the morning ride and I appreciated the guys allowing us to ride him. I think guests usually just get on whichever elephant walks up next in the queue. We used the shuttle to go into town to get some trinkets. Didn't really like to backstreet market we were taken to as the vendors were too pushy when we preferred to browse first and then decide what to buy.
I would definitely recommend The Elephant Camp for a luxurious African experience. We had no issue with the occasional visit from insects in our tent or at the dinner table, but I know that some guests do because I had to listen to their loud whinging daily. We could only afford two nights there, but if we were in a position to do so, we would have stayed much longer. Booked through the Wild Horizons website and had no dramas with wiring them the deposit before our arrival and paying the balance upon our departure in the office. I have some terrific photos and even better memories from my short stay in Zimbabwe. Stay at The Elephant Camp if you can. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveseeingtheworld79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Public Relations Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Elephant Camp. Your kind words are much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us! We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards from Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After spending so many hours on a plane and hours in line at immigration, it was so great being met at Elephant Camp by Jonathan and some of the staff with a warm welcome and cold drinks.
We stayed there for 2 nights and everything just kept getting better from the service, the food, and the accommodations. Everyone was just so friendly and willing to do anything to make our stay so wonderful. We also went on an early morning walk with Sylvester and his handler Ed which was really a once in a lifetime experience. This was the perfect place to stay in the Victoria Falls area and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nivtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, General Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback, and we (and of course Sylvester!) enjoyed hosting you immensely, and hope to see you again when you are next in Southern Africa. The Elephant Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews