We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious with an impressive view from the room”
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a luxurious Camp 15 min away from Victoria Falls. The rooms and service are 5 star! I didn't expect to find such a beautiful, big and confortable room in a Camp. The view from the room is just amazing. I bought a package in the website of Wold Horizons and I got a really good deal for three nights in Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge (which is much simpler, but it is a wonderful place as well) and 1 night in The Elephant Camp. I wish I have booked an extra night here. This is a gem!
The only downside was diner. The food was not good. (Imbabala provided us with a simpler but much more interesting food and personal experience). Besides that, everything was excellent. We took the walking tour with the cheetah. It was one of the best things we did in our trip. The landscape was beautiful!!!! It is US$50 for a 2 hour walk and I guess that is the reason why few people do it. But I highly recommend it!
If you are concerned about the distance from the Victoria Falls town and park, don't worry! They have complimentary shuttles to take and pick up their guests. And it is just a 10 or 15 minutes drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, General Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments and it was a delight to have you stay with us, I apologise that the dinner was not to your liking, as we pride ourselves on our food. I have had a meeting with my chefs to rectify and change the dishes on offer that night. We do hope to see you again soon. Kindest regards from the Falls, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

718 - 724 of 938 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've just returned from spending 2 nights, three days at Elephant Camp. It was nothing short of SPECTACULAR! The most personalised service I've ever received at a hotel with the most fantastic and friendly management team who go out of there way to make your stay oh so special. The rooms are nothing short of pure luxury with a view to match! Plus, you may get to meet the camps rescued cheetah ambassador Sylvester! Will definitely be recommending this place to everyone who visits Vic Falls!

Room Tip: There are no 'bad' rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, General Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, what a privilege to have be able to share your vacation with you. We look forward to many return visits to Africa. Warm regards, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is glamping x 1000 ! Fabulous accommodation, superb host, fantastic food and service. Opportunities to get up close and personal with elephants and cheetah - a quiet and relaxing haven after hectic safari schedule. Very close to Victoria Falls. Rooms are exceptionally well decorated and comfortable - loved the plung pool and outdoor shower options !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LissLoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, General Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments it was indeed a treat to have hosted you at the Elephant Camp – a privilege to have met you! Kindest regards, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent 3 Nights in Elephant Camp In July 2013, the camp was nothing short of spectacular.
Upon arrival to our departure the staff were fantastic in all areas. They made or stay a memorable one and a definite place to stay again if we are lucky to make it back to Vic Falls.
The rooms are unbelievable, luxurious and private. The food was delicious, the gin and tonics were even better. We would once again like to thank all the staff at Elephant Camp for making our stay as relaxing and enjoyable as it was. If any one is looking to go to Vic Falls I can't recommend Elephant Camp strongly enough. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, General Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments- it was great to host you on your safari – we look forward to a return visit! Warmest regards, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were at Elephant Camp for two nights - July 23 and 24. We were in tent 12 which really is a hike, but the view and isolation make it worthwhile. The tent and its amenities are faultless including both indoor and outdoor showers - privacy affords the use of both. The staff coud not be more helpful in every aspect of the stay including dropping us off for shopping and picking us up at an appointed time with no bother. The food is excellent, service is first rate. Of the meals, the lunches were particularly good. The view is wonderful, but the star of the show is Sylvester, the cheetah mascot who will sit on the deck and allow himself to be patted and will also allow those lucky folks to accompany him on his daily constitutional. All in all, just a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, General Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us – we enjoyed being able to share in your safari, and look forward to seeing you again. Regards from Victoria Falls, Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Elephant Camp in July 2013 and had a wonderful experience. We stayed at 4 different lodges, camps and safaris during our 16 day African adventure and the Elephant camp was our favorite! From our arrival, Jonathan meet us at the van and Bernie arranged our activities during the stay. We toured Vic Falls, did the elephant experience and met Sylvester the cheetah. The food was perfect and we also enjoyed the cappuccino's after having 5 days of instant coffee at the other resorts :). We booked our stay through Wild Horizons (http://www.wildhorizons.co.za/) and I was worried about wire transferring the money in advance but everything worked out perfect and the email communication and the airport greeter were all arranged from start to finish! Great Vacation!

Room Tip: There are three rooms that have been recently renovated (I think it is 10, 11 and 12) We were in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a great stay in The Elephant Camp in Victoria Falls. Jonathon was a great host arranging tours to the falls, Chobe, and generally making our visit enjoyable. The chance to meet Sylvester, the resident cheetah and to feed the camp's elephants were wonderful extras, The lodging was comfortable and roomy -- not at all what one would expect in tents. The food was an experience and the inclusion of soft drinks and water was great. The staff was wonderful and always ready to do whatever they could to make our visit enjoyable. The camp deserves its rating as the number one place to stay in Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,992 reviews
7.9 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,519 reviews
4.6 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
679 reviews
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $867 - $1,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing