We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!”
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You may, as I was, hesitate a little at the price for Elephant Camp. Take my advice, DO IT! Jonathan (who, I hope, will take my advice and put up some YouTube videos to advertise) was a delight and there is a fantastic harmony between the hosts, the camp, the staff, the outdoors, and the town of Victoria Falls. We were in tent #12 (the fact that some of the walls were canvas is where the 'tent' description ends...) and it was magnificent! Great views, great meals (introduced by the chef), a wonderful environment all combined for the stay of a lifetime. Meeting Sylvester and the Elephant Back safari were highlights, as was just relaxing on our deck and dipping in our private pool. The staff even arranged for us to attend Easter Mass in Victoria Falls, as we requested.

Wonderful experience and a great group of professionals running the lodge. If you are doing a Wild Horizons package, you may want to consider staying more at Elephant Camp and less at Imbabala- especially if you are a couple.

I sincerely hope that I can make it back to Elephant Camp one day!

Room Tip: Tent #12 is the furthest out, but offers phenomenal seclusion and an unparalleled view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H3KB4Y2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    69
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
199
388
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karratha, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Johnathan and all the staff made us feel special every day of our stay. The accommodation is beautiful and the food is great.From walking with Sylvester the cheetah to the great atmosphere at the camp the whole experience is one we will treasure for years to come' Yvonne and Kim australia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This lodge is top of places to stay in vic falls.
The river lodge ( crescent ) has better accommodation but service at elephant cant be beaten.
Mainly as Johnathan is the leader of the operation.
His huge experience and will power take elephant to top of list in vic falls.

The food is better than river lodge to.
And transport to vic falls is never an issue at elephant.
The place is also more peaceful than cresent lodge as u dont have all the choppers making noise.
We recommend elephant to anyone expecting top class service.
The pool in every room is also a great idea.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andywhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful experience - great food, spacious and luxurious tents with all the thoughtful touches, warm and attentive hospitality from the ever eccentric Jonathan to the smiling housekeepers......and so much more.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SCSUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel agent, San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I only stayed here 1 night, but would have loved to have moved here. The 'tent' is so lovely, large and comfortable. The outdoor shower was the best. The staff are super friendly and there are no words to describe jonathan..smile. He is great.
I did the cheetah walk and it was the best experience of my 10day trip. If you have a chance, do it. It's only 6people and the cheetah for a 1.5hr walk around the property.
The food is excellent.
This place is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christy2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in March an left refreshed and totally rested. This gem of a place is located 10 mins drive from Victoria Falls but deep in a Wild life reserve. It is quiet and peaceful with guests staying in private luxurious tents - max 24 guests. There is a wonderful sense of calm here, with main lodge and tents overlooking the reserve and spray from Victoria Falls in the distance. Perfect place to see the stars at night. The staff, headed by Johnathan, are exceptional and the food is incredible. There is lots to do, if you are feeling active but we chose to relax and enjoy this unique spot, after we had seen the Falls, as had just spent 2 busy weeks travelling in S Africa. It was the perfect end to our vacation.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view and are very private. We did have access to the internet in Tent 4, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 455kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was a marvelous experience and a great surprise from beginning to end. The unique tent rooms were comfortable, well appointed, better than a conventional hotel room and afforded incredible views of the reserve and Victoria Falls. The activities offered were varied and the walk with Sylvester the cheetah and his handlers was incredible. The Elephant safari was a great interaction and provided interesting views of both the animals on the reserve and the lovely property. Honestly, the trip to Victoria Falls, a natural wonder of the world, took a backseat to the activities and the experience at the Elephant Camp.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view and offer privacy for viewing while utilizing the deck or plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,251 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
255 reviews
4.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,746 reviews
4.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
561 reviews
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Property: The Elephant Camp
Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing