We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional. A must stay,luxurious camp.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional. A must stay,luxurious camp.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

From the very warm welcome upon arival to the time we sadly had to leave, Elephant camp staff, management and facilities were unbeatable.The guided walk with Sylvester, Cheetah and wildlife ambassador ,was a life changing experience for me. Ed is very passionate about wildlife conservation, as were all the guides and as this camp is situated in the Vic Falls National park, it delivers a true bush experience. Every meal was outstanding, with unbelievably good views over the countryside. Dinner was devine every night, and all other meals were foodgasmic! .We stayed in many luxury camps during our trip through Africa, and Elephant camp was the most outstanding in every way, with a feeling of pure relaxation and homeliness. The rooms were truly beautiful and full use of the beautiful stone bath tub with a view over the Zambezi gorge was made. This camp touched my heart and soul. I will forever hold fond memories of this stay Please give Sylvester a heart felt pat from me, keep up the good work Jonathon and team. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    63
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
188
373
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our family kept joking that there had to be at least a 100 Jonnos to do the work he does!! The entire staff was so friendly and on top of things. The hotel looks better then in the pictures and I think I had mild depression leaving it!! Definitely make sure to stay at The Elephant Camp for a once in a life time, top quality experience. PS (The food is AMAZING too and you get to watch the elephants at the water hole while you eat) and if you would like to ride an elephant or pet a leopard that is at the hotel too. AMAZING stay with my family!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerose5580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes, France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here 3 nights between 8 days in Zimbabwe and 5 days in Botswana. We loved this place. It was a such a nice place to come to after 8 days in the bush, we had all of the creature comforts including heat in the tent...in August that counts when you've just spent time in Hwange where the nights can be below freezing. Jonathon was our main contact and our every wish was his command. He was fabulous, he took such great care of us. We had some excursions pre-organized prior to our arrival and he helped with additional outings. We did the elephant back safari through wild horizons and love it. Our elephant Janet was wonderful and her groom Mathius was so knowledgeable about everything elephant. We learned a lot. We also did a 2 hour horse-back riding safari which was very rewarding too. We especially loved the elephant camp because it was NOT in Vic Falls town, but rather in the Vic Falls National Park and preserved that being in the "bush" feeling. Drivers take you into town to do whatever you want and even wait for you if you need. They are very accommodating. We visited the falls and for my daughter's birthday Jonathon organized for us to walk the resident cheetah, Sylvester, on his first afternoon walk with non-care-takers. What a rewarding experience. We learned a lot from Ed, she is so very dedicated to cheetah conservation. We loved the breakfasts and lunches at camp, but not so much the dinners. They try to be very gourmet with the dinners when actually a more simple fare would be much better suited to the experience. We cannot say enough great things about this place. It's much better than staying at the Vic Falls Hotel or any other place in town. It's a very unique experience and we would love to return there again one day!!!

Room Tip: All tents have beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OTBPGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
125 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

For anyone doubting visiting Zimbabwe, don't hestiate - it is safe, ulta-friendly and really beautiful and The Elephant Camp is the perfect accomodation in the perfect location. We have stayed at over 20 luxury camps & lodges all over Africa and this has to be one of the VERY best. What makes a luxury camp stand out from its competitors is the staff and as has been said here many times before, Jonathan & his team are truly superb (and he has a great sense of humour so you spend the whole time laughing!) and you feel as if you are spending privilaged time amongst dear friends.

Yes the tents are gorgeous, yes the food is excellent, yes the activities are awesome but more than this, you realise that these people are truly passionate about their beautiful country and they work effortlessly to protect its wildlife. Forget the controversial Walking with Lions tour - as a guest of The Elephant Camp you can have the rare privilage of a complimentary early morning bush walk with Sylvester the Cheetah (if numbers permit & if Sylvester feels like it!) - as he is not used at all for commercial means - instead he is an ambassador for Cheetah & wildlife conservation and he represents the excellent job that Ed & the team at Wild Horizons are doing to protect the wildlife. Do what we did, make a good donation to the fund as the walking experience is priceless & truly fantastic and it is so good to know that your money is going to be used for conservation, not for commercial profit.

Tips - we requested tent no 9 which used to be the most private as it is the furthest away from the main camp but 3 new tents now mean that no 12 is the furthest away but all tents are excellent.
Tip - ask about the trips to the top of the nearby gorge - we didn't get to do it but you can have picnics set up there and the view is amazing.
Tip - If you have room, pack a few pens, pencils, sweets, clothes, anything & offer them to the stallholders at the nearby market in Vic Falls - not to get a discount but because every little bit helps and they are so grateful.
Tip - definitely leave enough time to just chill out and relax and enjoy this superb camp. It is one of a kind & truly special.

Room Tip: The 3 new tents -9-12 are the furthest away from main camp so most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Director of Sales at The Elephant Camp, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks very much for your positive and detailed feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Elephant Camp. We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We loved the tents and food at Elephant Camp. The rooms are beautiful. All meals were excellent. I would only suggest that they figure out how to get you coffee at breakfast time a little quicker. One day, we couldn't get coffee and one day we were done with breakfast before we got coffee.

Jonathan, Hilda and staff were all so friendly and helpful. We loved them all. They provided us with whatever we needed.

We had a massage and a facial while at Elephant Camp one day after river rafting. The ladies were very good and very professional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyblumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Elephant Camp. I am happy to confirm that we have sorted out the coffee situation! No more delays and a steaming cup of joe is now ready for guests arriving at breakfast! We hope that you will return to visit us again soon. Kindest regards, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

between two safari camp experiences, we scheduled two days to see Vic Falls etc and rather than stay at the 'fancy' hotel, our agent suggested this and extremely happy she did!
Located in a private reserve outside of livingstone/falls, they've got twelve tent/suites that are spectacular! great views / decks, great tubs and bathroom, really nice.
Jonathan, the manager, couldn't be more gracious, helpful, personable...a truly perfect host.
Breakfast and lunch outside on a beautiful deck, dinners communally inside with excellent menus!
Staff perfect
The elephant back safari (internal, down the road) was wonderful and totally worth doing!
We also took a boat out for breakfast on livinstone island, which was quite special as well.
Realize this is not the typical 'safari tent camp' directed mainly at game viewing, but rather, an intimate and beautiful 'camp' like experience near Vic Falls and Livingstone...if this area is on your agenda, and you're looking for something more interesting than a standard (even luxe) hotel, this is an awesome place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilOakland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Being a family of five with children age 16 to 20 we stayed unfortunately only one night at the Elephant Camp after an wonderful eight day tent safari in Botswana. The camp itself and its staff is the clear attraction in addition to the proximity to the Victoria Falls. Very personal service, charming, high standards of everything and fantastic attention to detail.

A personal thanks to Jonathan for his great support and assistance as we unfortunately had to make some urgent changes to our travel plans. And for forwarding my son's forgotten shirt to our next hotel without us even having to ask for it!

Only point to consider skipping is the optional Zambezi sunset cruise, at least if you already have had a great river safari experience. Boat too big and crowded. Much better to spend the time enjoying the great facilities and service at the camp.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LNJGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Manager at The Elephant Camp, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards, Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
4.3 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#4 of 16 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.7 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#12 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
5.3 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Property: The Elephant Camp
Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing