We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Fell for Elephant Camp at the Falls”
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Elephant camp is a tented camp for 18; although tents, these are tents with glass windows and doors, baths, showers (inside and outside), indeed most facilities of a good quality hotel, great comfy beds, mini bar, tea/coffee and even a hair drier, a luxury for some if you have come from a bush camp.
Tents have a great terrace with views of the countryside, the waterhole, the Zambezi gorge and the spray from the Falls. Loungers, chairs and table, and if you are brave enough in July, a plunge pool too. It is much warmer in Vic Falls than out in the bush.
We were collected from Vic Falls airport and whisked along perhaps the straightest road I have seen to the camp. Met by smiling faces, a cool towel and welcoming drink. If you come from a stay in the bush, Elephant Camp just says ‘you deserve this’ and you really do enjoy the comfort and genuine great hospitality.
Breakfast and lunch are taken on the outdoor terrace at individual tables whilst dinner is served indoors on one communal table. Breakfast is juice, cereal, bacon wrapped eggs, sausages etc, all very good and well done. Lunch is a great collection of salads and fish or chicken - again all of very high quality and delicious.
Dinners are equally good and high quality (don’t expect any chips!). They cooked more simple food for our teenagers who are just very picky with food. Service is impeccable, and you hardly ever see an empty glass.
The camp is very comfortable and relaxed.
Obviously you will want to visit the falls, possibly go rafting, bungee jump off the bridge or any of a dozen other activities and Kim at the camp will discuss all of this with you when you arrive, book activities for you and arrange to take you and collect you from your activities, so don’t worry about taxis - this was a really great service provided and made our stay completely hassle-free and relaxed.
So rooms, facilities, food and drink were all great, but what made our stay special was the unobtrusive service and the friendliness and attitude of all the people at the camp. Jonathan, Kim, Moses, Dickson, Prosper are seemingly always on duty, always ready to help – perfect hosts - but there are 22 staff, many of whom you won’t see, but they all contribute to a tremendous environment. The man who just opens the gate, smiles and looks as though he wants you to have a great time.
We really did have a great time.
We had tea at the Victoria Falls hotel, which is more formal and colonial in style; a couple of Elephant Camp guests had stayed there and said it was a little tired and dated. Elephant Camp only opened about a year ago and is up to date, modern and a luxurious camp – the must-stay place at Vic Falls, so,visit as soon as you can!!
Walk in the Rain Forest along the length of the Falls is a fantastic experience (getting wet is unavoidable and fun) and Vic Falls by helicopter is an expensive but must-do trip - probably the best way to see the full extent of the Falls - you keep dry too.! We visited the crocodile farm – only $20 an interesting visit, if a little unnerving looking at all those crocs destined to be handbags or shoes. And the early morning Elephant ride safari was a great experience and highly recommended
Now the market: this is a strange experience, disconcerting, but in its own way offers hope for a better future for Zim. All the traders will press you to see their goods, to buy their goods to help them. It is difficult to say no or to choose, as many offer similar things, carved animals, stone animals, bowls, table clothes, you can only choose the ones you like best, even if you have to disappoint someone else, and I admit this is far easier said than done. Be firm and polite, but do engage with them. I hate markets and haggling, but it is expected, to most of us a few dollars here or there means little, especially if you are travelling to Africa, so decide what you want to pay and get to that number, if they won’t agree you can walk away, they may change their minds.
It’s not just money that can be used to bargain with, T-shirts, socks, shoes are very popular, but just about anything can be traded as part of the deal, as we did. Pens are popular, so a dozen biros clogging up your drawers at home go a long way in the market and may help a child go to school. Spend a few dollars in the market; hopefully it will make a difference and it’s great fun.
We were not sure whether to go to Zimbabwe, but are really glad we did. The use of the US dollar has helped to stabilise the country (though we did come back with an old 50 Trillion Zim dollar note) and most of the locals said it was getting better, there is still a long way to go but they are heading in the right direction. We met loads of Aussies, Americans, South Africans but no Brits, so come on if you want to see the Falls, go to Zimbabwe and help things get better – everyone we met was great.
Elephant Camp , would we stay there again, yes, yes and yes again. Thanks to Jonathan, Kim, Moses, Dickson for making our trip special. And our giraffe made it safely home In one piece too!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Bancroftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 956 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

As a Zimbabwean, I have been visiting Vic Falls for years. Usually, my family has stayed at the Safari Lodge, but I decided to try out this new property. I was travelling as a couple and my boyfriend had never been to Zimbabwe/Africa before. We went to all our old favourites and some new places. Needless to say - Zim put on a great show. Elephant Camp was spectacular! I wish we had stayed there the whole time we were in Vic Falls. The rooms were amazing - this is not a camp, more like a luxury hotel. And Jonathan and the whole staff were really wonderful. I cannot say enough words on how impressed I was and I have been raving to friends and family since the trip. If you are going to Vic Falls - trust me, Elephant camp is the place for romance and relaxation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ckay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days recently and loved every minute. The facilites are fantastic, they have thought of everything you could possibly need and the standards are amazing, each tent is very luxurious and well kitted out with beautiful, very tasteful furnishings, hard to believe you are in a tent! Johnathon and Kim are so warm and welcoming and made you feel part of their family from start to finish. Moses, Dickson and Prosper are also really friendly and they all go out of their way to make your stay the best possible experience! The chefs and their talents will make sure your waistline is a testament to good livin' ! food was fab and lots of it! we were driven wherever we wanted to go and whenever we wanted to go, any trip we wanted was arranged by Johnathon or Kim we didnt have to do a thing except be ready to get in the car! The laundry facility is brilliant, a family of 6 creates a lot of washing and it was washed and ironed and left back in the room daily...this was a huge plus for us on top of everything else. you leave the Elephant Camp reluctantly - knowing that it will be very hard to find anywhere else that has that extra special something that it has in abundance! That something is its own touch of magic.....
we did not use the private plunge pools in our tents or the pool as it was winter, we did not have our own car but I assume parking is freely available and while we did not use the net I did see other guests using the internet wifi connection on their own devices.
I have not uploaded photos are the ones that are already available are accurate and up to date, it is even better in real life!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank overtherainbow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My wife & I had two nights there should have been 3 but the flight from London was late & missed our connetion that day to Vic falls
When we arrived & saw the location & accomodation I was quite annoyed we had missed one night in this fabulous place. However words are quite hard to express what we expreienced their. The accomodation was first class as was the location. To lay in bed watch the sun come up & see the mist from the falls was just magic. The manager Jonathan & all his staff go out of their way to make your stay special. & they did.
We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: only 9 tents all have good views & are very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ronsmith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Jonathan, Kim, Moses and ofcourse the entire team at The Elephant Camp were amazing! This a beautiful and extremely comfortable camp with outstanding views, wonderful food and a diversity of local experiences that will be stamped in our memory for life. We both loved meeting Silvester (resident cheetah), meeting and riding the elephants, going on the lion encounter/walk and ofcourse experiencing vic falls both on foot and via helicopter. There is also a number of adrenaline type activities - including the one my wife opted for which was a freefall & then swing accross the gorge (she loved it). Thanks again guys for helping make our honeymoon so perfect, you are amazing people and we truly look forward to returning to your beautiful country.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank want_to_scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I had the I had the privilege of spending two amazing nights at the camp that happened to be the two best nights of my vacation. Each tent was a suite with amazing views and every amenity one could dream of on a beautiful reservation. Laura and Jonathan as well as the rest of the staff made sure every detail was taken care of while making me feel like a long lost friend visiting from a faraway place. I am so glad I stayed here and I would recommend this place to anyone seeking some serenity and luxury at close to the falls.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justpeachy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Jonathan picked up early morning from our hotel in Vic Falls. Along the way he told us the history of the camp and surroundings. We were welcomed with drinks and our luggage was taken to our rooms. After checking in, we were shown the amazing amenities that the camp has to offer. Food was AWESOME ++++!!!! Overall Treatment was AWESOME++++!!!

Made an average middle class husband/wife feel like a king and a queen for a day.

Simply AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerrodtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
7.9 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#7 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,024 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,555 reviews
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
497 reviews
4.6 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#9 of 16 in Victoria Falls
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $852 - $1,203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing