We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place simply amazing!”
Review of The Elephant Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant Camp
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I had the I had the privilege of spending two amazing nights at the camp that happened to be the two best nights of my vacation. Each tent was a suite with amazing views and every amenity one could dream of on a beautiful reservation. Laura and Jonathan as well as the rest of the staff made sure every detail was taken care of while making me feel like a long lost friend visiting from a faraway place. I am so glad I stayed here and I would recommend this place to anyone seeking some serenity and luxury at close to the falls.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justpeachy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
There are newer reviews for The Elephant Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 876 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2011

Jonathan picked up early morning from our hotel in Vic Falls. Along the way he told us the history of the camp and surroundings. We were welcomed with drinks and our luggage was taken to our rooms. After checking in, we were shown the amazing amenities that the camp has to offer. Food was AWESOME ++++!!!! Overall Treatment was AWESOME++++!!!

Made an average middle class husband/wife feel like a king and a queen for a day.

Simply AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerrodtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We were on our honeymoon and stayed for 3 nights (wish we stayed longer), Jonathan, Moses and staff are truly wonderful, so is the Camp. It is rated at 5 star but should be upgraded to 7 stars. Fantastic hospitality, wonderful food and all the staff were so friendly. We had 2 free trips into town each day and nothing was too much trouble for anyone at the camp. Beautiful suite's, great view of the spray from the falls, so peaceful. We met the Elephants and their resident cheetah. I wasn't feeling too well and my new hubby asked Jonathan if he had any medicine which he didn't, but he jumped into his car and drove into town and bought medicine for me! what a gem. Highly recommended.
Chrissie & Benny McCabe, Johannesburg, South Africa.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissie10307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

What a great place to stay, very relaxed, staff and management terrific even got to travel in managers Mercedes, food was great as well. Seven start.

Room Tip: Any room would be great
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dogsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Just back from a few days at the Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe, where I took my parents for a week’s vacation. I asked the travel agent for a place that we can meet elephants and interact with elephants as it has always been my mother’s dream to touch an elephant. The travel agent came back to me with “The Elephant Camp” just outside the Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe.

Well, I have been in the Five Star Hotel business for the past 20 years and have a good idea of hospitality and The Elephant Camp has it all. Don’t get me wrong. If you like your pamperings and frills the Four Seasons, Hyatt, etc, stay away. Not for you. But you will sure miss a real gem of the wild. This is an elegant 9 Tent (Villa) lodge that is way above the rest. Each tent is secluded in the bush, but close enough that you do not get lost in the wild – you are in a game reserve. And these tents are amazing. Each tent is divided into three sections, the bedroom, the bathroom and the lounge. And to add to the value each tent has its own little swimming pool, so you can cool off after a hot day and watch the world (animals) go by AND an outdoor shower. The bedroom is in the middle and even if you lay on the bed you get a nearly 180° view bush in front of you. At night don’t even bother closing any curtains or drapes. I slept with everything open and woke up to the most beautiful sunrises every morning. Don’t worry, there is netting on the tent windows to keep the insects out. The lounge it tastefully decorated with a comfy couch, coffee table and mini bar. The bathroom is splendid. If you sit in the bath, you actually get the feeling that you are sitting outside. And there is an outdoor shower. Showering at night with all the lights off, under the stars is an experience.

Then there is the main tent area. A nice lounge, bar, dining room with a patio and a large pool. Every day you can sit outside and enjoy your meal with the wild animals in the distance. And I must admit the food was great. Just enough to make sure you add a few kilograms. What I like about it is that the Chef comes out every evening and explains what is for dinner (it is a preset set menu – not to worry all you fussy people, Jonathan will ask if you have any special requests on arrival). Lunch is a light lunch that is well presented and really tasty. You could tell by the silence of all the guests nice the food arrived.

A huge asset and I mean a HUGE asset is the staff. They made our stay. From the ever so entertaining and chatty Jonathan, the quieter Moses to all the rest of the staff, our stay way splendid. We were made to feel welcomed as if we were in their home. Even the security guard that walked you to your tent at night was a pleasure.

Now for the real reason we went their – ELEPHANTS. The Elephant Camp is in a reserve that looks after elephants. I will not say much about the reserve (you can read about it here: http://www.wildhorizonstrust.org/) as this is about the lodge. But every day at least twice a herd of elephants came past our tents to graze. Some days just meters away. And you can go on an Elephant safari that is a phenomenal experience. And let’s not forget the local ambassador – Sylvester the cheater who kindly graces us with his presence by sitting on the lap of an Australian…….

In short – seeing is believing and you have to experience this one!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ReluctantRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

If you are going to visit Zimbabwe,(and I encourage you to do so) be sure to visit Victoria Falls and spend at least one night at "The Elephant Camp". Jonathan and Moses are the fantastic hosts at this tented camp that is simply wonderful. When my husband said we were going to stay in a tented camp I was sceptical to say the least (I don't do camping). However I should have known better. This camp is definitely NOT camping. Each tent is huge and seperated into three luxurious rooms bedroom with giant four poster bed, lounge with large comfy sofas and tea/coffee making facilities and homemade biscuits and fully stocked bar fridge and bathroom with nice deep bath and a shower and lovely fluffy towels. Each tent has an outside deck with outside shower and a pool built for two"'a cuddle puddle".sunloungers and a table and chairs. The rooms are very private and unoverlooked and the view from the deck is bush and the distant horizon.
Meals are taken on the large veranda near the main reception area and are excellent.
I would strongly recommend this resort for a romantic getaway, marriage proposal or even honeymoon.
After a hot and humid day of sightseeing at "The Falls" Elephant Camp was a wonderful and unexpected slice of luxury.
We intend to go bacK!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rima T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

WOW, this camp was fabulous!! I recommend anyone who is keen on a luxury tented camp experience combined with excellent staff. Jonathan and Moses were very hospitable and friendly throughout my stay. The food was fantastic, Kate the chef always supplied an abundance of food (too much to finish at night) but always perfectly cooked.

There are wandering warthog and buffalo near the camp, you can see waterbuck and other antelope below your accommodation if your lucky! The interaction with the elephants is also a wonderful surprise. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPTGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
7.9 mi away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
3.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 16 in Victoria Falls
2,369 reviews
3.4 mi away
Batonka Guest Lodge
Batonka Guest Lodge
#1 of 16 in Victoria Falls
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#10 of 16 in Victoria Falls
607 reviews
4.2 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#8 of 16 in Victoria Falls
1,865 reviews
38.6 mi away
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
Imbabala Zambezi Safari Lodge
#3 of 16 in Victoria Falls
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range: $823 - $1,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls' spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 adults in 12 luxury tents. The 'Elephant Camp West' consists of 4 luxury tents that sleep 8 adults and 8 children (all are equipped to become family rooms with comfortable sleeper couches). (Children not included in total occupancy) All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. INCLUDED: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover. Lunch at the Lookout Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Elephant Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing