We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge Hotel

Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: African, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located at The Ilala Lodge Hotel, The Palm Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a comprehensive wine list. Dine outside under the African night sky amidst the sound of the mighty Victoria Falls
Naarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
196 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I had ostrich rollade and it was raw on the inside. I really don't like raw meat, but after being brought back to the kitchen, it was cooked to my perfection. Lovely mushroom croquette as a starter. Ostrich for me and tilapia for my husband, and for dessert tempting icecream with amarulla, vodka and almonds for me and sticky date ... pudding for my husband. Just lovely! Would go again! It was could though, this time of the year. They should turn on some heaters for comfort...this makes my total rate a 4 and not a 5.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    138
    24
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, food only ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful setting with an elephant coming right up to the restaurant to dine while we were waiting for our mains. The warthog was delicious but our other main very disappointing, as was dessert. Perhaps we had been spoiled by too many amazing restaurants in South Africa before coming here, but it just didn't live up to its hype.

Helpful?
Thank sedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Slow service. Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had lunch on a set menu at this resturant three course with a Greek salad starter , beef burger/ fish and chips for lunch and fruit salad and ice cream for desert.

The service was painstakingly slow and the service not very professional. I had the burger which was bland to taste. The chips(French fries) were excellently done as were the freshly baked buns. The burns were tugs best part of my meal... With butter they were divine

The soft drinks and bottled water costed us a whooping $3 dollars per bottle, three times the recommended retail value. Talk about profiteering.

Our group resolved to try Boma resturant on our next visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank impudzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

What can i say, except go here. Beautiful restaurant, excellent food, not even that expensive compared to other places, and $20 bottles of wine! Heck yeah!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with exotic food choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Went for my wife's birthday and she was very pleased. Nice and elegant setting and you can choose outdoors or indoors. I had a crocodile porcini risotto which was delicious and my wife a kudu steak. Friends had ostrich wrapped in parma ham. All really good. Suggest you try their whiskey paradise cocktail, it was excellent. Prices are reasonable compared to the smaller restaurants around, highly suggest you try it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank vinotico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge Hotel also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing