We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ok but nothing spectacular” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn

Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn
Save
You added Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn to your Saves list
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have done a tour with drifters in South Africa in december 2012. We have stayed in multiple drifters lodges, witch were all unique, special and great. After our trip we took an extension to the Victoria Falls, were we also stayed in the drifters lodge, this was one of the least good drifters lodges we stayed at. The room was ok, nothing fancy but could use a little upkeep for the price we paid. The cook was verry nice and made a good breakfast. Town was a 15min walk.
The tours of Drifters are wel organised and are full of adventure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Had 3 nights here. Beds comfy, rooms clean, breaky good. Able to organise tours easily. No wifi. Can walk to town, taxi is an easy trip. Due to elephants in town, (we didn't see any) u can't walk after dark. Good place to stay for a comfy, homely stay. ( no other meals avail other than breaky). Laundry service good, nice quiet, leafy stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank black2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
195 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stopped here during our Cape Town - Vic Falls - Johannesburg tour with Drifters and after camping it is always nice to sleep in a comfy bed. The mosquitonets were a definite plus because we needed them during our stay. We had a twin room with sharing bathroom and i was quite happy with that.
Food was average, honestly i enjoyed the food during our camping more than i did there...
There was a pool but you couldn't go in it, it was to dirty and so not inviting to jump in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetty1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on our Driftest Southern Circle tour. Room was nice and clean with mosquito net and a lockable box ( you need your own lock, but anyway). Nice bathroom with hot shower.
Walk to the city took 10 minutes. Manager was friendly and breakfast great. One night we had a braai (barbecue) by the pool with dancers.

Room Tip: We had our own bathroom, but some of the rooms had to use a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makustaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed before and after our safari trip in Vic Falls. The place grows on you. Our room (No 5) was clean with good mosquito net. We also got a bath - I think its the only one with a bath. The chef cooks a good breakfast (bacon and eggs). The manager Bev is very helpful and gave us a lift. It's about a 15 minute walk into town with probably a further 10 minutes from there to the falls - you'll need a taxi back in the dark. We also stayed a night at the Savannah Lodge whilst in Vic Falls, which was cheaper but given the choice Drifters is the better option. Accommodation is not cheap in Vic Falls but Drifters is a good option.

The street boys are a bit of a pain at first but after first day tend to leave you alone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnsterbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We were on a Drifters camping safari from Joburg up through Botswana (brilliant fun by the way!) that ended up at their Inn in Vic Falls. As Brits we were a bit unsure how Zimbabwe would welcome us. Nae worries, they were great. The place is safe enough (a few more street hassles than over the Falls on the Zambian side, but nothing to write home about). We liked the style of the Inn (and also their friendliness: two days on the trot my wife and I got a free lift into town from their people, in their own cars!). Go and have a beer on the terrace of the Victoria Falls Hotel to see what the Empire was all about...fantastic place! All in all we loved Vic Falls and Drifters are a great team.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria Falls hotels
0.0 mi away
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
The Kingdom at Victoria Falls
#12 of 15 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 930 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 15 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,907 reviews
0.0 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#10 of 15 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#15 of 15 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#3 of 15 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elephant Hills Resort
Elephant Hills Resort
#11 of 15 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn

Property: Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn
Address: Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria Falls
Hotel Class:2 star — Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Drifters` Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing