We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad food.. Even worse service!”

Mama Africa Eating House
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad food.. Even worse service!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Was referred to the place by locals which had skeptical reviews but decided to try it anyway after seeing the colorful atmosphere and live music.. And boy did we regret it! They were 3 filled tables around us.. They would not even serve us our appetizers (which was soup) until all 3 of those tables had been cleared. Keep in mind one of the tables had a group of 10 people and were getting served appetizers as we ordered our own food. 1 & 1/2 hours after ordering our food we decided to question what was the hold up and they seemed more annoyed then concerned that we had been sitting down for almost 2 hours with no food. By the time we were served the food the live band had already packed up and went home and our food was bland and stone cold. More then half our table sent their food back and asked them to just remove it from the bill due to the food being unedible. The staff was incredibly rude and unhelpful especially for the area that we were in being known for such nice people. Oh, and while their menu might look delightful they only actually have 1/4 of it in stock. Sold out of mostly everything.. Including liquor! I would never ever go back .. In fact, if I know anyone visiting Victoria Falls I would warn them of this place and tell them to stay away!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lkay89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raz D, Owner at Mama Africa Eating House, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us,we understand how you feel and
would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had at our restaurant. Having read your post, I am appalled by the treatment you experienced. This does not reflect the high standards we hold here at Mama Africa eating house.
You mentioned in your post that you waited a long time for your meals this was due to the fact that we had a number of groups who had come earlier and we try to maintain our restaurant policy of first in first serve at the same time making sure everyone is happy.

Please accept our sincerest apology for an inconveniences caused, Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. As with a restaurant business the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    234
    168
    49
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
182 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Mama Africa is a Colorful Restuarant”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

While spending two nights in Victoria Falls, we wanted to try a local place to eat, besides the lodge where we were staying. Douglas, our guide to the falls earlier that morning suggested Mama's for lunch and if we liked it we could go back for dinner.
I had a toasted ham and cheese sandwich and the "chips" were every good, and I also tried a Zambezi beer, which was light and tasted great. My husband had the plain bacon and egg and it was fine. The prices were a bit more than we expected, but still reasonable. We really enjoyed the atmosphere and the server was friendly.
We met Mama as we were leaving and she is delightful! We enjoyed visiting with her before we left.
Later the night, after a sunset boat ride we went back but only had the soup since we weren't really that hungry and the dinner prices were a bit higher but not as expensive as at the lodge for dinner, There was a band setting up and this was a Tuesday night, so not very many people were around. We left before the band played so don't know if they had dancing, as it was a bit early at 7 pm. We met locals coming in as we were leaving so it is a mixture of who eats here.
It might be a bit touristy for some people, but still has a comfortable, warm, and friendly feeling which we enjoyed. We enjoyed the meals there and the food is good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went two nights. The first night we were served by a very friendly man who told us what we could expect. There was live music on the Sunday night and the place was buzzing. The cost was very reasonable. We went back the following night and there was no music and it seemed a bit flat. The food was good though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The meal”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The cost was reasonable but we were in a group and when the meals arrived they were cool. Ok taste but not great. The wine selection is red or white just like the rest of Africa!
The plus was there was live music and they took requests.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mac59NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A bit touristy but LOADS of fun!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Definitely geared towards the tourist, you will be fitted with African cloth and directed down to dance with the Zulus at the entrance. From there it's off to your table for a feast of "all you can eat". If you're not into African game, don't worry ... there's an extensive salad bar and sirloin steak. As you eat, there's a wonderful group of singers and drum players (you will be involved in that) to entertain you. It's definitely a fun evening to enjoy with friends

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank papillon2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Africa Eating House also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Mama Africa Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing