We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mama Africa is a Colorful Restuarant”

Mama Africa Eating House
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
181 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Mama Africa is a Colorful Restuarant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

While spending two nights in Victoria Falls, we wanted to try a local place to eat, besides the lodge where we were staying. Douglas, our guide to the falls earlier that morning suggested Mama's for lunch and if we liked it we could go back for dinner.
I had a toasted ham and cheese sandwich and the "chips" were every good, and I also tried a Zambezi beer, which was light and tasted great. My husband had the plain bacon and egg and it was fine. The prices were a bit more than we expected, but still reasonable. We really enjoyed the atmosphere and the server was friendly.
We met Mama as we were leaving and she is delightful! We enjoyed visiting with her before we left.
Later the night, after a sunset boat ride we went back but only had the soup since we weren't really that hungry and the dinner prices were a bit higher but not as expensive as at the lodge for dinner, There was a band setting up and this was a Tuesday night, so not very many people were around. We left before the band played so don't know if they had dancing, as it was a bit early at 7 pm. We met locals coming in as we were leaving so it is a mixture of who eats here.
It might be a bit touristy for some people, but still has a comfortable, warm, and friendly feeling which we enjoyed. We enjoyed the meals there and the food is good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    230
    166
    49
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went two nights. The first night we were served by a very friendly man who told us what we could expect. There was live music on the Sunday night and the place was buzzing. The cost was very reasonable. We went back the following night and there was no music and it seemed a bit flat. The food was good though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

The cost was reasonable but we were in a group and when the meals arrived they were cool. Ok taste but not great. The wine selection is red or white just like the rest of Africa!
The plus was there was live music and they took requests.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mac59NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A bit touristy but LOADS of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Definitely geared towards the tourist, you will be fitted with African cloth and directed down to dance with the Zulus at the entrance. From there it's off to your table for a feast of "all you can eat". If you're not into African game, don't worry ... there's an extensive salad bar and sirloin steak. As you eat, there's a wonderful group of singers and drum players (you will be involved in that) to entertain you. It's definitely a fun evening to enjoy with friends

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank papillon2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic food but something was missing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

My first meal in Victoria Falls, and I was expecting more - and for less. It seemed a bit over priced for what we were eating (authentic Zimbabwean food - in Zimbabwe) and our booking wasn't correct when our group arrived. The staff were friendly and eager to please, and the meal was tasty. Just left a little non-plus-ed after the experience. Nice enough, but not rushing to go back there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meggski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Africa Eating House also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Mama Africa Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing