We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
128
91
36
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
91
36
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish spa bed dorm self catering kitchen order meals we arrived late at night hand carved bearded dragon communal kitchen common space aloe vera discounted rate beautiful oasis extremely helpful staff thought of everything fire pit safe walk enjoy your stay
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 279 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2016 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in the Victoria Falls Backpackers and overall had a good time. The outdoor area is colorful and wonderful, there are a lot of places to sit and chat with other travellers or just rest after a long day. But you should be aware of some things:
* The hostel accepts cash only. I didn't realize that until I got there. They should emphasize that better.
* To get to town and to the waterfalls you will need to walk about 20-40 minutes, depending on your fitness or take a taxi for 5 dollars. Yeah, there's not much to see in town, but getting to the falls on foot was tireing.
* I understood that there is no fan in the dorms, which means you will get very hot in Summer. In my private ensuite room there was a fan and it worked great.
* Wifi works great, especially in the reception area, but costs 3 dollars a day.
* In the private room there was barely any seperation between the shower+restroom and the bedroom. You can see anyone who showers.
* The mosquito net had a few holes in it.
* The restuarant works from 7:00 to 19:00 and afterwards you cannot order anything, including drinks. The food is very good though! I loved the pancakes in the morning!
Overall I liked this place because of the wonderful decoration and calm atmosphere. The staff were also nice.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled solo
Thank Kenlior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2016

The hostel is located about 30 min walk from the town center. And it's a bit remote. The rooms were not bad, but they didn't have any door on the bathrooms! The staff at the reception was helpful but he recommended taking a safari tour with Stanley & Livingstone company, which turned out to be the worst tour ever! I'm guessing he'd have got a good commission. Avoid that tour company at all costs! Wifi is paid.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parindshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Victoria falls backpackers is on Gibson road. 15 mins walk from the centre.
This is a cosy cool place to be if you are in a group & are interested in staying in decent place with your friends, I would recommend this place.
They have great services, clean rooms and you could also get a really nice massage after a long day.

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Tesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2015

This quaint hostel is located close enough to Vic Falls town that you can walk to but far away enough to avoid the loud and rowdy backpackers. The facilities are great, the room small but adequate and the pool refreshing. The staff are very helpful and often get you good deals on activities. Wifi is USD $3/day. Would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Vic Falls.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CaityVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2015

Inconvenient location but the good thing is that the hostel can organize taxi for a reasonable prize. Around 2-3USD.
I chose Victoria Falls Backpackers due to it's high rating and good reviews. It does lives up to it's good reputation. One of my favorite hostels so far.
The staff here are amazing. Very nice garden. The common are is decorated in a way that makes you feel at home. On a hot day you can relax at the pool. A small shop and a masseus (if you wanna pampered) are available at the common area as well.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance_Kerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews