We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & safe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guinea Fowls Rest B&B
Ranked #5 of 56 Harare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I only stayed one night, but was well looked after. Guinea Fowls Rest is in a convenient location, and is easy to find. I was travelling alone, and felt completely safe and secure. I had an extremely generous & delicious home-cooked style dinner (far too large a portion for a lady !). Dave & Annette are very friendly and full of information. As I had been on the road all day I needed to catch up with work and was grateful for the good quality, and free, wi-fi connection. The bed was very comfortable, with good quality linen. The gardens & pool are lovely, and there is an honesty bar with a good selection of drinks. I definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kjal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at Guinea Fowls Rest B&B for 3 nights and could not fault anything. Dave and Annette were the perfect hosts and bent over backwards to any requests. The rooms and en-siute facilities were to a very high standard and the food was excellent - to a full English breakfast to an evening braai , what more could you ask for. Thank you for a great relaxing time and i will definetly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed for a couple of nights at this excellent B&B. Dave and Annette were wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble, from providing home cooked evening meals to substantial packed breakfasts for my early starts. The ensuite accommodation was of a high standard, set in a relaxing garden with pool. There was a well stocked bar providing drinks at very reasonable cost

Overall great B&B, first class hosts, comfortable ensuite room, plenty of beers - what more could you want!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonJ743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Came up from JHB and stayed here for 10 days. Lovely food, company was great, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with a couple DSTV channels. Wi-fi is excellent considering its Zimbabwe, almost always better than wi-fi in JHB. Has a pool, bar, and very decent prices for all sorts of drinks. All in all, I've stayed at MANY guest houses and this is rated one of the best. Keep up the good work, and it's only getting better!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quinn1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed for one comfortable night at Guinea Fowls Rest last December. The hosts, Dave and Annette, are very accommodating, assisting with lifts to the restaurant and a reliable taxi for the airport the following day.
The room was very comfortable, with a scrupulously clean (shared) bathroom. Wifi was available and of decent speed (Zimbabwe as a whole has slow connection, so this was a boon). Breakfast was large and filling, with a good unpretentious selection.
The honesty bar and verranda is a pleasant place to relax.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MaccyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S6342GLjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuineaFowlsRest, Owner at Guinea Fowls Rest B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _krueger_jana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuineaFowlsRest, Owner at Guinea Fowls Rest B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
3.1 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 14 in Harare
322 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
461 reviews
3.5 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 14 in Harare
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge
4.3 mi away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#3 of 56 in Harare
105 reviews
4.5 mi away
Coghlan Villa Guest House
Coghlan Villa Guest House
#33 of 56 in Harare
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guinea Fowls Rest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guinea Fowls Rest B&B

Address: College Road | Alexandra Park, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Harare
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, homely, secure & relaxing overnight accommodation in up-market suburb of Harare. Ideal for visitors to Harare, whether on holiday or for business. Close to city centre, hospitals and shopping centres and restaurants. A lovely spacious veranda with an honesty bar & pool table for entertainment; a sparkling swimming pool for those beautiful warm, sunny days! A laundry service is also available if required. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing