We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returning to Wavell House early next week” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wavell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wavell House
Ranked #10 of 49 Harare B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Returning to Wavell House early next week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I look forward to being back for another extended stay at Wavell House - nicely appointed rooms, excellent food, and careful service. Kudos to Ros!

I don't remember the room number and it may not have been the "best" but it was definitely comfortable and spacious, and gave a feeling of privacy.

Room Tip: Although it doesn't have a fitness center, it has a great pool one can do laps in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumkum A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros B, Owner at Wavell House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Your review of Wavell House is very much appreciated. We welcome longer term guests doing consultancy work such as your stay with us, and hope to cater for individual needs for those staying away from home for extended periods. Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Last week I spent 3 nights at Wavell House with my wife as we were in town to attend a conference. From the moment we stepped into our room (Cottage 1) we knew we had made the right choice. There was a feeling of having our own private space - very spacious, with exceptional furnishings and a great sense of attention to detail. The service from the staff was very personal and sincere making this undoubtedly our new accommodation of choice while in Harare. The rambling well-kept grounds gave one a sense of ease and calm making it difficult to remember that we were literally minutes away from the CBD. There's a lot I could say but it suffices to say Ros has a good thing going here and we will most certainly be back (if we can get a booking :)).

Room Tip: Cottage 1 is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadkusam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros B, Owner at Wavell House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of Wavell House. So useful to know how guests feel about our service, and to see from the guest point of view, through new eyes. Very nice to know that the furnishings are so appreciated, and make the difference. We are still working on further improvements, and look forward to hosting you again. It was really our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Once in a while you come across an owner run and managed establishment that has all the normal things we expect like clean well kept buildings, sparkling pool, manicured gardens, comfortable rooms, well presented food, but, then on top of that is a hidden extra that is hard to define... it's that tingle in the air, a heightening of senses that leaves you feeling pampered, some would call it atmosphere, whatever way you want to put it, Wavell House has it.
The place is very tastefully appointed with art, fabrics and furniture that come from Wavell House's sister companies owned and operated by Ros Byrne. So if you are taken with the feel of the place and you want to know more, studio tours can be arranged. You may want to bring an extra suitcase...
Wavell House, worth a visit but be warned you would do well to plan for a day or two extra because I dare say you will not want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XptionalAfSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros B, Owner at Wavell House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Wavell House. Your comments are very welcome and we are pleased that the lodge, our service and premises met your expectations. It is also most useful to know that guests may appreciate other businesses and products affiliated with the lodge, which are of local interest. We are always happy to advise guests of our retail shop, located next to The Shop Cafe for a fine lunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

There is only one problem with Wavell House. Everything about it conspires to make you never want to leave! It seems to run effortlessly. Relaxed and lovely with the excellent staff who offer sublime service, warmth and a splash of humour too, you don't want for anything. The decor is understated and beautiful - simple African chic, natural fabrics, cooling shades of neutral offset against light wooden floors and darker wood furniture, all handcrafted - what more could you ask for? Nice hints of colour to balance it all? - that too plus peace and quiet. You know the other guests are there, yet there’s a distinct feeling of having your own space, a real home from home. Beds so comfortable you wish to you never had to get up and start the day. But it’s worth it for the bathrooms alone which are huge and luxuriously well equipped. Next time I want to pitch a makeshift tent, I’ll borrow one of their fluffy white towels! Food is unfussy, fresh and tasty, water laced with lemon and mint and coffee comes with little homemade treats , wafer thin biscotti my own personal vice. In brief, a magical place with a stylish unstuffiness that makes a long day’s work there quite bearable! Having travelled to Zimbabwe many times over the past 12 years and ever in search of comfortable, stress free places to stay, this one is my new bit of happiness in Harare. Within four days I was hooked and left counting the months till my next visit! In the meantime I’m having to deal with separation anxiety!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slb186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros B, Owner at Wavell House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Your review is most welcome and just says it all!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a literary review, very descriptive and so positive about so many details, that create a full picture of your stay through other eyes.
We feel most honored that you noticed so many nuances, and that these made a difference to your stay.
Many thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again one day.
It is our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

After a months trip to Zimbabwe I ended my stay in Harare with what I consider to be a 5 star weekend at Wavell House. Despite the preconceptions of Zimbabwe's state, Wavell house offers a standard of accommodation and service that would be ranked highly Anywhere in the world! Brilliant staff, friendly and helpful. Beautifully designed spacious rooms, Framed by a lash garden that maintains an impressive variety of trees and flowers. Wavell is a perfect way to experience Zimbabwe. Truly a magnificent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros B, Manager at Wavell House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
So glad you enjoyed Wavell and all it has to offer. We look forward to having you stay next time you are in Harare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Beautifully decorated private rooms with wonderful service and lovely gardens. The food is amazing and there is keen attention to detail. The grounds are spacious and plenty of room to wander around the gardens or relax by the swimming pool. A wonderful stay. Ideal place for people new to Zimbabwe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ros B, Manager at Wavell House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
0.9 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#1 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#4 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.7 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#3 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#2 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#3 of 49 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.2 mi away
York Lodge
York Lodge
#2 of 57 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wavell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavell House

Property: Wavell House
Address: 9 Wavell Road | Highlands, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wavell House is a calm and gracious old home of unusual architecture, which has been converted to a private guest house. Modern style rooms, all en-suite, with desk and mini bar, own entrances on to large natural garden of indigenous trees and lawns. Price is for bed and breakfast but other meals may be ordered. Very suitable for small conference and events. Long stay apartments available, contact us directly for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wavell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing