We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chicken in Harare”

"Alo Alo" Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 163 Restaurants in Harare
Price range: $16 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A beautiful setting, a home away from home. Offering delicious a la carte meals lunch and dinner as well as a lunch special menu served 7 days a week. Also open for breakfast, teas, coffees and cake. You will be warmly welcomed by adrian and lesley
USA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Chicken in Harare”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is our favorite restaurant in Harare. The service is great, the atmosphere is amazing, and their chicken is spectacular. My wife gets something different every time, but I stick with the Chicken Maryland....can't go wrong with breaded chick, corn fritters, bacon, and their potatoes. Definitely worth a trip...you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jklancke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    65
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Alo Alo - Goodbye”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

On a recent Sunday, (25th November), my wife and I arrived at the restaurant about 11.30 am, to have a coffee, and perhaps brunch, if something took our fancy. We had been impressed with the new location, and had been determined to try it out for sometime.

On arrival, we were surprised, but not dismayed to see it completely empty, but open. We walked up to the door, and asked the waiter just inside, if we could sit outside under the trees. He told us that the restaurant was fully booked, and that he had been instructed to accept no more customers. I was dumbstruck, looking at the expanse of emptiness, and queried whether we could have a coffee at least - we had just driven 10km to visit the place! He said he would check with management, and disappeared into the back of the premises.

After a short wait, with no tangible signs of life, we left, quite disappointed. I have no problem, with somewhere being fully booked, but surely you are not expecting a simultaneous arrival of about 30 tables of people, for lunch, at 11.30 am. And if it is a private function occupying the whole restaurant, put up a sign saying so.

As it was, we went off to one of our old favourites, had coffee and brunch, spent about $25.00, and were done in less than an hour.

Too often we hear the complaint in Harare that business is slow, times are hard, but in reality guys, try listening to the customers, and what they want or need on a regular basis. Its not always about the minutest detail of the taste of the food, but how this works for me.

I have never given a venue a slating before, but this was my unfortunate experience here. No one was rude, nor unpleasant, and there could well be factors I have no means of comprehending. To mitigate these however, keep the staff in the loop, and be flexible as well.

I will return, hopefully to find them actually seating customers, and will review them again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteveHarris59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“"ok food and the blessing: open on Sundays!"”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I like Alo Alo especially the way they have done the decorations. The service is efficient and the food comes fast. The food is not the best in town but they try their best. It is a bit pricey but not as expensive as victoria 22. The only thing strange I did not like "sliced banana on a rice plate with curry". The owners make every effort to serve you even if the kitchen is about to close at 2pm.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gitane_in_zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beira, Mozambique
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good ambience, service and food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I already have been in this restaurant when it was placed in Tongogara Av. I loved the food.
Now in Arundel I already have been twice with my wife and friends.
The ambience improved with a very beautiful decoration. The food is really very good and with an impressive presentation.
If you are in Harare I recommend to try this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferrmendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“tastefull & cosy”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Behind a shopping centre in Arundel you find this nice restaurant. They receive you very pleasantly and feel quickly at home. The food is good for the price they serve. A place to come back and enjoy the surroundings with good food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed "Alo Alo" Restaurant also viewed

Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
 

Been to "Alo Alo" Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing