We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where ordinary people seek and experience true hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Reviewed April 8, 2010

-Am a american but now in zimbabwe and i usuall y come on weekends just to relax and everything abuot the hotel is just mwa-a,you haave the chance of meeting people and networks.I also enjoy the piano that is played there every saturday night and sunday night.Please keep that up.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guyell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 213 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2010

I got the corporate rate of a local company, 90 US$ w/o breakfast which would have cost me another 20 US$. The room was spacious, big bed, however, too soft with worn out springs, nevertheless I slept well> There was a very, very soft couch too, almost disappeared in it. The hotel appears a bit tired. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When I checked what was on offer for breakfast the next morning I considered it not worth the 20 US$. Having the breakfast in town wasn't a good idea either as the restaurant I chose officially opens at 8 am but until shortly before 9 am I just got tea but no food and had to leave hungry as I had an appointment at 9 am. The setting of the hotel is in a nice green area and as the headquarter of the ruling party is nearby many conferences are held in this hotel. The cost for internet access is prohibitively high! The drive into town is 5 US$.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilovolt500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

This place was terriable it had nasty food and a nasty pool, the service was great but everything else was just terriable. Oh dont order there Chicken Because there were roaches in mine. Then i Got food Poisoning.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank akballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

The service at the hotel was great. Everyone was quick to assist us. As we checked in we were offered fresh passion juice. We had a suite and the room was your average 3 star hotel in the US. Dinner at Asian themed "Benihana Style Restaurant" was a bore. The lady cooking was so lifeless and unimpressive.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nimokui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

This hotel is clean, and averagly maitained. The rooms as well as other areas all around the hotel, unfotunately, havent been redone in absolutely years, and it shows. It gives kind of an oldish boring feel to it, with phones that hardly work. Room service took ages, and only to find out its the wrong order they've delivered.
The strangest bit is the Pressing service, you call them at any time of the day - or night- to request for an iron, and they say all their irons are out with other guests, BUT they could come and get our clothes and press them for us for free. I wonder why, a hefty tip perhaps? We paid bed and breakfats, breakfast closes a few mintues before 10am, and if you do make it, it consists of tea, coffee and cornflakes, if you want fruit or croissants, etc etc, you have to pay for them seperately. After the breakfast, the waitres, even after having told her our room number, we ended paying extra.

And the icing on the cake, when we were checking out, they hit us with a big breakfast bill had by a party of 7 in the restaurant, it was signed by them and put on our room bill. We were already late for our flight, had no choice but to pay. Disapointing.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bellefille24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2006

I was very worried on arrival in Zim , due to all the comments that you hear. However I should`nt have worried , the first face off the plane was all smiles and this did`nt stop for my entire stay. The Rainbow Towers was a great place to stay, the menus and the staff very freindly and there seemed to be a lot of painting and redecorating happening, and when I asked I was shown the new areas and all the new touches - Great
As to things not available even spending time in Harare, the shop`s were full and I did`nt experience any power cuts - even though I left JHB we had a few!
I was also told that when I return in Jan they will have butler service in place. So I will be back

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank capman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

For a number of reasons, the website to the Rainbow Towers is not yet active. I book reservations for scientists traveling there on behalf of Columbia University, and booked at this hotel when it was the Harare, Sheraton. It is the hotel at reasonable cost that our scientists prefer. I kept getting directed to travel agent sites that charges 40-50 USD more per night for a room, and they wanted the full fee in advance via bank transfer, which is irregular for US travelers and made our organizational accountants a bit unsettled as well.

I finally contacted the corporate site directly and got the following very helpful information:

Hotel email which is (---)
The Rainbow Towers
Tel: +263-4-772633
Fax 263-4-774648

Eventually Therainbowtowers will the the website through which to book.

The sales agent, Rebecca Gambiza, was exceptionally helpful to me and was able to ensure the scientists I serve were respectfully and promptly accommodated. She made me feel as though our repeat business is valued, and they knew we were regular customers (so records and staff may have been carried over from the Harare Sheraton ownership, for which I'm grateful!)

THANKS!!

NJK

Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
2  Thank neighbor_nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
1.1 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 14 in Harare
495 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cresta Jameson Hotel
Cresta Jameson Hotel
#8 of 14 in Harare
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 14 in Harare
292 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Towers Hotel

Address: 1 Pennefather Avenue, Harare, Zimbabwe (Formerly Sheraton Harare)
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: $87 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainbow Towers Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-Star Rainbow Towers Hotel and Conference Centre is the premier choice in Harare, Zimbabwe's sunshine capital city, for major business and social events. It is located on the fringe of the vibrant city centre and regally set in spacious landscaped gardens.The 304-room Hotel, formerly Sheraton Harare, opened in 1985 and regularly hosts Heads-of-State and many other VIPs of distinction. The main auditorium holds 4,500 people for a state-of-the-art conference or live show and the whole complex has a plethora of ancillary conference, exhibition and other multi-purpose function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainbow Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Towers Hotel Harare
Rainbow Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing