We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decent Stay------------- In Harare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Reviewed June 26, 2013

It was known as Sheraton Harare and later it was changed to Rainbow towers, A huge hotel with a good lively lobby. But it needs renovation really the rooms are in bad shape A/C are not working, Door lock are always out of order need to call front desk to open the door manually every time.

The best part was breakfast with good options which was quite good and not to forget lovely hotel staff who are always there to greet.

Room Tip: Must go in for rooms on the higher floor pool facing
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruks r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Rainbow Towers Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is quite good in terms of location. It gives one a great place to do business or pleasure in Harare. But the place is in need of renovations to bring it in line with international standards. Though its marketed as 5 star, one should note that this rating is historical. On the ground the hotel is more like a Dubai 3 star. Rooms are clean but then we stayed in the executive suites. Service was good. Noise levels are low as the hotel is not in the cbd proper.
cost is ok but shud be aligned to standards.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIllMoyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was originally a Sheraton years ago and was probably a top hotel at that time. Although the exterior is still passable, the interior room fixtures are in need of a major overhaul, it has been a long time since I ran into old, frizzy, smelly, 80's style hotel blankets! The staff is friendly and helpful, which somewhat makes up for the rooms. In a country that had gone through decades of turmoil, I don't think one can ask for too much. Even the Vice Premier of China stayed there during his state visit. Food is inexpensive but Zimbabwe must have the toughest beef in the world, order fish, do not order beef, and never go to the tapanyaki. Next time I go, I'll try some of the higher ranking accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKKC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The food was great, the staff were very friendly and helpful- I would unreservedly recommend this to others. The staff went out of its way to ensure that we were comfortable. Our conference was a very wonderful experience.
I am planning to take my family there some time so the children can enjoy the hospitality and the good food. The fruit dessert was to die for with veru fresh fruit. I must say I was pleasantly surprised

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buhlebenkosi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel staff’s are friendly, food and beverage is not too expensive. Cleaning and maintenance can do better. Most of the equipment in the gym are defective, poor pool maintenance. It took over an hour to deliver the room service. Rooms are average.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamaleesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for almost 20 years. I generally stay three times per year ten nights per stay.
The Hotel is in desperate Need of renovation especially the bedrooms and restaurants. Nothing's changed in 20 years so its all looking dated and worn out.

The only reason I still stay there is the STAFF - they are absolutely first class.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better. 10th floor upwards
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

From the old days of the Sheraton, this hotel has sadly gone downhill.
Staff are friendly, it's not too expensive and the bar and Teryaki Resteraunt very nice.

However he rooms let this place down. Old bathrooms and I needed to repair the wardrobe in order to remain safe every time I entered my room.

The pool are is a disgrace with leaves and dirt all over the place.

Ok for a quick stopover, but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
1.1 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 14 in Harare
484 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
410 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 14 in Harare
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
1.3 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 14 in Harare
316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Towers Hotel

Address: 1 Pennefather Avenue | Samora Machel Avenue West, Harare, Zimbabwe (Formerly Sheraton Harare)
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: $88 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainbow Towers Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-Star Rainbow Towers Hotel and Conference Centre is the premier choice in Harare, Zimbabwe's sunshine capital city, for major business and social events. It is located on the fringe of the vibrant city centre and regally set in spacious landscaped gardens.The 304-room Hotel, formerly Sheraton Harare, opened in 1985 and regularly hosts Heads-of-State and many other VIPs of distinction. The main auditorium holds 4,500 people for a state-of-the-art conference or live show and the whole complex has a plethora of ancillary conference, exhibition and other multi-purpose function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rainbow Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Towers Hotel Harare
Rainbow Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing