We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fading grandeur”
Review of Meikles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meikles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2007

I visited Harare in April 2007. Zimbabwe has suffered several years of hyper inflation and economic decline. The grand hotel had less than 30% occupancy rates. It showed in the buffet table made of limited varieties for breakfast and lunch. The dinner at the La Fontaine was okay. My room was splendid in design. spacious with lovely colours. However the carpet was worn out and there was a musty feel that resulted in my waking up with a stuffed nose.
The grand hotel has seen better days. I hope business picks up so some overdue refurbishment can be implemented.
Visitors need to learn how to manage the parallel and the official forex rate ;the gap is 75:1. Pay all the extras at the hotel with Zim dollars to avoid the inconvenience of being killed by the official rate as you check out.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mzalendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 492 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2006

What a magnificent diamond amongst the rough. It was an oasis to drop my luggage at this hotel. Truly five star from room to lobby to restaurants.

I am very particular if you read my other reviews and no other hotel has gotten a full 5 star. My first room in one of the buildings was cold and I was transferred to another differently decorated room. The room was spacious and bathroom had all my amenities and great view. BEAUTIFUL, BEAUTISOME (smile).

The staff were all helpful. BUT DO NOT FORGET WHERE YOU ARE Harare is a metropolis and being a third world country thieves and robbers can be found anywhere. I would pay $250-300/night but no more.

STAY AWAY FROM THE MAKRET OUT FRONT they will hound you if you show the slightest bit of interest. My husband and I decided to walk through the park to get back to the hotel and it was our biggest mistake. We were ambushed and I lost my husband in the zeal of the sellers, I cannot believe at my age I could feel so afraid. I found him in about 30sec to a min but it felt like many mins. I had about 10-15 people surrounding me pushing products in my face while I called for my husband, wow. They followed us all the way to the hotel door. I do not know how they can make sales like this because you would just want to run and get away from that site. They will try to sell you counterfeit Zim Dollars. My husband speaks the language and we still were at risk. TRUST NO ONE.

As I said the hotel is an oasis in the midst of possible trouble a waiting.

However, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the HOTEL.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRAVELINGLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

The first time I stayed in Meikles was in about 1983 and I have been back a number of times over the years (though I have also stayed in what was the Sheraton in Harare). Given the current state of most things in Zimbabwe I was pleasantly surprised at how they have been able to keep things going at Meikles. After a mix-up over my booking and being allocated the wrong type of room I finally settled into my Club room a day later than planned. It was the same size as the other room but with slightly better amenities and some snacks and water provided in the room in the evening. The staff in the Club areas were very helpful and the fresh scrambled eggs at breakfast in the lounge were excellent (you have to sign for the food but it doesn't appear on the bill). It appeared that only the first drink in the evening was "free" but non-Zimbabwean wine was available (a great relief). The park view rooms are quieter (the ones at the back suffer from noise, the origin of which is unclear, but it can be disturbing). There were a couple of things on the bill at the end which should not have been there but they were removed without fuss. I wasn't looking forward to being in Harare but in the circumstances I think Meikles is doing OK and I will definitely ask to stay there next time and on a Club floor.

Stayed: October 2006
3  Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

The facilities are quite good, but me and apparently some other people from my company had some MONEY STOLEN FROM THEIR ROOMS. In my case I had some USD stolen from the suitcase which was locked on the small lock. There are safes in the room, but they can be locked only with bank cards, which may lead potentially even to bigger problem. Having people sneaking in your suitcases is already very unpleasant, but the ATTITUDE of the managerial staff towards the problem is even more OUTRAGEOUS. While Security Manager did not do anything for a day, failed to report the case to police until I checked out and later produce completely false report to his management most likely hoping it would not be sent to me and it would cover his case, the Quality Manager instead of showing any signs of regret that it happened in this luxury hotel, constantly asked me "what did I expected her to do" instead of informing me on their planned action to address the case and protect future customers, and finally accused me of not having evidence of that I had money and that they disappeared from my room. I have never met more rude treatment of the clients in my full of travel life and although I will be going to Harare again, there is out of question that I will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank VicDjuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

My wife and I used this hotel on our honeymoon and boy what an experience. The look of the park from the balcony was wonderful. We had the Park Honeymoon Suite which was very spacious and comfortable.
The wooden theme in the suite gave it a very prestigious feel. Room Service was great and the staff were very friendly. Never got to use the indoor pool and gym facilities but i am sure they were great as well. Highly recommended!

Rodney Chawota
Health Practitioner - UK

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rodney94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2005

My family and I recently spent a week at the Meikles Hotel in Harare.
It's a big hotel with the hospitality more commonly found in small family owned establishments.

We had "Park View" rooms. They were average (and overpriced for the money), but the the view was quite calming. If you are watching pennies, skip these rooms and take the regular rooms. You can always take a walk outside to see the Park (which is unlit at night anyway).

This was not my first visit to the hotel and it is definitely a shadow of its former self. The service in the main restaurants was good, but occasionally the staff in the lounge dining area would forget to take orders.

Many of the items on the menu were not available as they had to be imported and there was simply no foreign currency available to import them.
The fuel shortage in the country is severe, so the location of the hotel makes it convenient to get around town on foot. The Eastgate shopping center nextdoor is mediocre at best. The better shopping centers like Arundel Village and Sam Levy's Village are in the suburbs and require a car to get to. If you can find gasoline, they are worth visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank tovakare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: A torre norte é mais nova
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThamMpofu, Director of Sales at Meikles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
0.9 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
480 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 14 in Harare
288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#10 of 14 in Harare
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 14 in Harare
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikles Hotel

Address: Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: $128 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meikles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915 Meikles Hotel has been regarded as Zimbabwe's premier 5-star luxury hotel. It is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World and in 2013 was voted Best City Hotel for the 19th successive year by the Association of Zimbabwe Travel Agents (AZTA). Gracious charm is the hallmark of this legendary hotel. Meikles is situated in Harare's Central Business District overlooking Africa Unity Square gardens. A majestic US$9m revitalization was completed in October 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meikles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meikles Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing