We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of Meikles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meikles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

With Zimbabwe economy not exactly booming and investors not really looking at coming back anytime soon this hotel is still impressive and beats many hotels in booming African countries. Great big room, impressive bathroom and really comfortable bed. The service was excellent, people know there jobs and are efficient and friendly, great breakfast with both order and buffet. Bar could be a little more modern looked a little used. Food was excellent.

Room Tip: High up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwant999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello Maputo. Your full-house of five stars in your review does Meikles proud, especially as we can see you are an experienced international traveler with 88 reviews, including 42 hotels, under your belt. A comfortable bed...excellent service...fine food...you found all these elements very satisfying and awarded us top marks. Proudly, of our last 24 Trip Advisor reviews 21 have been four or five star - a reflection of the Meikles pedigree that will see us turn 100 next year. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    193
    76
    22
    6
See reviews for
29
44
34
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is my second stay with the Meikles. Both trips were for business. Once before the face-lift in 2013 and another time after the face-lift.

While it is true that some of the fixtures in the hotel are rather dated, one has to bear in mind this hotel is almost 100 years old. If you are looking for the futuristic feel of a capsule hotel in Tokyo, you are going to be disappointed. The aesthetic of the hotel will appeal to anyone who enjoys a throwback to the gentrified colonial days of Rhodesia.

The hotel meets all the basic requirements of any good business hotel. The shuttle service from the airport to the hotel is about USD 25 and reasonable. They also accept credit cards (which is rare in Zimbabwe). The bedsheets are clean, soft and have a reasonably high thread-count. There is adequately hot running water available instantly and a bath if you have had a long day. The hotel also provides all the usual amenities you'd expect of a five-star hotel in the bathroom. You will even find laundry soap provided. The room size is generous and there is digital safe for you to store your belongings if you don't fancy carrying your passport around the streets of Harare. The La Fontaine Grill Room is superb in all respects, as is The Explorer's Club.

What is a distinguishing feature of the hotel (compared to other hotels in other cities which may have fancier fixtures and newer furniture) is the stellar service. The level of good service at the Meikles is quite simply, in a league of its own.

One of my best memories at the hotel is at the Club Lounge (now located on the 11th floor of the new wing). The head butler, Mr Collins Tsakatsa is an institution unto himself. He has incredible memory in relation to practically every guest that he serves. I travelled with the same companions on both trips and he was able to remember I was the missing member of the group when my companions arrived a day before me. When Mr Tsakatsa serves you, you understand what good service really means.

The team in the Club Lounge were the very definition of hospitable and pulled out all the stops for us when they found out we were preparing for a trial. We were plied with continuous and perfectly-executed delicious food throughout our time in the Club Lounge. Special mention should be made of Ms Kuda Banda, the Club Manager who was not only convivial but also very obliging of our many clerical requests.

Room Tip: Try one of the rooms in the new wing but check first with front desk to seek if they have sorted out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irreverent-scribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We take great delight in your very generous review and thank you in Singapore. Both Kuda and Collins are beaming from ear-to-ear and they - along with the rest of our committed and happy team - are inspired to proudly represent the Meikles legacy.

It sounds like you spent many long hours in the Club Lounge preparing documents; therefore you well and truly tested the team and appreciated their great merits. WE turn 100 next year with several special occasions planned and I therefore hope you will be back on business to experience these celebrations. In the meanwhile our entire team is striving to continually lift and sustain our levels of service so that we gain an army of global followers. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

To be fair, I have no experience of other hotels in Harare, but then that applies elsewhere too, but because Meikles is promoted as a five star hotel I guess it would benefit from comparison..

Meikles nearly makes it, but not quite. For me, the essence of five star quality is service. This is generally good, but there were too many occasions waiting on the pool deck for someone to appear so that I could order a drink... 15 minutes on one occasion... Breakfast service is a bit chaotic and sometimes surly.... It seems that they get a bit overwhelmed by a bunch of guests turning up for breakfast...

Otherwise all good.. staff are generally friendly and efficient (notwithstanding the above) food is good, hotel very clean, rooms and beds comfortable...

Maybe 4.25 stars?

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello Andrew and thank you for your review and candid comments that are very helpful to me and my senior team as we strive to continually enhance our levels of service. We have met with our teams to discuss your concerns and observations that we take very seriously. Good luck to England in next week's World Cup in Brazil! Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel seems to be riding a little on its reputation.
The rooms are excellent - comfortable beds, linen, good size, TV channels are good and rooms were very clean.
Similary the general decor in the hotel is appealing. The old colonial feel comes through.
The staff really tried hard and had nothing to complain about.
However, the food was stuck in the 80s. I know it is probably hard getting decent ingredients in Zimbabwe nowadays, but nothwithstanding the food was poorly cooked. Dinner in the restaurant was disappointing and expensive. A med rare rump was ordered - received a tiny overcooked piece of tough meat with over-cooked vegetables my grandma would have liked.
Breakfast is also at best average. For $25 you would expect a world class breakfast

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 126EriktheGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Erik. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. While we are obviously happy with your five-star ratings of our rooms, the sleep quality and cleanliness we have taken due note of your other comments which I am following up with our development chef. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel was nice and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. My son had his nice comfortable real cot bed not the ones found in most hotels. When I was having trouble with internet in my room I was changed rooms until I got the room that I wanted and had good internet connection. Definitely staying there again when I visit Harare next month.
Colin Gorogodo

Room Tip: Park view rooms . South wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello to you Colin and family in London...sunny days there, we hear, must be very welcome. Your five-star review of your stay at Meikles Hotel was read out at our daily key staff meeting as it succinctly covers all the things that are important to our guests - cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff, etc. Also the quality of such small things as the cot bed that you mentioned; thank you.

Of the 10 Trip Advisor reviews posted by our guests during the month of May all were either four or five stars which really inspires our team to keep striving to attain even higher levels. Thank you for your valuable contribution and advice to fellow travellers. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Meikles is a hotel that allows you to enter into an old-world hotel experience. It has paneled walls in the corridors and an ambiance which supports an old colonial feel. The rooms are clean and modernized, TV more than adequate and the service level is good. It is very well located although there seem to be few restaurant options in the area. The hotel restaurant was rather expensive but service was good. Breakfasts were adequate without being exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you Andrew for awarding us four stars in your review. I note that you have previously reviewed properties in 23 different cities and that therefore makes you a very discerning guest. I'm delighted you enjoyed our traditional charm and elegance while also taking due and concerned note of your comments regarding your dining experiences, which I have discussed in our daily meeting with our international-class Development Chef. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaounde
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay there in mid- April 2014 in the south wing. I really enjoyed being there both rooms and the service and the personnel too. Actually the choice was made for me by those inviting me but i was not disappointed at all.
Ideally located in the centre of the city with various supermarkets and shopping points. It's a place where you can make good business and deals. break fast is always on time if not in time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PANGOP A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello Cameroon. Your short, sharp review does us proud as does your 4-star rating, especially as you stayed in our south wing which is yet to be refurbished to standards and luxury recently attained in our new north wing. We'll happily return your generosity - at our team meeting today we invoked the ancestral spirits to smile on Cameroon's bid for the World Cup starting next week in Brazil. We not only urged Cameroon to beat Brazil but to also finish top of your tough group that also includes Croatia and Mexico. And if Cameroon wins the World Cup we'll all celebrate joyously with you...and I will be happy to award you two nights in our luxury North Wing with our compliments next time you come to visit. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
3.2 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 13 in Harare
381 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 13 in Harare
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#3 of 13 in Harare
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#5 of 13 in Harare
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#8 of 13 in Harare
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikles Hotel

Property: Meikles Hotel
Address: Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meikles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915 Meikles Hotel has been regarded as Zimbabwe's premier 5-star luxury hotel. It is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World and in 2013 was voted Best City Hotel for the 19th successive year by the Association of Zimbabwe Travel Agents (AZTA). Gracious charm is the hallmark of this legendary hotel. Meikles is situated in Harare's Central Business District overlooking Africa Unity Square gardens. A majestic US$9m revitalization was completed in October 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meikles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meikles Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing