We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay in Harare”
Review of Meikles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meikles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Harare”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Having first stayed here several years ago I was pleasantly surprised to find that the place has been refurbished, the room was excellent with good facilities and the staff members I dealt with were genuinely friendly and helpful. Will stay here again next time I am in Harare.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Pete. Thank you for your very positive review that includes, as 99.9% always do, a comment on our friendly staff. However, I am delighted that you carefully chose to insert the word "genuine" because open friendliness is, indeed, at the very heart of the culture our local people wherever you go. They don't need to be specially trained inside a 5-star hotel for the broadest smiles and genuine welcome our guests receive.

Thanks also for placing maximum emphasis on the quality of the newly refurbished rooms and on our location in the heart of the city overlooking a park - sheer convenience for the business person. Your warm comments have added to our pedigree of distinction as we move towards our Centenary next year when we hope you will visit again. - Tinashe Munjoma (General manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    191
    75
    22
    6
See reviews for
29
44
34
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Shepstone
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at Meikles for Valentines night and the staff and room were out of this World. So much effort went into decorating the room for us. The new rooms are fantastic and the view of Harare Park is the stuff that dreams are made of. The Meikles staff are the best I have ever enjoyed anywhere. from check in to check out it is superb.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaniaPortShepstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Chania. Your "full-house" of five stars is a powerful tribute to Meikles Hotel and particularly to our passionately committed staff. If there was an Olympiad for "world class service" I feel sure our happy team would strike the Gold! I shall share your accolade with them and know they will be delighted that their efforts are so appreciated - we know they are a critical part of our success as a luxury hotel, heading for our century in 2015. With kind regards, Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Recommedarion from some south African friends.. Thanks to everyone at the hotel... Fantastic staff from checkin to the rooftop bar/pool... Made our stay...

A great hotel in Harare to explore from with great service and nice facilities..with knowledable staff who were always willing to help.

Good to pace to chill.... With the rooftop pool. The decor is higher than I expected and reminds me of older hotels in Europe.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello to you in the UK. Your lavish review does us proud - thank you. Helpful staff who go the extra mile with a smile are a huge asset and they are even more inspired by praise such as yours. Did you know that we celebrate our centenary next year and have many festivities planned, so I hope you will return to visit us. Our new Meikles website goes live in the next day or so and so I hope you will follow our progress there and on our social media platforms as we "head for a hundred." We hope the weather improves for you all in the UK soon and that you enjoy a glorious summer. Sahwira from Zimbabwe! Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Meikels Hotel always delivers. I have stayed at Meikels many times and always happy with the staff and service. Rooms are good, especially the newly upgraded section of the hotel. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff and you can always be assured of a friendly smile around each corner.

Internet connection is very good, although a little annoying having to re-enter a new code everyday, which can only be obtained by going to/calling the front desk. I am glad they are no longer charging for internet.

The only element of the hotel that let's it down is the food. Breakfast is not 5 star quality/variety and the meals at their main restaurant aren't either. This is rather unfortunate as this is an excellent property in Harare.

I highly recommend staying at Meikels when in Harare.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Luan. Your review headline ALWAYS GREAT inspires us with confidence and resolve to keep on striving to do better and better. The fact that you have stayed with Meikles many times in the past and continue to rate us so highly is greatly appreciated and of high value because you are not just a one-night visitor and write objectively.

Again and again we are proud that our friendly and service-oriented staff gain high acclaim from guests from all over the world - it is a powerful and genuine asset. However, you mentioned that the food did not match your expectations on occasion. In this regard I would highly value your feedback to me personally so that I may discuss it with our development chef and our first-rate team of chefs. They are busy right now designing and creating new menus and your ideas would therefore be very timely. Our best regards to you in Dubai. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager) generalmanager@meikles.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed at the Meikles a couple of times while on business in December. The rooms are certainly a good size, very clean and the staff are very friendly. Internet worked fine, not super-fast but certainly good enough for general use.

My only recommendation would be for the hotel to include at least a small bottle of water in the room for guests and perhaps some tea and coffee facilities. I know there is room service but sometimes the less hassle option is more preferable.

Would certainly recommend for business travel, safe, clean and central.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Steve, our sincere thanks for your positive review of your stay at Meikles Hotel. To answer your suggestions -

• We do provide complimentary bottled water in all rooms. However, we had moved the water from the coffee table, which is visible, to the mini bar cabinet to keep it cold in the hot summer months. Guests would presume that it is being charged together with the bar contents, thus we have since put the water back on the coffee table to avoid such confusion.

• In-room Tea/Coffee facilities are offered in the newly refurbished North Wing rooms, while we are now working on this facility being installed in all South Wing rooms.

In October last year we unveiled our US$9m re-styling of the North Wing and most public areas and I trust you enjoyed this revitalization. We are committed to maintaining a constant fine-tuning of various elements so that we reach our centenary in 2015 with the greatest sense of pride. My best regards, Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very warm service. And amazing drum sticks. I liked the high tea as well. I was there around Christmas time and the decor was amazing..

I used the gym as well which was in the newer wing of the hotel. Lots of fresh fruit and water for after and during the work out.

The internet connection was great, though lots of codes needed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Guten Tag Tindi. We greatly appreciate your review of your stay at Meikles Hotel. We take great delight in the string of positives that you list - warm service, high tea, decor, gym, fruit, internet - and are happy that we transcended your expectations.

You rate our service 5 star and all the rest 4 star and yet overall we somehow drop to 3 star. This means that there must be some aspects that you were not entirely happy about and I personally would appreciate learning of these so that we might look at implementing solutions. generalmanager@meikles.com

I hope that you will stay with us again and follow us on various channels as we move towards our Centenary in 2015. With warmest regards from Zimbabwe - Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

During my recent stay at the Meikles Hotel, Harare, Zimbabwe I was pleasantly surprised by the high levels of service that we received from the professional and competent staff. The rooms are spacious and clean and the food is excellent.
Well done

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Your succinct review is well appreciated by our team at Meikles, especially the eye-catching headline of EXCELLENT HOTEL and your rating of five stars. Our warm and friendly staff seem to take pride of place in almost every single review and we are proud of that. Indeed, many have served Meikles with distinction and pride for more than 20 years and we shall feature them in the next few months on our social media and blog sites. Tinahse Munjoma (general manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
3.2 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#5 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
0.4 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#8 of 13 in Harare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikles Hotel

Property: Meikles Hotel
Address: Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meikles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915 Meikles Hotel has been regarded as Zimbabwe's premier 5-star luxury hotel. It is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World and in 2013 was voted Best City Hotel for the 19th successive year by the Association of Zimbabwe Travel Agents (AZTA). Gracious charm is the hallmark of this legendary hotel. Meikles is situated in Harare's Central Business District overlooking Africa Unity Square gardens. A majestic US$9m revitalization was completed in October 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meikles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meikles Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing