We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Meikles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meikles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This is good hotel and good employees.The Restaurant food and service is very good typical colonial style.Restaurant staff very warm.Breakfast is basic staff stiff.Bar is good.Lobby restaurant is basic as well the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SE s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Meikles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 483 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Fantastic time at a five star hotel. A delightful get - away for us both. Pampered and treated like Royalty. All requests were attended too with speedy and efficient courtesy. The Restaurant facilities were great and room service speedy. Accommodation (rooms) were comfortable and clean. A definite recommendation for a return Stay !

Room Tip: Overlook the Park on upper floors
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I found the hotel to be tired and the staff disinterested. The room we had on a non smoking floor was large, comfortable and clean. I don't like showers in the bath - I think that a 5* hotel should give you a choice between a room with a bath or a shower. We had dinner in the Explorers Bar as the main restaurant was not open - BIG mistake! Our waiter was drunk (he smelled so strongly of alcohol and was unable to write down our orders). The food was terrible. The breakfast saved the day, it was outstanding and the staff were very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at Meikles on 280613. The hotel is "old school" as some of the comments on Trip Advisor suggest, but it remains in immaculate condition. It has been very well maintained, it's spotless and the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NadiraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I know that the hotel isn't what it used to be in its heyday, but the service is still superb and it retains it charm. Checkin is fast and efficient. I arrived in my room to fresh flowers and fruit and..... the Wifi works!
The staff are the biggest asset though. Nothing is too much trouble and they are friendly and efficient. I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiereClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Oh how the mighty fall - Meikles was a great bastion of service and quality or decades in this part of Africa now called Zimbabwe. However the deprivations of over 30 years of misrule and corruption have of course naturally spread into the hotel. Unfortunately there are a lot of things now wrong with Meikles but also a number of things that remain excellent despite the ravages of the destroyed economy.

The rooms are alright and thats about it. they are tired, need a refit, need a mini-bar and generally are showing their age but remain generally comfortable. Internet way way over priced - I thought I had bought it for a year but alas only for a couple of days !!

The Explorers Bar is a great refuge from the streets of Harare and serves decent pub-grub and a cold beer but service is slow and a little dilatory.

The Main Restaurant on the first floor is a delight of service and food that sparkles with reminiscences of the 1960's - and I say this in a good way. Excellent steaks and do leave space for a crepe suzette (yes they still make them at the table !!!) Brilliant entertainment. Top marks to the staff in this restaurant - a true pleasure untainted by time.

Did not try the buffet restaurant also on the first floor as I had been warned off - it was closed for renovations anyway.

However Meikles is worth a stay but just be prepared for annoyances - staff generally friendly and efficent but the odd ZANU politico seems to have established themselves somehow. However most of the locals were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

I will go back despite what I have said !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enoteque_Medellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

5 Star rates??? Internet hardly works, rooms are old, new wing taking too long to complete, out of stocks on the menu in the restaurant. The buffet is simply a no no. airconditioning centrally controlled and frustrating.
In the old days we had a doorman, now we have a security gaurd.
I have mentioned these issues before whilst at the hotel, with no feedback from management!
And above all you are charging top dollar

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reid25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
0.9 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
443 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 14 in Harare
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
1.1 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#9 of 14 in Harare
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 14 in Harare
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikles Hotel

Address: Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: $114 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meikles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915 Meikles Hotel has been regarded as Zimbabwe's premier 5-star luxury hotel. It is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World and in 2013 was voted Best City Hotel for the 19th successive year by the Association of Zimbabwe Travel Agents (AZTA). Gracious charm is the hallmark of this legendary hotel. Meikles is situated in Harare's Central Business District overlooking Africa Unity Square gardens. A majestic US$9m revitalization was completed in October 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meikles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meikles Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing