We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to Leading Hotels of The World Standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Meikles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meikles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
263 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Not up to Leading Hotels of The World Standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I found the hotel to be tired and the staff disinterested. The room we had on a non smoking floor was large, comfortable and clean. I don't like showers in the bath - I think that a 5* hotel should give you a choice between a room with a bath or a shower. We had dinner in the Explorers Bar as the main restaurant was not open - BIG mistake! Our waiter was drunk (he smelled so strongly of alcohol and was unable to write down our orders). The food was terrible. The breakfast saved the day, it was outstanding and the staff were very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    189
    75
    22
    6
See reviews for
29
43
33
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at Meikles on 280613. The hotel is "old school" as some of the comments on Trip Advisor suggest, but it remains in immaculate condition. It has been very well maintained, it's spotless and the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I know that the hotel isn't what it used to be in its heyday, but the service is still superb and it retains it charm. Checkin is fast and efficient. I arrived in my room to fresh flowers and fruit and..... the Wifi works!
The staff are the biggest asset though. Nothing is too much trouble and they are friendly and efficient. I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiereClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Oh how the mighty fall - Meikles was a great bastion of service and quality or decades in this part of Africa now called Zimbabwe. However the deprivations of over 30 years of misrule and corruption have of course naturally spread into the hotel. Unfortunately there are a lot of things now wrong with Meikles but also a number of things that remain excellent despite the ravages of the destroyed economy.

The rooms are alright and thats about it. they are tired, need a refit, need a mini-bar and generally are showing their age but remain generally comfortable. Internet way way over priced - I thought I had bought it for a year but alas only for a couple of days !!

The Explorers Bar is a great refuge from the streets of Harare and serves decent pub-grub and a cold beer but service is slow and a little dilatory.

The Main Restaurant on the first floor is a delight of service and food that sparkles with reminiscences of the 1960's - and I say this in a good way. Excellent steaks and do leave space for a crepe suzette (yes they still make them at the table !!!) Brilliant entertainment. Top marks to the staff in this restaurant - a true pleasure untainted by time.

Did not try the buffet restaurant also on the first floor as I had been warned off - it was closed for renovations anyway.

However Meikles is worth a stay but just be prepared for annoyances - staff generally friendly and efficent but the odd ZANU politico seems to have established themselves somehow. However most of the locals were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

I will go back despite what I have said !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enoteque_Medellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

5 Star rates??? Internet hardly works, rooms are old, new wing taking too long to complete, out of stocks on the menu in the restaurant. The buffet is simply a no no. airconditioning centrally controlled and frustrating.
In the old days we had a doorman, now we have a security gaurd.
I have mentioned these issues before whilst at the hotel, with no feedback from management!
And above all you are charging top dollar

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reid25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a convenient hotel in downtown Harare so I end up staying there when traveling to Zimbabwe for work. The service is good although it does feel a bit like its best days are behind it. Some things are pricey for no reason, e.g., the only way to get a bottle of water at night is to order room service with a $5 delivery fee. They also don't allow you to bring in food from outside, which is inconvenient for longer term stays and puzzling given that the rooms have fridges. I was sitting in the lobby one night and actually watched a guest get into an argument with the concierge over whether or not he could bring in a small bag of breakfast items for the next morning (he lost the argument).

Over all, the hotel is clean and safe and generally nice, it just doesn't quite live up to its billing. It has always been busy when I have stayed there - lots of business travelers, activity in the conference rooms, and a few tourists.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank muttypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is currently undergoing renovation. Despite that, most of the restaurants and bars are good and give you that old world charm if you are looking out for that. one can make out that this place exuded class at a certain point in time - that is the problem - things seem to have got stuck. The staff can certainly be a bit more friendly. some of them were very nice and went out of their way to make you feel special, happy and "at home" - but not all. for a hotel of its class maybe that should be a base level expectation.

the rooms are nice, the bed is good and soft, so are the pillows. for me the let down was the toilet. the shower was not working. i stayed there 3 nights and brought this to the attention of the front desk twice - nothing happened - despite the front desk lady remembering me by sight and the fact that i had asked for the shower to be repaired.

the buffet breakfast was good. the general buffet dinner was however a let down. the restaurant food was however top class and the service was carried out with all sincerity.

location was good - extremely central.

a trifle on the expensive side given that restaurant options are limited and the experience that i had.

overall, the place seemed to lack energy. maybe that is a result of the times but i would love to see this place up and running once again full of its old verve.

things can certianly improve and i am sure they will. i have great hope in the country and the hotel and am really looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRC_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
3.2 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#1 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#2 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
0.4 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#3 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#8 of 13 in Harare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikles Hotel

Property: Meikles Hotel
Address: Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meikles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915 Meikles Hotel has been regarded as Zimbabwe's premier 5-star luxury hotel. It is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World and in 2013 was voted Best City Hotel for the 19th successive year by the Association of Zimbabwe Travel Agents (AZTA). Gracious charm is the hallmark of this legendary hotel. Meikles is situated in Harare's Central Business District overlooking Africa Unity Square gardens. A majestic US$9m revitalization was completed in October 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meikles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meikles Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing