We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Could Be Better”
Review of Meikles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meikles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My partner and i stayed at the hotel on the 26th of December. Wonderful place it is and it was my partners 1st visit to Zimbabwe. We chose the Meikles after looking for the best hotel in Zim. We were very dissapointed by several things, we have travelled so many 5stars around the world and in Africa but Meikles let us down. The room was amazing we booked a Park Suite, very beautiful but bathroom was so dirty, definitely needs attention. Aircon in the room is not individually controlled so we were freezing in the rooom. We requested for a DVD player since arrival but they could not provide us wth any,we were promised that we would get the following day but still nothing from a 5star, I went to have a light lunch in their pavilion restaurant and i was followed to sign the bill a few shops from the hotel, like i was going to run away. Staff not honest each time i paid for somethinmg i never got change eg Car Wash etc. Dinner not so good but breakfast amazing. Wonderful Hotel being downgraded by such small things.

Room Tip: We only tried the Park Suite, AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Primmy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 507 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lets remember that Zimbabwe has been subjected to 12 yrs of economic reversal ( we won't dwell on the people that were responsible for this action ) and before the start of the implosion Meikles was a gem. Even now it has a style of service that is an echo from those earlier years. Old style and excellent.. The fabric is a bit faded or not stylish for today's visitors ,but I am sure that as the economy is allowed to recover, Meikles will rebound and take its place amongst the best hotels in the region.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mugme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

excellent hosptality from the entrance right up to the restuarant...the staff top the list and the buffet has definatly improved.recommendable at any time but x-mas time was really cool with the scottish band adding flair...well done zimbabwe

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank rmbiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I caught a terrible infection and was shut in my room for 4 days. The staff was very compassionate and helpful to arrange a doctor and follow up. The morning breakfast with Collins (waiter) was amongst the best service I have encountered around the globe.

There are old elements to the hotel, but age is beauty and Miekles has lasted the test of time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holaratcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

spend in total 4 days in the hotel and had 5 rooms -(needles to say I had to change some (aircon ,fridge was missing ,smelly)... aircon is centralised and it was warm (not hot) , the rooms are ready for renovations -for my taste to warm. I wanted to buy some stamps and postcards in the hotel but this was not possible -on my question why not the answer was "we dont do this" On the positive side -the stafff is very friendly and the breakfast is nice

Room Tip: check everthing in the room beforhand and ask for another room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

One has to acknowledge that a five star hotel in Africa isn't necessarily comparable with a five star hotel in e.g., Europe or the Middle East. Nevertheless, there are some hotels in Africa that are truly amazing but this hotel clearly isn't one of them. The rooms and the hotel are very old and certainly not up to scratch. Beds have very soft mattresses and the bathroom is dirty. The shower head is full of calk and you need to let the water run for a good 5 minutes before it clears up. Otherwise, its really rusty.
While staff is really nice and helpful, they are not necessarily very knowledgable about the hotel or the city.
Since I travel a lot to this really beautiful country, I have decided to stay in one of the many lodges that exist in Harare. E.g., Kuntandara Lodge or Jacana Gardens are my favourites. The service in both is great, the rooms are amazing with hot and cold water 24/7- simply the highest standard of living quality with nice home made food.Btw- the price for a night in such a lodge is even cheaper.

Room Tip: If you can, wait until they finish the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hubbes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

On arrival Abraham checked me in, faultless and friendly! The porter, Victor, also was the epitome of good and friendly service. In the restaurant I can only complain about the bread that was old and rock hard (they also complained about that at the table next to mine). I visit this hotel fairly frequently for business as I feel at this stage it's the best available in Harare. But the facilities are just getting older and worn out without anything done to improve this. Rooms are large and clean. But really not on par with other 5* hotels I am used to. It is such a shame about this, because they have excellent staff. We take top management from other businesses with us to Harare from time to time, and we just don't feel comfortable letting them stay in this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonkoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
3.2 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
455 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#10 of 14 in Harare
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 14 in Harare
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cresta Jameson Hotel
Cresta Jameson Hotel
#7 of 14 in Harare
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikles Hotel

Address: Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: $129 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meikles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915 Meikles Hotel has been regarded as Zimbabwe's premier 5-star luxury hotel. It is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World and in 2013 was voted Best City Hotel for the 19th successive year by the Association of Zimbabwe Travel Agents (AZTA). Gracious charm is the hallmark of this legendary hotel. Meikles is situated in Harare's Central Business District overlooking Africa Unity Square gardens. A majestic US$9m revitalization was completed in October 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Meikles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meikles Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing