We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strangest breakfast Ive ever had!”
Review of Holiday Inn Harare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Harare
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had a very late check in at Holiday Inn Harare (or very early, depending how you look at it) - at around 2 am. The desk staff were great - extending check out to midday and offering to return our cash payment if thier VISA machine worked in the morning. The twin room was adequate and rather spacious. The shower was not great - with water getting all over the floor and dripping constantly during our stay. The most interesting part of the stay however was the breakfast! I had called down to order breakfast as room service from the pre determined list in the room - however what arrived in my room was no where near what I ordered. I had asked for baked beans, toast, mushroom, tomato and toast - I recieved spaghetti, broccolli, cauliflower, mashed potatoes and bread. On calling room service I was told that this was what was available - on querying why I wasnt told this when ordering, I was told that they would send me some yogurt to make up for it. Definately not what you'd expect from Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rdaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Harare, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Rdaya,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to extend my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced with our room service. Rest assured that your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Harare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 281 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

I arrived at Holiday Inn Zim, a bit exhausted. This was because of the many hours I spent at the airport. Apparently, my passport has 'journalist' as a profession in it and the security guys have a problem with such a breed of people. Thats another story. The hotel, located just in town. This means you can walk into CBD. A number of eateries are also just across the road. I advise that one eats out. The restaurant staff don't appear friendly. The rooms are great and neat. If you have a phobia for elevators, then dont use them. They are constantly out of service and if unlucky, you could be locked in. The bar is a little bit on a high side but you can always take a walk to the cafes around.

Room Tip: Get the non smoking rooms. the rooms overlooking the main road have a good view of the people's...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Harare, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Bivan S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Not up to international standards, but it was okay. Hot water took forever to get warmed up, room was dated and service was so-so. TV service was a joke, but probably not to their own fault. Zimbabwe is having some hard times these days with the economy, so we really got what we expected. Only positive is it's right across the street from Nados Chicken! GO EAT THERE! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deiah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Harare, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Deiah V,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I apologize that the level of service received during your stay was not up to par. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and appropriate actions will be taken to rectify this instance.

Again, thanks for your feedback and hope the next time you visit the area you give our hotel another chance to host you.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

From the moment I entered e gates of Holiday Inn I was warmly welcomed and assisted with my luggage. I then moved on to the reservation room where I was allocated to a beautiful room of my choice.My favorite part whilst at holiday inn was the Food aspect served by the Chefs of the hotel: DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrimmaDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I spent one week in this hotel. The rooms are great, clean, good service, helpful staff and nice meals. In the morning a staff came to ask us about our xperience of which we shared. This is good practice. keep it up.The only annoying thing is that there was no action. I was in room 426 and i was pricked by a nail that is protruding from the floor. I reported this twice and again no action. If you are given this room, please take care. The nail is by the toilet side. Please check this out .

Room Tip: Please ask if they removed the nail in room 426
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This Holiday Inn is not up to the international standards of this brand. Overall, this hotel was "okay" for the price and location, but disappointing given my typical experiences at Holiday Inns.

The staff were all very friendly and welcoming, though there are very few around in the late evening.

The rooms are very worn and need updating. The wall air conditioner was old, loud, and produced musty air. The carpet was dirty and very used. Bedsheets were clean, though comforter did not look fresh. There are very few electrical outlets, and the TV was very old and the channels all came in fuzzy.

Bathroom was very small, below average cleanliness. Hallways and elevators need repaired and refreshed.

This hotel is not a good value. Would not stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manilapacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Harare, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear manilapacman,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. I am pleased you find our staff friendly and welcoming. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the overall condition of your room. I appreciate you bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

While I understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel does the job but not much more. It is obviously hampered by all of the issues that still plague Zimbabwe, and this lets the hotel down. The room is large and bright, and recently redone, but the a/c doesn't really work! The lifts are so unreliable that you are forced to use the stairs.
The check in experience is rather cumbersome, again due to unreliability of internet connnectivity, and challenges with the EPOS terminals.
The breakfast is a real let down, as the choices are very limited, and average in presentation and quality.
But for a budget hotel, it is not that bad. The beers are cold!, and it is pleasent enough sitting outside in the pool area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
0.4 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 14 in Harare
483 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 14 in Harare
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
0.6 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
443 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#9 of 14 in Harare
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Harare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Harare

Address: Samora Machel Avenue | P.O. Box 7, Harare, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: $116 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Harare 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Harare is ideally situated in the centre of Harare, making it the perfect place for your business or pleasure stay. It is minutes away from Harare's shopping and business district with beautiful parks, markets and curio shops also within easy reach.The hotel has 201 rooms and 4 suites. The hotel has conference facilities that cater for all business needs with facilities for up to 300 guests. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere with two restaurants and a pool terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Harare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harare Hotel Harare
Harare Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing