We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
Nearby Hotels
$103
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$138
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bronte Hotel(Harare)
$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The N1 Hotel Harare(Harare)(Great Value!)
$82
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Inn(Harare)(Great Value!)
$61
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveler rating
120
155
69
24
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
155
69
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrowne plazaaquarium barnational galleryroom servicethe ground floorthe hotel staffcustomer carebusiness travelerbusiness stayeasy accessenjoyed my staycentral locationswimming poolpleasant stayshort stayvisiting hararelobos
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 377 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The greatest advantage of this hotel is its location. It is situated in the heart of the city and can be accessible easily. The spacious and very high ceiling of the lobby gives guests lots of space to breathe. The ever smiling reception welcomes you with warmth and a chilled glass of traditional African drink.
The property is old but have a unique grandeur. The 15 floor building has more than 100 rooms facing the busy city center. Rooms are big in size and maintained well. The bed linen and toilets are kept clean with brand new towels. Few areas of improvement in the rooms are the quality of air conditioning and the very old television.
Breakfast is well spread with sufficient options of fresh juices, milk, cereals, veg and non veg. Worth mentioning is the service quality of the breakfast professionals.
I did not have lunch, but the dinner options are less. There is a french restaurant in the ground floor with very limited options. Even the room service menu is also very basic with sandwiches, grills and ice creams. The ground floor bar is impressive and has a good spread.
Guests who want to spend some time in the gym, this hotel is not for you. The hotel does not have a standard gym, though few fitness apparatus are kept haphazardly in a very small uncomfortable room beside the second floor swimming pool.
On the whole, it is a fairly good value for money for those who come to the city primarily for business and need a good sleep at the end of a tired day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bochabasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

I can not rate the staff and service at this hotel any higher. It is always difficult being an international visitor in a strange town but the hotel staff made me feel extremely welcome and relaxed. The hotel was well appointed and very clean, the food was up to the standard I would have expected and also served local fare for those who wanted to be adventurous. When my plane was 16 hours late departing they could not have been more helpful in re booking me for an extra night and unexpectantly discounted the accomodation. Everyone from the Manager to the waitress took an interest to ensure my stay was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blannosnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I arrived in the hotel at about 9:30 at night after traveling for about 25 hours. There was no air conditioning, the bar was closed so I ordered a beer from room service. The beer came very quickly but it was warm. The carpeting throughout the hotel was something like I would expect in a 1/2 star hotel. It was torn and dirty. There was a slow drip of water from one of the lights in the hallway. My wake up calls came very late and on the day I was leaving and had to be up at 4:00am. It didn't come at all. Luckly I had set my cell phone for the wake up alarm.

The staff were very nice and room service was very quick. The bar in the hotel was very basic with not much activity. Therre is a french resturant in the hotel that isa very good. I would say it was 4 out of 5 stars. Breakfast in the main dinin g room was ok but again, the staff and workers wer wonderful. All in all, I would not stay there again and I think that the Crown Plaza name should be removed as the hotel is not to the quality one would expect from the Crown Plaza. Mac

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMMUTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

The Monomotapa was very disappointing. The room rate was $100 a night - breakfast was an extra $20 a day - but the high prices were not matched by the service or amenities. I felt I was being ripped off at every turn - from the $4 a minute for an international call, $2 for a small bottle of water (50 cents everywhere else) and a cup of coffee going up from $2 to $3 overnight. Billing was shambolic - they were $380 out on my final account, having charged me for two extra days plus meals I didn't take. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Considering Harare, and first of all, Zimbabwean standards it is almost perfect. Just a few minutes walk from heart of the city. National Gallery around the corner. Standard Theatre in front of the entrance. Taxis outside. Safe and extremely friendly.Big rooms overlooking Harare gardens and an city skyline. Well, not spotlessly clean but near. Clean but fatigued bathroom,(my clozet desk was broken, a bit rotten parts of shower curtain) hot water any time and with no limits. Before You will line on Your bed, check if there is no sharp edges on the materace - a friend of mine almost cut his leg. Take nonsmoking room 'cause smoking stinks. There is a smell in the room anyway - but You can live with it. Little bit tired, little bit dusty, but still comfortable and clean enough to say it is mostly allright. Try to take a room not very high - it looks that they haven't upgraded higher floors. Was staying at 10th and was ok. Big breakfest, obviously overrated, nice bar and restaurant at the ground floor. Service extremely helpful and nice, just take Your time: it is four stars but it is developing Africa, anyway. If You have any more complicated tasks ask for Philip at the reception desk, he is the most professional and the quickest. WiFi avaiable but working-or-not. Better try netcafe just five minutes away, it is cheaper and more reliable. Price overrated, overall standard, but in Harare that's how it is. Hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukaszWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews