We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$103
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$138
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bronte Hotel(Harare)
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The N1 Hotel Harare(Harare)(Great Value!)
$82
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Inn(Harare)(Great Value!)
$61
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveler rating
385
45
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
45
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homethe main houselocal artfrench pressguest lodgebeautiful gardenplace to staybreakfast was deliciousexcellent hostsother guestslovely homeinternet worksexcellent staynorthern suburbsfeel right at homerooms are largebusy city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 431 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Thank you so much to Willem and Rian and all the staff at Jacana Lodge. Our stay with you was wonderful!!! I couldnt have chosen a more special place to spend some time with my family before walking down the aisle. Your hospitality was second to none - we all enjoyed the breakfasts, the gardens and the children loved the pool! Your rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully decorated with all things Zimbabwean. Your quiet interest in your guests and special, personal touches did not go unnoticed. We thank you all for a truly wonderful and memorable stay - and we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimLandman, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Hi Abbie, your wedding day was a special day for all of us down here at the lodge; a day to remember !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I spent almost three weeks at Jacana Gardens this fall. At the end of every day I was so happy to return to a beautiful, relaxing, clean and welcoming home away from home. Rian and Willem are wonderful hosts and their staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. My room was great, with a work table, a nice bathroom, satellite TV and a comfortable bed. I loved the decorations and artwork in my room, and throughout the whole lodge. The comfortable couches in the living room and the big chairs outside in the beautiful garden were perfect for drinking a glass of wine or reading a book, and as a longer term guest I really appreciated that there were other spaces for me to relax in in addition to my bedroom.

Breakfast in the morning was always fresh and tasty, and there was even a french press and coffee in my room so I could enjoy a cup whenever I wanted. I frequently ate dinner at the lodge, a delicious homemade meal that was just the thing after a long day.

As a frequent traveler I have stayed in many hotels, lodges and guesthouses over the years, and I can say without a doubt that Jacana Gardens is my favorite. Rian and Willem are interesting, unique and special people who truly care about the experience their guests are having. I highly recommend Jacana Gardens and can't wait to go back myself!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank 31Janee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimLandman, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Hope to see you again in the New Year, Jane !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Driving through the gates of the Javana Lodge opens a whole new world. The house and rooms are decorated with stile and a lot ove love. entering the room gave me a "wow" feeling.
I have often traveled to Harare over many years, in good and bad tmes, but never stayes in a place like that. I will be back

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2015

Dear Dirk, thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay at Jacana Gardens. This is much appreciated by the entire Jacana Gardens team. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you again any next time you will travel to Harare. Stay well. Kind greetings, Rian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

One of the highlights of our recent trip to Zimbabwe - Hwange, Kariba Ferry and Mana was our overnight stay at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge. What an absolute gem of a place .... Both Rian and Willem's hospitality, great service, and friendly staff made us feel relaxed, welcome and certainly very much at home on our arrival. Our group, 4 couples, arrived together, 4 x 4x4's all with off-road trailers to Jacana's tranquil setting. 3 of the couples took the main guest house suites, whilst we had the very comfortable cottage. With their stylish decor, ethnic artefacts, beautiful indigenous garden and lovely shady trees - we awoke to a wonderful chorus of bird chirping. Dinner was simply delicious and tasty and breakfast an absolute treat. Absolute no hesitatation in recommending Jacana to the traveller. What a lovely way to end our A M A Z I N G trip. Anne & Rodney

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2015

Dear Anne, thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay at Jacana Gardens. This is much appreciated by the entire Jacana Gardens team. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you again any next time you will travel to Harare. Stay well. Kind greetings, Rian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I was so comfortable, the beds are wonderful, furniture comfy, splendid artwork, and wonderful company. I work for an NGO, as did other guests, Rian and WIllem are so interesting, having worked for Doctors without Borders. The home-made dinners are fabulous (foodies rejoice!) After dinner guests can sit by the fire (in June) or enjoy their spacious rooms. I would love to go back.

Room Tip: Three guest rooms, all nice and private
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueGemmell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim L, Owner at Jacana Gardens Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2015

Dear Sue, thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay at Jacana Gardens. This is much appreciated by the entire Jacana Gardens team. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you again any next time you will travel to Harare. Stay well. Kind greetings, Rian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews