We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Baines Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baines Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #37 of 51 Harare B&B and Inns
Victoria Falls
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very nice place to stay.
Rooms are basic, but very clean. Nice bathroom with bath and shower. They have TVs in the rooms, with a few DSTV channels. I would recommend the rooms away from the road (a bit noisy)
They have free WiFi, and you collect a voucher at reception.
There is no bar or restaurant (only breakfast) on site, but you can go to the Bronte across the road, they are owned by the same group.
Service was great, and everyone was friendly.
Breakfast could have been a bit better, but considering the price, and that it was a b&b, it was fine.

Room Tip: Top Floor, Away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mikefromzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Famina O, Manager at Baines Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Baines bed and breakfast!

Best regards

Baines Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

For the price-$70 per night- the accomodation is ceratinly not value for money. Starting with small rooms,stained linen, an absolutely lousy breakfast this place was a disappointment. U can't even make ur own coffee or tea in the room. No facilities are provided. The TV doesn't work. We moved out as soon as possible. Harare has many B& B lodges for that price.

The only plus as far as Baines is concerned is the location. They shouldn't charge more than $40.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank subha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harare hotels

Esigodini, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have now stayed twice at the Baines Bed and Breakfast and would certainly go there again. It is an excellent place to stay if all you really want is a bed for the night. It is indeed a bed and breakfast and does not offer other things you might get at a hotel but i think the rooms are fine, simple but comfortable, and the shower in the bathroom is one I wish I could take home with me though you have to take care you don't flood the floor! There is a TV with some DSTV channels though not always coming through in full colour for what it is worth.

One downside to the hotel is that there is potential noise. On the Saturday evening I was woken up by a live music show somewhere close by. The singing was quite good but at 2 in the morning I would have preferred to be sleeping. The Avenues district of Harare is notorious for its ladies of the night but that does not seem to affect the B and B and nor would I judge it to be dangerous to walk around at night but I wouldn't want visitors to Harare to be taken by surprise!! It is, however, a good central position in Harare.

I have had better breakfasts at other establishments but there is nothing seriously wrong with what is offered here, both by way of a cooked English breakfast or continental style. Michael, the head waiter, is friendly and helpful. Indeed on both my visits, I have found the staff very easy and pleasant to deal with. I am not sure what time breakfast is served in other hotels but here is begins at 7:00 am and I know I would prefer it to open from 6:30 am though in fact you can normally breakfast is available 10 or 15 minutes before the advertised time. If you need lunch or evening meals, you can pop over the road to the Bronte (same management) or down a couple of blocks to the Atheneum Spar. A Chicken Inn is also to be opened in that mall some time soon.

There is a small secure carpark at the rear of the building.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is a basic but decent bed and breakfast in a central location in Harare.

The rooms are somewhat worn, but they're tidy, clean and comfortable - as are the bathrooms. The rooms have an in-room safe, and TV, which also has UK Sky TV news.

The staff are very, very friendly, and helpful and the breakfast served is again basic, but good - cereals, fruit, pastries and cooked breakfast.

The Baines does not have internet connection, but as it is part of the same business which operates the more upmarket Bronte hotel - right across the street - you can go there and tell them you're a guest at the Baines and they will give you a free wifi pass.

The Bronte is also a good place to go to dinner - their restaurant is okay. It's also a good place to get a drink and watch the soccer in the evening. I frequently headed over there to sit in the Bronte's beautiful courtyard to meet people and do some work.

One thing about the Baines is that it's not completely secure - the entrance gate is open, with no security, and so anyone can walk in, but the reception is always staffed.

This did slightly worry me on my arrival, but I soon realised this is a decent neighbourhood, and it wasn't really a problem. The Baines does have secure parking at the back, though.

If you're travelling on a tight budget, I would recommend the Baines - I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building - those at the front are next to a busy road. I understan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MendozaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
0.7 mi away
Cresta Oasis Hotel
Cresta Oasis Hotel
#10 of 13 in Harare
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#3 of 13 in Harare
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 13 in Harare
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
New Ambassador Hotel Harare
0.8 mi away
Cresta Jameson Hotel
Cresta Jameson Hotel
#7 of 13 in Harare
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#5 of 13 in Harare
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baines Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baines Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baines Bed and Breakfast
Address: 121 Baines Avenue, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing