We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knew Harare could supply great Portuguese food!”
Review of Paula's Place

Paula's Place
Ranked #5 of 174 Restaurants in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A place home from home with good portuguese food, and chicken cooked on the charcoal. ( just like it should be.......)
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Paula's came highly recommended to us during a business trip to Harare.

I was pleasantly surprised and did not know Harare could provide us with lovely Portuguese food. I love the setting - great vibe, buzzing etc. Also recieved amazing service and great hospitality from the moment we arrived to our departure. Some of the best Portuguese food I have ever eaten although does not compare with Mozambican cuisine.

I loved the food and it was good value for money. A meal for two set us back +/-US40. The alcohol was a bit pricey but this is normal for Harare/Zimbabwe as wine is often imported.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandisiwe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Ahaa Harare is full of surprises.......Thank you for such an encouraging and valued review. It really made our day and lift our spirits! We hope to always be honoured to serve you a great meal on all your visits to Zimbabwe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

Absolutely LOVE Paula's Place, service is awesome, friendly, clean environment, styled to perfection and the food is simply the best! The price you pay doesn't do justice to portion sizes you get! They are simply huge!!! Suits me perfectly cause the food is simply divine. Definitely a place for you ALL to go again and again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CristinaDSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2014

Many thanks for your rating and review, its patrons like you that make us love what we do. We really appreciate your support-you rock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Ribs calamari and chicken with the best chips in town. Great atmosphere and incredible service. Be back next week

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chaniaPortShepstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thanks a million for your ratings and valued review. Its always our pleasure to serve you!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Paula's chicken and gravy is superb. Ivhad the combo chicken/calamari. Friendly and warm teception from management and staff.

Thank jeannegordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Many thanks for a great review! It really goes a long way to encourage our team-really appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Have been going to Paula`s for a while now and it has become our favorite place to have a meal
Their food is excellent and service is top notch
My favorite is the gibblet starter and chicken main course not to mention the lovely garlic
My wife and daughter have tried most of their dishes and cannot find fault with any of them
I recommend Paula`s to anyone who wants a great meal with great service at a very reasonable price

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank craig a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula c c, Owner at Paula's Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Dear Craig,
Thank you for a great rating and valued review! You have also become a very loyal and dear patron at Paula's. Our team are always pleased to serve you and your family. Your pleasure is our soul satisfaction-you rock!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paula's Place also viewed

Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 

Been to Paula's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing