We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an experience”

Wild Is Life Trust and ZEN
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wild is Life is a genuine wildlife orphanage and rehabilitation rescue centre.Guests are invited to visit the Sanctuary for trully memorable personal encounters with wildlife orphans. Bookings are essential and visits are limited to afternoons only. All proceeds from the guest visits are used for the running and maintenance of the Sanctuary.
Bulawayo
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“what an experience”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I am not a huge fan of large game up close - I am definately the one in the middle of a vlei with a pair of binos checking everything out from a great distance ... but on this occassion I had no idea what I was going and my first glimps of the lions - mmm .. well they are huge. By the end of the afternoon I had held a pangolin - who tried to climb down my top, had my cake taken off my plate by Sweet Pea the baby kudu, watched the lions, stroked a cheetah and given a wide berth to the Baboon in the tree.

In case you think this is sounding like a staged Zoo - its nothing of the kind. Roxy the owner has a complete balance with her animals and its pretty awe inspiring being around her. Her knowledge and understanding of these great animals makes the experience both educational and interactive. Coupled with all the trimmings - high tea in fine bone china cups, sipping champagne around a fire while the giraffe and zebra encroach onto the green lawns.

I totally recommend this for an afternoon activity. Gentle, charming and not very far from the centre of Harare

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tinpiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    29
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wild is Life is a must to visit”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

What a great place
Get close and personal with wild animals
Highly highly recommended
Roxy is just so at home with her wild pets
Fantastic setting and so close to Harare

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful. This is fantastic, close to the airport. Animals are well cared for, looked after. Cannot recommend it enough. Funds assist the running of the Trust. An attraction and education not to be missed

Helpful?
Thank chitake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamul, California
2 reviews
“A great animal experience at the sanctuary!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I found the sanctuary fascinating and exciting. It was a great experience to get so close to the animals, petting cheetahs, holding a Pangolin, feeding a pet kudu, as well as talking to the owner, Roxy Danckwerts. She is definitely doing an important service by rescuing and helping the animals. Hats off to Roxy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KathleenLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxienne, Owner at Wild Is Life Trust and ZEN, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Wild is Life! It was great to meet you and hope that you will continue to have happy memories of Harare and all it has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wild IS Life, FOR SURE”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you want to end your time in Harare on a very positive note, a real HIGH, be sure and visit this sanctuary. It is a phenomenal experience. We spent over five hours talking to Roxy and Craig and playing with the animals, learning about their life, how they came to be here, and what is happening with them now. From cheetah, lion, kudu, giraffe, sable, zebra, to of course the PANGOLIN which is bred here. I'd never seen one and it was great holding one - with it's tongue out - and learning more about it. AWESOME, FANTASTIC, PHENOMENAL. Leave a donation even though they don't ask for one. They need it to help do the fantastic, caring job they do.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank njeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxienne, Manager at Wild Is Life Trust and ZEN, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review for Wild is Life. It was a real pleasure for Craig and I to meet you, and we so enjoyed telling you about all the individual animals here! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Is Life Trust and ZEN also viewed

 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 

Been to Wild Is Life Trust and ZEN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing