We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice upmarket Lodge””
Review of York Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
York Lodge
Ranked #2 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
139 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very nice upmarket Lodge””
Reviewed October 6, 2013

located in the quiet Eastern suburbs of Harare. The house has classic colonial style, rooms beautiful and, dinner & breakfast was very good as well. Staff friendly. Highly recommended. Travelled in 2012 (I have requested to remove previous review due to mistake in rating, i.e. 1 star instead of the 5 stars, in order to not dilute the average. .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
5
4
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vereeniging
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

On my arrival I was greeted with smiles and refreshments. I was escorted to my beautiful room with all the style and courtesy of a bye gone era. The deep cool verandas and the tranquil gardens are a joy, and only a short hop from the city. York Lodge is an oasis of calm efficiency and luxury. Simply delightful. Thank you to everyone at York Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is our eighth visit to York Lodge: we always stay on either end of our annual Mana Pools safari and receive the warmest welcome from Margot, Les and the staff. Set in luscious gardens - this trip the lawns were carpeted in vibrant jacaranda blossoms, in stark contract to the magenta bougainvillea - the lodge consists of 12 rooms all individually decorated with good-size bathrooms, deep comfy beds and little sitting out areas where you can sip tea and admire the gardens. It is in fact an extension of the owners' home, so the is an honesty bar and excellent home cooking whether for late lunches, supper or one of the best full English in Africa. It is honestly one of the nicest places to stay in the world, let alone Harare!

Room Tip: I prefer the older rooms to the newer block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Thanks to all at York Lodge for the fantastic stay. York is by far the best Lodge in Harare! I will be back. The rooms are large and spacious and interestingly themed. The well maintained gardens are just what regular travelers like myself enjoy after a long day in meetings, a coffee in the morning out on the veranda listening to the amazing bird calls is hard to beat.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Albert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlannahMcCabe, Manager at York Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Albert E,
Thank you so much for your kind words about the Lodge! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Alannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went there for work in Zimbabwe and got booked in to the York lodge what a beautiful place and friendly staff made me feel at home was very sad when i had to leave but i will be going back there for sure in the near future.

Room Tip: Speak to the manager Margot she is willing to help you with anything you may need or want
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunDeLange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The York Lodge is nothing short of fabulous. The service, staff, rooms and food far exceeded my expectations. From the manicured lawns, to the gorgeous interior of the main house and guest rooms, to the sweet dogs who personally greeted us, we were surrounded by beauty and a very tranquil environment. The staff made sure we had everything we needed, even whipping up sandwiches as we arrived hungry after travel. We hope to be back and enjoy a longer time there. Thanks again, York Lodge, for an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in both an original room and one of the newer additions. Although both were lovely, we lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The York has become a home away from home. The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. Rooms are outstanding and write up there with the best I've seen in Zimbabwe.
I'm never had a bad meal at the York, not to mentioned that it is in close proximity to restaurants. I would highly recommend the York when traveling to Harare.

Room Tip: Ask for the luxury rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
2.0 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 13 in Harare
381 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 13 in Harare
378 reviews
1.7 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 13 in Harare
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 13 in Harare
468 reviews
4.9 mi away
Amanzi Lodge
Amanzi Lodge
#1 of 59 in Harare
141 reviews
3.4 mi away
Willow Lodge
Willow Lodge
#5 of 51 in Harare
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Lodge

Property: York Lodge
Address: 1 York Avenue | Highlands, Harare, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — York Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your York Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing