We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be faulted”
Review of York Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
York Lodge
Ranked #2 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A beautiful lodge with 12 individually decorated rooms, all maintained to a very high standard. The gardens are lovely and it feels very secure. The communal areas are also very well laid out and welcoming. The owners take a great pride in the lodge, evidenced by the fact that they have even arranged and paid for street lights in the surrounding roads! The breakfast was great and nothing seemed to much trouble for the owners. Stay there and see for yourself how great it is!

Room Tip: All the rooms are as nice as each other!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0sy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for York Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 102 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending 2 weeks at the York Lodge in March this year and I had an excellent stay. Friendly staff, superb food, comfortable and clean rooms, not to mention the beautiful surrounding gardens. I could not have asked for a better place to stay while I was working in Harare and I look forward to staying at the York Lodge again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaR433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Having never been to Harare before I was unsure what to expect but I could not have anticipated such a great place - real personalised hospitality combined with professionalism. Clean, large rooms, great food, a beautiful garden setting and functioning WiFi as well. Never mind about being the best place to stay in Harare - I wish there was somewhere as good as York Lodge in every city!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I have stayed at York Lodge on a number of occasion. The lodge is set amidsdt a stunning garden awash with colour under tremendous shady trees. The rooms are always immaculately clean and comfortable and everything works! the decour in well thought out and extremely tasteful.
The ladies that run the lodge are so pleasant and welcoming.
Once you have stayed here, you will never want to stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally well located, comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DurbanTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

York Lodge is a charming colonial style bungalow set in immaculate verdant gardens. You will be warmly welcomed by Les and Margot and their staff. The rooms are comfortable and the food wholesome. There are two swimming pools in the gardens for relaxation - and there are three lovely dogs!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p1nkyandperky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The York Lodge was reserved by my husband's workplace (Diplomatic mission) when we arrived in Harare. On arrival after 3 days of travelling from the other side of the world, we were faced with a very hostile lady. Just when I was getting off the vehical with our son, she ran inside in an agitated manner saying "I did not know that there was a child, this child is going to disturb all our very important business guests". Then she looked at me as if I was the nanny (I am of dark skin colour) and handed me the bags that were out and said to my husband, "We will move you to a corner room so that your child does not disturb our guests". Our room had been reserved 3 months in advance and the management had been informed that there was a 2 year old child. We were obviously not "important guests" for her. Then she asked my husband to fill in the forms, ignored me (she had difficulty looking me in the eye) and went to change the rooms because of our child. In the mean while my husband consulted his local colleagues and asked them to find another lodge immediately. There was fortunately one cancellation in another lodge and we decided not to stay in a place where a two year old child is considered a "problem" and where the lady was obviously having difficulty with a mixed marriage. When we were moving to the car, the lady appeared and seemed to have had the shock of her life. She suddenly looked friendly and said "Can I make some thing for your child?" as our son was hungry and crying. It was 3pm and we had come there straight from the airport and we had not even eaten lunch. We told her that 'we did not want to disturb her guests" and we left. I have heard that it is a very nice and comfortable place but never in Zimbabwe (in the last two years)have I faced such treatment. My husand's workplace bring many "important guests" who come with children and they have now decided to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
13  Thank gitane_in_zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My return to Harare on business after 5 years was really made by staying at this superb lodge. Excellent service, good food, really nice rooms, safe, good location to get around Harare.
Will certainly stay again if I can get in - it is very a popular place.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimStokeMandevilleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
1.7 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 14 in Harare
316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
443 reviews
2.0 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 14 in Harare
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
410 reviews
4.9 mi away
Amanzi Lodge
Amanzi Lodge
#1 of 65 in Harare
146 reviews
7.7 mi away
Simba Harare
Simba Harare
#42 of 54 in Harare
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Lodge

Address: 1 York Avenue | Highlands, Harare, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Harare
Price Range: $159 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — York Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your York Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing