We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cresta Lodge Harare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cresta Lodge Harare
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cresta Lodge Harare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was shocked when I got to Cresta lodge for the World Ventures Millionaire Boot camp Zimababwe, the quality of the Accommodation.
The building has worn and old the rooms need a facelift, however one of the concierges took me upstairs to the new room which is on display, looks amazing, but there’s only one room mocked up for the future.
Inside my room was a Sign on the side table, saying “Thy should not tempt” never seen such crazy mentality, the first thing I thought was,” are these people crazy”? This hotel room has been paid for, a few pairs of socks disappeared and so kept my laptop close to my chest didn’t leave it lying around.
Come on guys, find a way to stop this from happening to paying clientele…it’s not a joke and is no excuse there are ways of controlling crime.
http://wv123.blogspot.com
The conference facility was nice new and fantastic for Zimbabwe and the future depends on the upgrade, and the conference facility. Theft is unacceptable

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 505Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Lodge Harare, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Lodge Harare.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Lodge Harare. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We regret that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Cresta Lodge and we will take heed of your comments in our ongoing efforts to control crime. We are pleased that you were able to view a mock-up room, as we are currently under a much-needed refurbishment and are excited for the future of Cresta Lodge Harare. As you stated, the new Sango Conference Centre is a fantastic facility for Zimbabwe and we are equally excited about the prospects this facility promises.

We do appreciate your comments and with your helpful feedback, we can work on problem areas and affect improvements in a swift manner.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Lodge Harare.

Yours sincerely,



GM, Cresta Lodge Harare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    160
    51
    2
    10
See reviews for
20
26
21
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

My first time to Cresta Lodge was in October 2012. The place is fantastic. It's green, away from the city and in a quite location. After a month, i came back to the same hotel and the improvements are feasible. The food has become better, the new conference facility is a delight tempting you to have an end of year party sort of thing. As a matter of fact, next time i visit i will insist using the new conference facility. Ideal for large groups. The front office staff have improved. It took us very few minutes to get registered and taken to the rooms. Could do better with having more people to help with the bags to the room. Good work guys and keep it up. Will come again next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Lodge Harare, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Lodge Harare.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Lodge Harare. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that we will see you again.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Cresta Lodge Harare and that you have noticed improvements in several areas including the quality of the food, front office and our new Sango Conference Centre. We do hope that you will take advantage of the new facility! We appreciate your comments regarding the service. Feedback from helpful customers like you is encouraging and inspiring for our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Lodge Harare.

Yours sincerely,



GM, Cresta Lodge Harare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I wonder how many people have suffered at this Lodge. It is a horrible place, from the service rendered by the receptionists, to the security man, etc. They wondered into my room while I was having dinner, and cleaned my belongings. They knew I was leaving at 5am to the airport and hence would not have the chance to bother them with questions. Without breaking any window or the door, they entered into my room twice. In the day before my departure, they did not know how to swift off the laptop, and so they broke the main switch device and fled the room, while I was having dinner. I got confused to see it in that state and even blamed myself for some carelessness that I may have had. The following day, the day in which they knew I was leaving, they went in more resolute and took the laptop, a camera, money, my 250GB external disk, and Got knows what else! The Managers promised to solve the problem and even indicated to some third party that they would replace my stolen laptop, but that was the last I heard about them. Please make this known to many travelers intending to visit Harare.

God bless,
Eduardo Neves
Maputo, Mozambique

Room Tip: Don't bother to go there unless you are not leaving one single item in the room or anywhere with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eduardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neumarkt in der Oberpfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Ugly, raunchy, shabby, run-down
We (two adults, 3 children) have spent 3 days and 1 day at the Cresta Lodge Harare and have experienced twice 40 minutes waiting at the - very unfriendly - check-in since our rooms where not available. Then the doors to the rooms available could not be locked. Then we changed again to other rooms where we found old food underneath the chairs. The bathrooms were only partly working. The beds a disaster. The pool not accessible, no chairs, no towels. Never ever again!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BettinaJanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I have been traveling all over the world for my business... I must say Cresta Lodge Harare is the worst ever. We, 5 of us, stayed in a range of 20 to 50 days in Cresta Lodge. During the stay, many things had stolen from us, including a camera, internet modems, pens, magazines, etc... We complained to the Manager of the Hotel, but nothing was done... If you want to feel safe while working or enjoying your vacation in Harare, Zimbabwe, this is not the place. We had to carry all valuable items with us all times because we did not want to leave anything behind in the hotel rooms... In addition, their room services and the staff at the counter were very slow and unreliable. Very frustrating..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank erina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

During a recent stay I had 40 Euros, £20 and about $100 stolen from a wallet stored inside a lockup in the room.
My collegue had $650 stolen from his room.
The thief had to have a room and lockup key and so could only be an employee.
DO NOT LEAVE ANY VALUABLES IN YOUR ROOM

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Les J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
3.2 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#2 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.1 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.6 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
3.8 mi away
Cresta Jameson Hotel
Cresta Jameson Hotel
#7 of 13 in Harare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Lodge Harare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Lodge Harare

Property: Cresta Lodge Harare
Address: Mutare Road | Samora Machel Ave, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cresta Lodge Harare 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful and tranquil surroundings, located on the outskirts of Harare's dynamic city centre, you'll find the beautiful Cresta Lodge. Cresta Lodge is the idyllic setting for your most memorable events with superior levels of comfort, attention to detail and top quality facilities all topped off with the true warmth of African hospitality. Feel surrounded by modern styling and ultimate comfort. The Chatters Restaurant is known for its famous gourmet dishes and imported wines. Cresta Lodge is the ideal environment where you can mix business and pleasure in perfect harmony. (Public areas and some guest rooms are being renovated. Minimal inconvenience to guests. The refurbishment is scheduled for completion end of July 2015) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cresta Lodge Harare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing