We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“conveneince without class” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cresta Jameson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cresta Jameson Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“conveneince without class”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had to find a place that arranged late night airport transfer. I also needed a base near the passport offices. the Jameson met both conditions. as for the transfer, they sent a fine taxi guy called Brian and made me feel welcome. check in and reception was good. the room was a bit old and dirty. Not dirty as in not been swept but as in needs refurbishing. The TV was not so much of an issue on the first night but I couldn't work it. its a fair hotel but I think it busks too much in the fame of its past.
they serve semi self service breakfast. all in all it is a secure helpful and simple hotel favoured by a lot of politicians from out of Harare.

Room Tip: I am not sure which rooms but I am told there is a wing with good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkamchacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Jameson Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Jameson Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Jameson. We would like to thank you for choosing us and hope that we will see you again.

We are pleased to hear that on the whole your stay was satisfactory, but regret that you did not get the TV working. We are aware of the need for refurbishment in the rooms, and hope to make improvements in this area. We do appreciate your comments and with your helpful feedback, we can work on problem areas and affect improvements in a swift manner.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Jameson Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Tinashe Kuvheya
GM, Cresta Jameson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    32
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
13
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Whats right with the hotel?
Good working wifi connection throughout the premise, and a free voucher with a bw limit per day

What's wrong?
Lousy restaurant
Bored staff
Single working lift
Complete run down look to the whole place
Dirty rooms
No safe in room
Water problems, no flowing water
Boring choices in restaurant
Staff couldn't keep up with replenishing food and keeping tables ready for the bf crowd

I could go on and on
Not ever coming back here

Room Tip: Rooms facing road are noisy, stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MHJani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrestaHotels, General Manager at Cresta Jameson Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Cresta Jameson Hotel.

Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Cresta Jameson.

Despite the fact that you enjoyed reliable Wifi, we regret that you had such an unsatisfactory stay at the Jameson. We will certainly look into all the areas you highlighted in your post. We do appreciate your comments and with your helpful feedback, we can work on problem areas and affect improvements in a swift manner.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about Cresta Jameson Hotel.

Yours sincerely,



GM, Cresta Jameson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harare hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Air conditioning does not work. Changed rooms three times....still no a/c. I guess I should
feel lucky that the electricity works most of the time.

This hotel is filthy. Carpets stained everywhere. Marks on the walls. Lampshades
stained. Mattresses worn out. Cracked windows.

Contrary to some website info....there is no "free internet."

There is only one working elevator...and it is a very long time in coming if you call it.

The place is a run down mess.

The staff are very friendly and try to accommodate, but they have little to work with.

The hotel is located several blocks from the city center....no street lights, lots of crime.

This used to be one of the finest hotels in Africa. Now I would not take a paid date
there.

For nearly the same price you can stay at the Monomatapa Crowne Plaza.....another poor hotel still not up to any reasonable standards, but it's probably the best in this class in Harare. Or even the next best on the list...the awful Holiday Inn is still a big improvement on the Jameson.

Room Tip: any room not in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Nice hotel,stayed with my bridesmaids before my wedding and after.Friendly staff ,clean rooms and lively food.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
3.8 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#1 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.7 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#3 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#2 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cresta Oasis Hotel
Cresta Oasis Hotel
#10 of 13 in Harare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#8 of 13 in Harare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cresta Jameson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresta Jameson Hotel

Property: Cresta Jameson Hotel
Address: cnr Samora Machel Avenue & Park Street, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cresta Jameson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cresta Jameson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing