We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-earned good reputation”
Review of Bronte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bronte Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel was a great place to be while working and resting in Zimbabwe. The peaceful gardens and swimming pool area were the perfect place to relax and finish off any outstanding work. The bar proved to be an entertaining place to watch the Premiership matches of the day and the staff couldn't do enough to help. Food was solid too, particularly the steak and 'granny's hotpot of the day'. The only slight criticism was the internet access, which was a tad patchy, as it is in Zim as a whole.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Famina O, General Manager at Bronte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Andrew

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. It's always a pleasure to get such positive feedback about our hotel facilities and service. Regarding WiFi/internet we will certainly look at improving access.

We look forward to welcoming you back to "your hotel of choice in Harare"!

Regards

Team Bronte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Bronte Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 446 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was with a group, and we were well accommodated for. Food, beds, rooms and service were great, and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The people looking after you are charming and very helpful. The only downside was booking online required forwarding a copy of your credit card if you are booking for someone else.

Room Tip: Always go up one grade if you can
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryg659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Famina O, Manager at Bronte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Terryg

Thank you so much for your review and wonderful recommendation of our hotel. We are in the process of upgrading or credit card payment platform to improve security when processing advance payment and to guarantee reservations.

Regards

Team Bronte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stunning hotel with nice rooms and friendly service.
The rooms were clean and tidy and spacious
Only criticism is that when we went for dinner, we had to attract the waiters attention, and they weren't particularly busy.
Will stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumbleweed_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Famina O, Manager at Bronte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Bumbleweed

Thank you for your review and positive comments on our facilities and service. We note your concern regarding the service in the restaurant and will do our best to make improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your hotel of choice on your next visit.

Regards

Bronte Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

It took the hotel clerk 15 minutes to explan internet pricing plan. The hotel offer 200MB per day. Any addtional use can easily cost $50 USD. There is no such thing as unlimited internet. The room given to me had no AC and one could not open the wondow. They dont do laundry on Sunday and they dont provide to guest either. What they lack in value and customer service they make up with is location that is close to center of town and they have a quaint garden and above avreage security.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Famina O, General Manager at Bronte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Don T

Thank you for your review and recommendation of our hotel's location, security and gardens. We note your concerns regarding customer service and WIFI. Bronte hotel is in the process of upgrading rooms, we have different room types some with air conditioning/ceiling fans and others that are still to be renovated.

We hope you will give us an opportunity to impress you on your next visit!

Regards
Bronte Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel is absolutely charming with an inner courtyard garden that provides a green, tranquil oasis from the busy city! The rooms are lovely and the food at the pub and formal resteraunt is good. The only downside is that last call for alcohol is about 10pm on the weekend so don't get caught like we did moving from the resteraunt to the pub around that time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 334Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Famina O, Manager at Bronte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear 334 Traveller

Thank you for the great recommendation! We are so glad that you found our hotel to be "absolutely charming and a tranquil oasis from the busy city."

We look forward to welcoming you back to "your hotel of choice in Harare".

Best wishes

Bronte Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I came to this hotel with a group. I would never have chosen this hotel on my own as it is a bit more classy than I am used to. The restaurant requires smart-casual attire, and it has an atmosphere of properness about it. That being said, it is also a very relaxing location. There are ponds complete with bullfrogs, trees, flowers, all within a peaceful setting. The gate is guarded, and it all is very safe.

The staff is extremely friendly, though perhaps a bit over zealous at times. If I were traveling with someone who was a little uneasy with traveling, or preferred to stay in more upscale places, this would be a place I would feel confident taking them.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostinspace4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Famina O, Manager at Bronte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear lostinspace4good

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your positive feedback and recommendation are greatly appreciated and we hope your group had a wonderful stay.

Best regards

Team Bronte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This place was delightful. The garden setting is expansive and beautiful, full of wonderful places to relax or work in the shade or the sun. Lovely plants, mature trees, a myriad of sculptures and ponds with lily pads where the frogs took up their evening bellow (so very loud!). There are two swimming pools (never saw them used), a bar, two restaurants and several meeting and function rooms. The place is clearly popular, but despite being busy it does not feel crowded or hectic.

I had a deluxe room. This was presented to a good standard, not spectacular but clean, modern and good value for money. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, with nice linen. The bathroom was newly refurbished with a rainfall shower (did tend to flood the floor a little). There was no air conditioning but the ceiling fan was all that was needed at this time of year. Despite all the greenery, there seemed to be no problem with mosquitoes. There was a flat screen tv with an average selection of channels. Water was provided daily.

The rooms are spread out in different wings around the garden. The main problem with mine was that it was directly opposite the main area of the hotel and this meant it was not very private.

Wifi was free and the connection was generally very good from all areas.

Toiletries were unexciting. There was soap rather than body wash and conditioning shampoo rather than shampoo and conditioner. Cotton pads or even tissues were not supplied, and I was surprised by the lack of a hair dryer.

Breakfast was included. The selection was adequate, although juices and fruit could have been better. Eggs were usually well prepared and the bacon was especially tasty. They provided scones that were delicious and light, and excellent little fruit buns. However,the breakfast service was patchy. There was insufficient attention to ensuring places were set with cutlery, crockery, napkins etc and butter and jam were sometimes hard to find. They loved clearing tables - in two minutes my pot of tea had arrived and then was cleared by the next waiter before I'd had a chance to pour it. I'll review the restaurants' dinner service separately.

Service at the bar was poor. Table service outside was virtually non existent, and the team were often more interested in what was on tv. No snacks are provided with drinks. You can buy a bag of peanuts, but there's nothing to put them in and good luck in getting a napkin.

The front desk service was friendly but not stellar. For instance, there are no maps to guide you around the city (I wanted to walk to the national gallery and had to use a hand-drawn map) and they had very little information about tours and places of interest (not necessarily the hotel's fault). Trip Advisor reviews were much more useful. However, they did make an excellent suggestion for a day trip to Pamuzinda, which I can recommend.

Despite the niggles, I would love to return to this peaceful haven.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Famina O, Manager at Bronte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Pennie H

Thank you for your review and recommendation of our Hotel.

We note the highs and lows and would like to point out that hair dryers are available on request at the front desk. Regarding toiletries we will certainly look into meeting your requirements, in future please contact housekeeping or the front desk who will be happy to assist. Your comments on the service in the bar and restaurant will be addressed through staff training and improved supervision.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Harare.

Regards

Team Bronte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
0.9 mi away
Meikles Hotel
Meikles Hotel
#3 of 14 in Harare
484 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 14 in Harare
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 14 in Harare
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
1.4 mi away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#9 of 14 in Harare
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronte Hotel

Address: 132 Baines Avenue | Corner 4th & Baines Avenue, Harare, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: $141 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bronte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bronte Hotel is an oasis of tranquility, renowned for its beautiful gardens and collection of fine Shona Sculptures.Centrally located in the Avenues, within walking distance of downtown Harare, The Bronte offers well appointed rooms and executive suites in an idyllic garden setting.Designed for both the business and leisure traveler alike; our amenities include complimentary Wifi, two swimming pools, a fitness centre, a complimentary breakfast buffet, secure on-site parking, and fine dining at Emmanuel’s Restaurant. We are also the ideal Harare conference venue, with three function rooms and two boardrooms available.A leading Harare hotel for over 25 years, we're committed to making sure your stay is peaceful and pleasurable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bronte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing